Double Winning St Johnstone FC Thread

10 minutes ago, Valentino Bolognese said:

Not scoffing at all, merely suggesting that it seems less than I would have expected for a premier division footballer to be on. I thought that it would have been much more, given that figures of £2/3k per week are bandied about fairly regularly. 

(also not a tory)

Danny Swansons wage was seemingly confirmed as £1.5k a week at his court case, and you'd assume he'd be a higher earner.

I think players are only paid until end of May/June. Thats pretty much exactly £60k.

Edited by RandomGuy.

Just putting this out there, but us not restarting talks with May after the Betfred fiasco will be worse than us not finalising the deal when it was so close.

5 minutes ago, tree house tam said:

Matter of principle maybe?

Depends on why it all stopped. 

For all the jokes about Shaughnessy, if we hadnt had such a hard line with him theres still a chance he could've stayed. Refuse to believe if he was still free at this stage with a choice of us or Southend he wouldve chosen them, and refuse to believe the squad is better now than without him.

We cant afford to chuck quality players away out of what's effectively spite.

1 minute ago, RandomGuy. said:

Depends on why it all stopped. 

For all the jokes about Shaughnessy, if we hadnt had such a hard line with him theres still a chance he could've stayed. Refuse to believe if he was still free at this stage with a choice of us or Southend he wouldve chosen them, and refuse to believe the squad is better now than without him.

We cant afford to chuck quality players away out of what's effectively spite.

We offered Joe the contract we thought he was worth, it was a contract we thought could rival Aberdeen. Joe didn't want to stay or he could've quite easily, just like the "hero" Stevie fucking May could've quite easily signed on at Saints. They do not play for Saints, they didn't want to play for Saints so f**k them.

1 minute ago, tree house tam said:

We offered Joe the contract we thought he was worth, it was a contract we thought could rival Aberdeen. Joe didn't want to stay or he could've quite easily, just like the "hero" Stevie fucking May could've quite easily signed on at Saints. They do not play for Saints, they didn't want to play for Saints so f**k them.

Calm doon Steve.

2 minutes ago, RandomGuy. said:

Calm doon Steve.

I'm calm, no blood pressure raised here. It just gets boring with all this shite about c***s who don't have the incling to play for us, sign up or f**k off.

Not going to change it TRS.

Edited by tree house tam

9 minutes ago, tree house tam said:

I'm calm, no blood pressure raised here. It just gets boring with all this shite about c***s who don't have the incling to play for us, sign up or f**k off.

Not going to change it TRS.

Just a bit daft when 3 of the current squad also left us for the money, that's all.

Whole club needs lifted, rightly or wrongly May is about the only player we can get who'll do that. He also gives us a striker that we desperately need

1 minute ago, RandomGuy. said:

Just a bit daft when 3 of the current squad also left us for the money, that's all.

Whole club needs lifted, rightly or wrongly May is about the only player we can get who'll do that. He also gives us a striker that we desperately need

Aye they did, good luck to them too. I wasn't one who clapped Liam taking corners for hibs, i was the one giving him dogs abuse. Rival players deserve dogs abuse you see.

Just now, tree house tam said:

Aye they did, good luck to them too. I wasn't one who clapped Liam taking corners for hibs, i was the one giving him dogs abuse. Rival players deserve dogs abuse you see.

Aye but they came back and performed. It's actually four (Liam, Muzz, MOH, Swanson).

Where would we be if we completely shut the door on those the moment they rejected us?

Just now, RandomGuy. said:

Aye but they came back and performed. It's actually four (Liam, Muzz, MOH, Swanson).

Where would we be if we completely shut the door on those the moment they rejected us?

Muzz left for more money? I've never once said shut the door on them, they all left us for bigger sides/more money, that happens, I like players to aspire to play for the best teams. If we approach them later on and they come back, fair enough. If we approach them and they don't? Move on and never forget. 

You'll likely bring up Danny and Hearts at this point but after hearing a bit about what was said between him and TW I'm willing to forgive the chubby wee c**t.

I'd also add if Stevie  May was to go into Mcdiarmid tomorrow and sign on where he should've last week I'd be fine with that, if he doesn't I won't lose any sleep.

4 minutes ago, tree house tam said:

Muzz left for more money? I've never once said shut the door on them, they all left us for bigger sides/more money, that happens, I like players to aspire to play for the best teams. If we approach them later on and they come back, fair enough. If we approach them and they don't? Move on and never forget. 

You'll likely bring up Danny and Hearts at this point but after hearing a bit about what was said between him and TW I'm willing to forgive the chubby wee c**t.

I'd also add if Stevie  May was to go into Mcdiarmid tomorrow and sign on where he should've last week I'd be fine with that, if he doesn't I won't lose any sleep.

I think we've been on about different things, tbh.

Edited by RandomGuy.

24 minutes ago, perthsaint1977 said:

All so silly and stupid the whole thing from both sides. Hopefully we can get some bodies in asap to give everyone a lift

Not expecting exact details, but are both sides at fault? Be handy to know to, maybe, save folk like Vine getting hassle they dont deserve.

And is the deal utterly dead?