No Voters - what say you?

jamamafegan

5 minutes ago, Shades75 said:

Was it not you who relentlessly belittled the idea of Sturgeon calling a referendum?

She can and should hold a referendum, she won't if she's not certain she will win though

Edited by sparky88

11 minutes ago, sparky88 said:

Given the SNP have been cutting themselves, using cuts to student grants to fund free tuition for middle earners for example, anyone joining to oppose the Tory cuts is naive.

That's if you believe the Telegraph and the other right media foisted upon us from outwith the country.

When we have a block grant allocated to is from another parliament we will never truly be in control of the levers in the economy.  So if the Tories push austerity and cuts, then cuts will be made here too.

In fact, cuts will always be made.  Every single sector of society wants more money.  Not one says, no sir, we're fine here, give it to the health service.  It is the easiest of easy targets to look for an area that has been cut - you'll always find one.

It's the savage cuts to disabled benefits, Social care and creeping privatisation of the NHS in England and Wales and that ilk that is the abhorrence of Tory rule.

Edited by Shades75

Just now, sparky88 said:

In england noone pays a penny of tuition fees til they earn 22 grand. 

Interesting non-sequitur; not what I challenged, though. You said, and I quote: "... free tuition for middle earners." Do you accept that somebody in their late teens or early twenties, studying a full-time undergraduate degree at a Scottish university, which accounts for, I believe, the majority of the undergraduate student body in this country, cannot be described, in any sense, as a "middle earner"? 

15 minutes ago, DrewDon said:

Interesting non-sequitur; not what I challenged, though. You said, and I quote: "... free tuition for middle earners." Do you accept that somebody in their late teens or early twenties, studying a full-time undergraduate degree at a Scottish university, which accounts for, I believe, the majority of the undergraduate student body in this country, cannot be described, in any sense, as a "middle earner"? 

Yes

Edited by sparky88

2 hours ago, The Chlamydia Kid said:

The SNP ignored the wishes of the Scottish parliament then- so why has the wishes of the Scottish parliament now became sacrosanct?

Come back when you know the difference between presenting a bill and a non binding motion to parliament.

Still the Yoons fuming about the prospect of a referendum they claim they will win easily......seriously what's the anger all about. Surely they'd want an early referendum whilst the auld Yoons still salute her maj n believe bbc before youngsters who are more media savvy qualify to vote. If the arguments for status quo are so strong why so seething? ??

1 hour ago, invergowrie arab said:

Come back when you know the difference between presenting a bill and a non binding motion to parliament.

Aye, did they not basically vote to say the fitba act was a pile of shite without actually putting forward any sort of plans of their own for change.

Still the Yoons fuming about the prospect of a referendum they claim they will win easily......seriously what's the anger all about. Surely they'd want an early referendum whilst the auld Yoons still salute her maj n believe bbc before youngsters who are more media savvy qualify to vote. If the arguments for status quo are so strong why so seething? ??

You can't seriously be wondering why people are pissed off by the prospect of a second referendum so soon?

39 minutes ago, pandarilla said:

You can't seriously be wondering why people are pissed off by the prospect of a second referendum so soon?

On the flip side, those pissed off people can't seriously deny that the political landscape has changed massively and there is a mandate for another referendum on that basis.

1 hour ago, pandarilla said:

It'll be nigh on 5 years since the last, when it comes.

You can understand why lots of people are pissed off and want one though, no?

On the flip side, those pissed off people can't seriously deny that the political landscape has changed massively and there is a mandate for another referendum on that basis.

It's astonishing that people don't seem to get this. Seems to be that the yoons on here like to bring up the once in a generation thing while ignoring the massive lie told which was one of the biggest arguments used in favour of staying in the union.

Which is even more ridiculous when you remember that Salmond actually made a point of saying "this is just my opinion" before that statement.

That's just whataboutery. Fact remains that it wasn't a promise or a pledge. The reason he didn't make that promise or pledge is because he's not a time traveler and doesn't have a crystal ball. So couldn't say for sure if there was going to be an event like, say, getting sent out of the EU when Better Together said we'd be staying in.

I know all of this is very inconvenient to the yoons who want to throw this "once in a generation" stuff about. But it's just how it is. If you want to be angry about another referendum and how broken promises have led to it, have a look at the Tories and Labour and moan at them for it.