Still Game & Best Bits

smpar

On 05/04/2021 at 15:14, DrewDon said:

Who marches round the corner immaculately dressed but Dicky Farnborough, holding a bottle of port and shouting at the top of his lungs, 'WHERE'S THE BLOODY PARTAAAY?!'.

My favourite SG episode my a mile.

• 2 months later...

This came into my head randomly having not seen it in a while but I've decided my favourite one-off character is the old boy on the flight to Canada with Jack. Can't think of any other character involved for such a short amount of time and yet come out with funny line after funny line. Such a charismatic character.

"New York everyone, eh?"

"I said I'll NOT be paying for headphones"

"Float down to Perrrrrrrruuuuu!"

Remember on first viewing I was already pissing myself but when Victor eventually replaces him and says all the same things but Jack is laughing along with him and giving it "that's my pal Victor". Too good.

Turns out he was a Hibs fan from Edinburgh and appeared in Gangs of New York, The Acid House and P&B favourite A Shot at Glory.

Trying to think of other one off characters I've liked; the ned from the golf course with the dog was just one episode I think?

1 hour ago, RawB93 said:

This came into my head randomly having not seen it in a while but I've decided my favourite one-off character is the old boy on the flight to Canada with Jack. Can't think of any other character involved for such a short amount of time and yet come out with funny line after funny line. Such a charismatic character.

"New York everyone, eh?"

Remember on first viewing I was already pissing myself but when Victor eventually replaces him and says all the same things but Jack is laughing along with him and giving it "that's my pal Victor". Too good.

Turns out he was a Hibs fan from Edinburgh and appeared in Gangs of New York, The Acid House and P&B favourite A Shot at Glory.

Trying to think of other one off characters I've liked; the ned from the golf course with the dog was just one episode I think?

He was rather memorable in The Acid House 

image.jpeg.448b74c74833689b3b0903c3de9ce7db.jpeg

"New York everyone, eh?"

The ned from the golf course is referred to in the credits as "King Ned", I'm sure, and is probably my favourite one-off character.

In the episode where he's playing Winston at golf he has some brilliant one liners. "Yer stupit pal yer caddy?" and "Gies that metal wan" crack me up every time.

Sent from my ELE-L29 using Tapatalk

12 hours ago, RawB93 said:

"New York everyone, eh?"

‘Al no be paying for headphones…I said I’ll not be paying for headphones’ is regular patter amongst me and my pals. The following episode in Canada is probably one of the weakest comedy wise, but I do like the scene at the Ice Hockey game where Jack jumps up and calls one of the players a ‘b*****ding eejit’.

Ive actually been rewatching it recently and it’s still as funny as ever. I think my favourite episode is when J and V go to the first aid classes. ‘BUZZ Jarvis, Craiglang. Tibia’. Then a fellow student answers livers when the teacher points to the kidneys. Victors face as he mutters ‘quite poor, quite poor’ always raises a chuckle :lol: 

The episode where Winston has a home help and he runs down to the bookies without his walking stick, the way he says ‘w****r!’ to Eric when he asks him what horse he backed is brilliant, literally gets funnier with every watch. 

11 hours ago, IrishBhoy said:

Victors face as he mutters ‘quite poor, quite poor’ always raises a chuckle :lol: 

This and the timing of "w****r" as you said are timeless. Both of these I use in my own patter vocab without even realising I've appropriated it years ago.

On 30/09/2021 at 14:31, Ron Aldo said:

The ned from the golf course is referred to in the credits as "King Ned", I'm sure, and is probably my favourite one-off character.

In the episode where he's playing Winston at golf he has some brilliant one liners. "Yer stupit pal yer caddy?" and "Gies that metal wan" crack me up every time.

Sent from my ELE-L29 using Tapatalk

Pretty sure he's the same one in S2E1, Gairden. His dog Kaiser jumps off the roof at the end. 

Best one-off character is Martin, surely. 

Actually no it's not, it's this bunch:

22 hours ago, RawB93 said:

Another shout for best one-off character

tumblr_nbgcsfmewP1qbgd63o9_r2_540.gifv

There's an episode in one of the later seasons where they're all playing in a football game and the storyline is they need an additional player to sort out the opposition team. I was really hoping for big Innes to make his comeback here.:(

On 10/10/2021 at 01:11, BFTD said:

Just saw the 70s party episode again. Who was the lassie that Tam brought along? I got the impression that I should've recognised the actress.

I don’t know either but she should have been in it more, she was a cracker. 

On 01/10/2021 at 12:17, RawB93 said:

Another shout for best one-off character

tumblr_nbgcsfmewP1qbgd63o9_r2_540.gifv

Another one I remember is the guy sitting beside Jack, Victor and Isa on the Dial a Bus when Robbie Coltrane starts to lose the plot. 

‘Hes missed my turn, that was my turn there. I’ve got the bingo the day, I cannae miss the bingo’. 

