When will indyref2 happen?

Colkitto

Indyref2  

822 members have voted

4 hours ago, git-intae-thum said:

Aye ...remember the days when the independence movement could put hundreds of thousands on the streets. Wonder what happened?

This is true, there's definitely a feeling of apathy at the moment. Most sensible folk don't want a referendum now, wait until the pandemic is over and we can really see what Brexit is going to look like. 2024 I reckon Sturgeon will call it, the yes da's can just rage until then. 

13 hours ago, Baxter Parp said:

Mm, AUOB have pretty much become pariahs because of their support of Alba.

Indeed.  This wasn't an AUOB march, though. so you can patch that excuse.  Here's Glasgow.  Largest city in Scotland.  Here's how few really care about Freedumb:

indyweege.jpg.2cc779378c926e42738d26a08f5446c0.jpg

The Mike Russell Horsebox and the pathetic showing in Glasgow yesterday were amusing but the prize for Natter LOL of the Week must go to the Perth & Kinross partitionists for their strategically placed cardboard cutout of Nippy outside their Freedom Gazebo.  Take a bow!

pandknippy.thumb.jpeg.0bbb15c97d09c82ec842e2521d6a7fe6.jpeg

4 hours ago, The_Kincardine said:

Indeed.  This wasn't an AUOB march, though. so you can patch that excuse.  Here's Glasgow.  Largest city in Scotland.  Here's how few really care about Freedumb:

indyweege.jpg.2cc779378c926e42738d26a08f5446c0.jpg

The Mike Russell Horsebox and the pathetic showing in Glasgow yesterday were amusing but the prize for Natter LOL of the Week must go to the Perth & Kinross partitionists for their strategically placed cardboard cutout of Nippy outside their Freedom Gazebo.  Take a bow!

pandknippy.thumb.jpeg.0bbb15c97d09c82ec842e2521d6a7fe6.jpeg

These daft stunts are probably worth it for the sense of grievance against that bloody SNP cult ruining mah wee northern region that they spark in xenophobic, racist Little Britons. Like you.

20 hours ago, wirez said:

Now coming up on 7 years since the indyref. After the Brexit shite we have went through. After all those mandates for another referendum that were won election after election. This pish gets offered up. A fucking horse box!

E8wwAycWUAQ9FT8?format=jpg&name=small

Even by SNP standards, Mike Russell’s Mobile “cringe box” takes some beating.

12 hours ago, The_Kincardine said:

You're right, it's only c***s like you that are happy to congregate while thousands of folk are still catching covid.

https://www.heraldscotland.com/news/19511962.glasgow-orange-walks-return-next-month-thousand-parade-september-18/

Glasgow Orange Walks return next month with thousand to parade on September 18

On 15/08/2021 at 08:34, GTG_03 said:

This is true, there's definitely a feeling of apathy at the moment. Most sensible folk don't want a referendum now, wait until the pandemic is over and we can really see what Brexit is going to look like. 2024 I reckon Sturgeon will call it, the yes da's can just rage until then. 

Id agree with that , the time isnt now but it should be in the next 5-10 years Max

4 minutes ago, oaksoft said:

Yeah but remember 2014 and the "No" gatherings of 5 people?

How most of us laughed at the pathetic turnout.

"No" still won though.

The numbers on the streets don't tell you anything.

I do think IndyRef2 is probably on the back burner for the next few years though because fo the pandemic.

It'll be back soon enough though.

If the referendum was decided by stickers in windows and twitter, Yes would have won by a landslide. Very much a "silent majority" thing going on in 2014.

Then again, if you came out as a Nawbag, then you were on the same team as George Galloway so understandable that folks kept themselves to themselves. 

On 15/08/2021 at 01:16, git-intae-thum said:

Job done agent Sturgeon?

There is definitely going to be a Keyser Soze moment when she heads off to work at the UN and all the l blue face paint mob realise they have been played like Chazz Palmateri.

Edited by Detournement

9 hours ago, oaksoft said:

Yeah but remember 2014 and the "No" gatherings of 5 people?

How most of us laughed at the pathetic turnout.

"No" still won though.

The numbers on the streets don't tell you anything.

I do think IndyRef2 is probably on the back burner for the next few years though because fo the pandemic.

It'll be back soon enough though.

So desperate is Nippy to be seen to be doing something that, in the most egregious political promotion since Caligula* wanted to make his horse a consul, she's desperate to make wee Pat Harvie one of the most important men in Scotland by offering him a Cabinet seat and £100K per annum.

harvie.jpeg.064a289e7a181cdb53401e10f8f801c0.jpeg

A desperate throw of the dice from a desperate regional leader whose vile campaign of hatred and division is finally being wound down.

