The Partick Thistle thread

Our income has increased and the squad is poorer in terms of both numbers and quality than last year's.Think this is fairly indicative of the board's ambition.

Ambition is to keep the club alive and in stable condition in a climate where there is actually less and less money available to clubs year on year. The club (headed by Maxwell) needs to work extremely hard to bring in revenue sources and keep them. I don't see why you all think a few extra grand means we can sign mediocrity like Lyle Taylor for 2k a week or keep Higgy or Fox.

Fact is we lost Scott Fox after Archie offered him an improved deal because Ross County gave him a better deal. Yes...Ross County! My sources said 2k a week and a house. Explain that one? Don't see how they can achieve that strategy long term but If that's their way then so be it.

I hate to offend many of you but you live in cloud coo-coo land if you think we as a club can compete with those around us and not get into financial difficulties. The long term goal of the club is to setup a view to the youth academy which will provide players and a club that works to the benefit of our community. No matter what division we play as we will not and cannot offer long term deals worth 2k or more a week.

I'd rather have Thistle in league 2 and stable than a club teetering on administration in the premiership because "the fans" wanted to see the players they wanted at the club.

We all know Archie has done very well with the resources he has available. He'll bring in 3-4 youngsters this coming season as he has no choice. We will continue to fight against relegation but maybe just maybe they surprise us and this academy takes off and we are a solid model for other clubs to follow.

Edited by Rednyella

Ambition is to keep the club alive and in stable condition in a climate where there is actually less and less money available to clubs year on year. The club (headed by Maxwell) needs to work extremely hard to bring in revenue sources and keep them. I don't see why you all think a few extra grand means we can sign mediocrity like Lyle Taylor for 2k a week or keep Higgy or Fox.

Fact is we lost Scott Fox after Archie offered him an improved deal because Ross County gave him a better deal. Yes...Ross County! My sources said 2k a week and a house. Explain that one? Don't see how they can achieve that strategy long term but If that's their way then so be it.

I hate to offend many of you but you live in cloud coo-coo land if you think we as a club can compete with those around us and not get into financial difficulties. The long term goal of the club is to setup a view to the youth academy which will provide players and a club that works to the benefit of our community. No matter what division we play as we will not and cannot offer long term deals worth 2k or more a week.

I'd rather have Thistle in league 2 and stable than a club teetering on administration in the premiership because "the fans" wanted to see the players they wanted at the club.

We all know Archie has done very well with the resources he has available. He'll bring in 3-4 youngsters this coming season as he has no choice. We will continue to fight against relegation but maybe just maybe they surprise us and this academy takes off and we are a solid model for other clubs to follow.

post-1545-0-46183300-1436901085_thumb.jp

You don't have any sources, shut up with your fantasist pish.

berneydidnotread.gif?1318992465

Reading WAT there, someone saying the big yin up front was mince the night.

So to recap, we've got Miller, who, why even bother having him on trial when you ken wit yer gettin? And another couple of jobbers from down south to add to the heaps from the previous years.....

Edited by Snakebite

Might as well get Gary Miller signed up instead of having him on trial for ages. You know what you're getting (unlike Jordan Mustoe) and he's not an injury/ability worry (like Darren Barr). If he's not suitable at RB then why waste time with him playing all these games?

Terrell Miller is about as uninspiring a potential signing as it's possible to be.

Might as well get Gary Miller signed up instead of having him on trial for ages. You know what you're getting (unlike Jordan Mustoe) and he's not an injury/ability worry (like Darren Barr). If he's not suitable at RB then why waste time with him playing all these games?

Terrell Miller is about as uninspiring a potential signing as it's possible to be.

I hear he's the best player from Montserrat to have played in Scotland.