Watched the episode recently where Jack takes the woman from the charity shop out on a date, along with Victor and Edith. It’s a brilliant episode all round, but one of the things that I absolutely love about Still Game is that it can have you half in tears one minute and laughing hysterically the next.

The scene where Jack runs out the charity shop and Victor finds him staring at a picture of his late wife always gets me, as does the scene where Jack is making dinner and receives the call to tell him that Barbara has a husband. ‘That’s alright Victor, that’s alright’, as they half the steak meant for Barbara. 

Watched the episode recently where Jack takes the woman from the charity shop out on a date, along with Victor and Edith. It’s a brilliant episode all round, but one of the things that I absolutely love about Still Game is that it can have you half in tears one minute and laughing hysterically the next.

The scene where Jack runs out the charity shop and Victor finds him staring at a picture of his late wife always gets me, as does the scene where Jack is making dinner and receives the call to tell him that Barbara has a husband. ‘That’s alright Victor, that’s alright’, as they half the steak meant for Barbara. 

Someone’s pointed it out on this thread before I’m sure but Still Game was excellent for that touching moment and then topping it off with a punchline. It was always done in a way that never cheapened or discredited the sensitive moment before, it’s actually pretty accurate of how we tend to deal with these moments in real life, perhaps a Scottish trait?

“Besides, they diddies!”

Now that I think about it, that episode has some of the finest moments of the entire series.

IMG_1635584449.908394.jpg

IMG_5796.jpg

IMG_5797.jpg

IMG_5798.jpg

IMG_5799.jpg

16 hours ago, smpar said:

Someone’s pointed it out on this thread before I’m sure but Still Game was excellent for that touching moment and then topping it off with a punchline. It was always done in a way that never cheapened or discredited the sensitive moment before, it’s actually pretty accurate of how we tend to deal with these moments in real life, perhaps a Scottish trait?

“Besides, they diddies!”

Now that I think about it, that episode has some of the finest moments of the entire series.

IMG_1635584449.908394.jpg

IMG_5796.jpg

IMG_5797.jpg

IMG_5798.jpg

IMG_5799.jpg

Spot on. You’ve managed to convey that better than I did but that was the point I was trying to make. I can’t think of many other comedy shows that are able to pull that off in the same way that Still Game does. That particular episode is extremely well written and performed. 

Ive just remembered another cracker from that episode, where Winston is explaining to Jack and Victor why he got barred from the Clansman, while the actual events run along side it :lol: 

‘he gives me the pint and it seems a tad cloudy, so I suggest he maybe rinses out his pipes but Bobby said it wasn’t the pipes, so I merely suggested I be furnished with a fresh pint’… as it shows Winston spitting his lager over Boabys face. 

Edited by IrishBhoy

Spot on. You’ve managed to convey that better than I did but that was the point I was trying to make. I can’t think of many other comedy shows that are able to pull that off in the same way that Still Game does. That particular episode is extremely well written and performed. 

Ive just remembered another cracker from that episode, where Winston is explaining to Jack and Victor why he got barred from the Clansman, while the actual events run along side it :lol: 
‘he gives me the pint and it seems a tad cloudy, so I suggest he maybe rinses out his pipes but Bobby said it wasn’t the pipes, so I merely suggested I be furnished with a fresh pint’… as it shows Winston spitting his lager over Boabys face. 

Aye that’s a brilliant bit. I love the over-annunciation as he’s trying to portray himself as a reasonable gentleman.

“Bobby escorted me from the premises.”

Going to watch that episode now.

I always watch the episode on a Friday night before A View From The Terraces and it was a good one.  When Jack arranges to go on holiday to see Fiona in Canada.

'Ah said ah'll no be paying fur headphones!'

The younger guy in the same row is a Canadian Ice Hockey player I believe.  Was playing for Ayr Scottish Eagles at the time.

On 31/10/2021 at 15:28, TheScarf said:

I always watch the episode on a Friday night before A View From The Terraces and it was a good one.  When Jack arranges to go on holiday to see Fiona in Canada.

'Ah said ah'll no be paying fur headphones!'

The younger guy in the same row is a Canadian Ice Hockey player I believe.  Was playing for Ayr Scottish Eagles at the time.

Love the scene from that episode where they are at a hockey game, and after a bit of action on the ice rink Jack jumps up and shouts ‘hawl you ya b*****ding eejit’. :lol: Such a Scottish phrase that is so out of place in that setting. 

Ive just realised it’s actually from the following episode rather than the one you mention but the point stands. 

I was rewatching the episode where Victor pretends to be ill so his son will feel bad, but he ends up appearing at the door. One of the things I’ve never been able to work out is how the son realises Victor is perfectly fine after he takes a fall in the pub. He seems to just know and it’s not really explained. 

‘That will be £5.40 for your drinks Mr. Brando’.