The European football level St. Mirren FC 2024/25 thread

Not wanting to keep you up all night, but worth remembering theres usually deals completed after the deadline that aren't actually announced until 7am onwards due to them wanting the full social media hit.

10 minutes ago, RandomGuy. said:

Not wanting to keep you up all night, but worth remembering theres usually deals completed after the deadline that aren't actually announced until 7am onwards due to them wanting the full social media hit.

True but a bid, especially an accepted one would have definitely been reported on.

This Scott Burns chap is Tweeting (X-ing?) that “Aberdeen are done for the night”. Mind you, RandomGuy says we could wake up in the morning to find Baccus is going to Aberdeen, Robbo is going to Hibs, and Captain Sensible is going to Fir Park with 20,000 fellow St Mirren fans, more than Motherwell have ever had in their own ground.

Therefore, I’m still worried and will not be flashing my skants at anyone. Yet.

I think someone posted a few pages back that normally, St Mirren fans look at a transfer window ticking towards midnight, thinking ‘Gie’s a signing’. This window we’re thinking ‘don’t lose anyone’. I absolutely agree, and it shows how far we’ve come and where we’re at. I know no-one of genuine ‘star quality’ will stay with us forever, but if can keep what we’ve got - even from now until January, then fcuk me, that’s fantastic.

Don’t want to wake up now to a RandomGuy transfer bombshell. Unless it’s ‘Baccus to Saudi Premier League club Al-Sillymunny’.

Edited by pozbaird

Just now, pozbaird said:

I think someone posted a few pages back that normally, St Mirren fans look at a transfer window ticking towards midnight, thinking ‘Gie’s a signing’. This window we’re thinking ‘don’t lose anyone’. I absolutely agree, and it shows how far we’ve come and where we’re at. I know no-one of genuine ‘star quality’ will stay with us forever, but if can keep what we’ve got - even from now until January, then fcuk me, that’s fantastic.

Don’t want to wake up now to a RandomGuy transfer bombshell. Unless it’s ‘Baccus to Saudi Premier League club Al Sillymunny.

Well if he had signed for Aberdeen they had until 12 to get paper work done so it would have been announced by now no need to wait until morning .

Think on paper that's definitely a successful, if relatively quiet (in terms of incomings) window.

Boyd-Munce, Taylor and Olusanya have all been more or less like new signings, all three played little to no part last season and all three have shown that they'll be important players for us this year.

Hemming has looked OK so far, not spectacular and although he made one bad error on Sunday, his command of the box has been OK and his distribution excellent. He probably is a downgrade on Carson but time will definitely tell.

Small coming back was a positive in terms of cover. We'd clearly targeted him early doors in the window and it's good we got our guy in the end.

Bolton is still a bit away from fitness but he looked his sharpest yet against Aberdeen. Glowing reviews from fans of Plymouth who say he's an English championship level defender if he could get a run of fitness.

Stav Nahmani looks like the one who may or may not work out, two goals on his debut but nothing really since. A few folk who have seen him accuse him of being a bit lazy but he's still young and in a new country. We can afford to give him time to settle.

McMenamin, you can see exactly why they were so desperate to have him as the number one target of the summer. He's very clever, very comfortable with the ball and positionally and you can see him getting a bit better with ever game.

Mika Mandron has also looked good. Not the two left-footed diddy that Motherwell fans has us believe and is pretty talented for such a big gangly guy. He'll offer a threat up top.

We're obviously going to miss Carson and Main most from all the outgoings but all in all, I reckon we've done pretty damn well on paper. Getting a fee for Brophy was amazing given most of us were just wanting us to cut our losses and actually pay him off to go. Robinson clearly thinks the squad is stronger (if lesser in number) and the main priority of keeping hold of O'Hara, Strain and Baccus is probably the most important bit of business we'll do in the window as it means that the latter two in particular will almost certainly be here for the entire season now.

All we need now is to keep hold of Robinson who honestly feels like the glue holding everything together at this point.

Also got to think that if we have a good first half of the season, there's going to be a bit of cash there for us in January for a body or two, particularly with cup run money, getting a wee bit of cash on Ross Stewart deal etc.

Probably clever not to spunk everything in the one go if you're genuinely happy with what we have.

14 minutes ago, djchapsticks said:

Think on paper that's definitely a successful, if relatively quiet (in terms of incomings) window.

Boyd-Munce, Taylor and Olusanya have all been more or less like new signings, all three played little to no part last season and all three have shown that they'll be important players for us this year.

Hemming has looked OK so far, not spectacular and although he made one bad error on Sunday, his command of the box has been OK and his distribution excellent. He probably is a downgrade on Carson but time will definitely tell.

Small coming back was a positive in terms of cover. We'd clearly targeted him early doors in the window and it's good we got our guy in the end.

Bolton is still a bit away from fitness but he looked his sharpest yet against Aberdeen. Glowing reviews from fans of Plymouth who say he's an English championship level defender if he could get a run of fitness.

Stav Nahmani looks like the one who may or may not work out, two goals on his debut but nothing really since. A few folk who have seen him accuse him of being a bit lazy but he's still young and in a new country. We can afford to give him time to settle.

McMenamin, you can see exactly why they were so desperate to have him as the number one target of the summer. He's very clever, very comfortable with the ball and positionally and you can see him getting a bit better with ever game.

Mika Mandron has also looked good. Not the two left-footed diddy that Motherwell fans has us believe and is pretty talented for such a big gangly guy. He'll offer a threat up top.

We're obviously going to miss Carson and Main most from all the outgoings but all in all, I reckon we've done pretty damn well on paper. Getting a fee for Brophy was amazing given most of us were just wanting us to cut our losses and actually pay him off to go. Robinson clearly thinks the squad is stronger (if lesser in number) and the main priority of keeping hold of O'Hara, Strain and Baccus is probably the most important bit of business we'll do in the window as it means that the latter two in particular will almost certainly be here for the entire season now.

All we need now is to keep hold of Robinson who honestly feels like the glue holding everything together at this point.

Ayunga returning will be a huge bonus and like a new player also. 

Nahmani certainly didn't look lazy on his debut. Our level of work rate and fitness is outstanding so Robbo may be getting him up to speed. 

Mandron and Toyosi have been our surprise package so far. 

There is more goals in this team than last season. A few tomorrow would be great. 

53 minutes ago, elvis said:

Well if he had signed for Aberdeen they had until 12 to get paper work done so it would have been announced by now no need to wait until morning .

Scott Burns retweeted somebody who was insinuating we’re announcing a signing in the morning. Suspect he’s at it and it’ll be (at most) a free agent but we’ll see…