Coefficientwatch

lionel hutz

https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/scotland/45138169
Here you go lads and lasses.
A nice setting out of this European season, for those of you who see these calculations as important, and the upshot of a much improved coefficient as desirable. 
Each to their own I suppose. 

As if our game isn’t mocked by simpletons enough we need to create articles with claims like ‘the third best in Europe’ and ‘above Germany and italy’. Only RB Leipzig and Atalanta from those countries have started their campaign so it’s a pointless comparison.

This seasons performances from our clubs has been very pleasing but it’s only early August FFS. If we can get more than 1 club into the group stages of either competition that would be an achievement, but that’s very much still in the balance. If all 3 make it that would be brilliant.

Even if we could replicate this seasons performance consistently we would significantly improve our coefficient but sadly I think this season might just be a blip.

1 hour ago, Monkey Tennis said:

It would mean something.  If It soared to a point that meant we got two CL places, I'd be gutted.

With the format of the qualifiers now even if we get 2 CL places again, neither will be automatic. You're already seeing how difficult it is in the Champions Route for Celtic. Nobody can really budget for banking the CL group money anymore.

Then if we ever got an automatic spot, it'd mean the Scottish Cup winner/3rd Place team would be guaranteed a Europa League group stage entry. Which would be a little better than it was back in the 2000s.

8 minutes ago, FairWeatherFan said:

With the format of the qualifiers now even if we get 2 CL places again, neither will be automatic. You're already seeing how difficult it is in the Champions Route for Celtic. Nobody can really budget for banking the CL group money anymore.

Then if we ever got an automatic spot, it'd mean the Scottish Cup winner/3rd Place team would be guaranteed a Europa League group stage entry. Which would be a little better than it was back in the 2000s.

It would help to cement the OF duopoly that a surprising number of diddy posters on this thread, seem all in favour of.

5 hours ago, Monkey Tennis said:

Hadn't you?

Your wee table supports my point rather well, so thank you.

You are aware that whichever team finished second would face an almost impossible task to qualify for the group stages anyway?

You really are getting yourself worked up over very little.

7 hours ago, Clyde01 said:

How many of the 103 seasons where the OF won the league did we have 2 champions league places?

A handful.

Look up "cement" as  a verb.  Then look up "create".

See if they're any different from each other.

Then do some checking to see whether 'duopoly' would really be a fitting description for what we had during each of those 103 seasons.

Edited by Monkey Tennis

The worst bit of the co-efficient is that the there is no change in the access list from 48th place up to 17th, then from 15th up to 4th each place pretty much is an improvement in terms of round of entry and number of teams. If it was smoothed out a bit would give more countries something to work towards

On the topic of coefficients... Scotland currently sit 13th in the UEFA women's club rankings. 12th gets a team in the Champions League last 32 and another in the qualifier groups (with diddies). 13th gets one club in the qualifier group and that's it. They need a win by anything other than 1-0 today to avoid elimination and a drop, but a win could put us back in the top 12. Kick off in 7 minutes.

Meh

Meh
Have you heard of virtue signalling?

What you just did is twat signalling.

For those who realise women are people, Glasgow made it through thanks to a goal 5 minutes from time for a 2-0 win in a fiercely fought, tense, compelling game. Bit of scenes at the end as some of the Poles didn't take it well.