*A nickname meaning 'little boot'.

11 hours ago, The_Kincardine said:

So desperate is Nippy to be seen to be doing something that, in the most egregious political promotion since Caligula* wanted to make his horse a consul, she's desperate to make wee Pat Harvie one of the most important men in Scotland by offering him a Cabinet seat and £100K per annum.

harvie.jpeg.064a289e7a181cdb53401e10f8f801c0.jpeg

A desperate throw of the dice from a desperate regional leader whose vile campaign of hatred and division is finally being wound down.

*A nickname meaning 'little boot'.

Your whining sense of grievance is off the charts. You love to see it. 

5 minutes ago, BigDoddyKane said:

Do you think Boris being in power has any impact on an Indy vote being successful, same for if its done when the tories are in power?

Do those things have much impact on some section of Indy voters ?

I wouldn't imagine it would have much of an effect. You always read on here that the latest Tory in charge is bringing on this inevitable moment where everyone is so pissed off with them they demand Indy, amazingly enough it hasn't happened yet and is unlikely to do so. Bojo will be out in a few years, I think offline most people are sensible enough to not cut off their noise in spite of their face with that one, sure they may not be massive fans of the Tories but when you remove the hyperbolic online discourse then actually leaving the UK seems the greater threat than merely having a Tory as PM. A lot of the crazies on here like to project their mentalist views onto a population that is no way near as neeky and bothered as they are. 

Edited by SANTAN

13 hours ago, TheBruce said:

If Boris was smart and he isn't, he would give her a ref2, because she would lose big time. 

It will not be "her" referendum. It will be the people of Scotland's. A referendum they have democratically voted for on several occasions now.

Boris may present as a bumbling buffoon....but he is very much smart.....and surrounded by people even smarter.

They know it's on a knife edge and currently could swing either way. So they delay.....hoping for some event or other to crop up to delay it even further.

In the long term though, the Tories have got a very weak hand. When campaigning starts, who is going to defend the union this time?

If you look at the lead up to the 97 referendum, the Tory party had consistently stood in the way of a Scottish parliament, the idea of which had gradually built up an overwhelming support over the preceding decade.

When the vote took place......it was like a dam bursting and the Tory unionists were smashed. In Scotland they became a diddy party for the next decade and a half. It took turning themselves into the hard-line unionist party of Scotland, and thus enabling them to hoover up the knuckle dragger vote, for them to recover. Recover to the position they are in now where winning 20 to 25% of the vote is seen as resounding success.

The same thing as 97 will happen with the coming referendum. Maybe just over a longer time period.

Getting in the way of democracy is not a good long term strategy for any supposedly democratic government. 

1 hour ago, TheBruce said:

All speculation.

Oh and it's her ref ok. She's the leader, she's setting the pace and if she fails to secure one or loses a ref, she falls on her sword, so it's all hers.

The Tories are indeed standing in the way of democracy and rather foolishly. It doesn't help their cause, but I still speculate that the hunger for indy is not there to secure a win.

After all this time Sturgeon has still not come up with a coherent economic case for indy. The currency issue, rejoining the EU, INWARD INVESTMENT ETC ETC. iT'S NOT HARD TO COST AND ARRIVE AT THE VARIOUS INCENTIVES TO STIMULATE THE ECONOMY, BUT IT DOES SEEM A STRUGGLE FOR THE NATS AND THAT TELLS IT'S OWN STORY

Says the man who supports leaving unions based on what a bunch of spivs daub on the side of a bus.

2 hours ago, TheBruce said:

IF we were to become indy, wouldn't really bother me, unlike some of the unionist zealots, but she needs to up her game. She's floundering at the minute and I think she is a decent politician that is let down by those around her. I also like Sarwar, but likewise he needs to up his game. Labour are in such a mess that I don't know if they'll ever recover. UK wise I don't know wtf they stand for anymore. I've a feeling Sarwar would readily accept indy.  As for the Tories, well Boris and that tit they have up here says it all.

Not that politics were ever shrouded in integrity, but these last 20 years have seen standards plummet to levels of depravity. 

What’s this got to to with the hypocrisy inherent in condemning Sturgeon for wanting to leave a union “without a plan” when you voted to leave a union without a plan? There’s not a single Brexiter in the UK who can oppose Scottish independence on the grounds of insufficient planning. Brexity UK nats coudn’t throw that argument away fast enough in 2016.