The European football level St. Mirren FC 2024/25 thread

2 hours ago, Oldchap said:

A bit disappointed the club hasn't started any process for away tickets" IF" we get through on Thursday as there isn't much time to make arrangements. 

I also hope that anyone who signs up on a ballot is committed to going. The amount of selfishness on the last ballot caused no end of grief and left people who could go out in the cold.

I managed to get there using a home ticket but that's unlikely  to be an option for Bergen and definitely not for Deventer.

It would also be helpful if the club could get a process together to confirm  individual ballot applications had been received . 

Everyone who wanted to see Saints in Iceland got a ticket and we were all together inside the stadium. No one was denied by any reason. How on earth you think the club can start a ticket sale for a game we might not be involved in against an opponent we don't know I will never know.

Fans and the club have longer this time to plan as the away leg is second so there is absolutely no rush.

2 minutes ago, Billy Jean King said:

Everyone who wanted to see Saints in Iceland got a ticket and we were all together inside the stadium. No one was denied by any reason. How on earth you think the club can start a ticket sale for a game we might not be involved in against an opponent we don't know I will never know.

Fans and the club have longer this time to plan as the away leg is second so there is absolutely no rush.

A lot didn’t get a ticket in ballot and did not travel - the fact tickets became available as they weren’t claimed prevented some fans from going. Yes if your saying that those who travelled got in and sat together but the ballot prevented many which was fine but when tickets then aren’t claimed and flights are scarce it’s a different story 

22 minutes ago, AW saint said:

Great result for the young lads tonight

Yes, done it early, coped with with a couple of goalie errors and won.

Only 4 Premiership B teams made it through tonight, 6 out

Edited by medals

10 minutes ago, Norrie82 said:

A lot didn’t get a ticket in ballot and did not travel - the fact tickets became available as they weren’t claimed prevented some fans from going. Yes if your saying that those who travelled got in and sat together but the ballot prevented many which was fine but when tickets then aren’t claimed and flights are scarce it’s a different story 

It was a dozen or so tickets I was lead to believe some of which were bought on the Tuesday morning by the few that chanced their arm at the ticket office. The same will happen again (hopefully) as folk look at prices and fully intend going then as soon as it becomes apparent who we play the prices start rising rapidly, in many cases above the folks financial limit. I really can't see any way round this scenario given the structure of the tournament. 

17 minutes ago, Billy Jean King said:

Well, that’s obviously not true. I didn’t get one in the ballot and wanted to go.
Well done to those that took a chance on buying a ticket for the home end, but there was no guarantee that they would let Saints fans in, would we have allowed that in Paisley?
 I thought it was a very expensive gamble, and that’s why I didn’t go

Just now, Friskysteed said:

Well, that’s obviously not true. I didn’t get one in the ballot and wanted to go.
Well done to those that took a chance on buying a ticket for the home end, but there was no guarantee that they would let Saints fans in, would we have allowed that in Paisley?
 I thought it was a very expensive gamble, and that’s why I didn’t go

The whole not letting fans mix is pretty rare throughout Europe. I've been to umpteen matches all over Europe over the years when not a supporter of the club whose section I was sitting in, it was never going to be an issue imo. It might prove to have been our last chance,  most I spoke to there weren't willing to take a chance there will be another round. All about individuals risk assessments I suppose, no wrong or right answer here. Let's hope we all get the opportunity again after Thursday. 

20 minutes ago, Billy Jean King said:

The whole not letting fans mix is pretty rare throughout Europe. I've been to umpteen matches all over Europe over the years when not a supporter of the club whose section I was sitting in, it was never going to be an issue imo. It might prove to have been our last chance,  most I spoke to there weren't willing to take a chance there will be another round. All about individuals risk assessments I suppose, no wrong or right answer here. Let's hope we all get the opportunity again after Thursday. 

Yes, on your own as a neutral. But loads of fans decked out in the shirts of the away team?

10 hours ago, Friskysteed said:

Yes, on your own as a neutral. But loads of fans decked out in the shirts of the away team?

I’m guessing you’ve never travelled abroad watching Scotland, it is pretty commonplace ….. similarly I have seen and met many ‘away’ fans sitting in the South Stand at Hampden.

11 hours ago, medals said:

Yes, done it early, coped with with a couple of goalie errors and won.

Only 4 Premiership B teams made it through tonight, 6 out

Hopefully the rest get fucked out in the next round. 

Just now, Ranaldo Bairn said:

Hopefully the rest get fucked out in the next round. 

I agreed with that view until ten seconds ago. Now that a Falkirk fan has posted, I hope we fcuking win this diddiest of diddy cups, wiping the floor with the greetin’ faced lower league diddy shite that play in it.

Mon’ the B team. 😛

Hello frens, good luck in your big European tie.

My post is coming on far less glamorous business. We'll be playing your lot's children's side in the Challenge Cup in a fortnight, and I'm cracking on with writing the programme this afternoon. Who is technically managing that team? Is it Allan McManus as Head of the Academy or Brian Kerr/Stephen McGinn/someone else?

Cheers!

25 minutes ago, Jan Vojáček said:

My post is coming on far less glamorous business. We'll be playing your lot's children's side in the Challenge Cup in a fortnight, and I'm cracking on with writing the programme this afternoon. Who is technically managing that team? Is it Allan McManus as Head of the Academy or Brian Kerr/Stephen McGinn/someone else?

Cheers!

Looks like Brian Kerr was in charge last night.

37 minutes ago, Jan Vojáček said:

Cheers!

I think Stephen McGinn Is coaching one of the lower age groups though is learning his coaching side alongside McManus and Kerr.

I was surprised that Kerr was in charge last night, though I guess that leaves McManus to get on with running the academy.

57 minutes ago, weebud said:

I’m guessing you’ve never travelled abroad watching Scotland, it is pretty commonplace ….. similarly I have seen and met many ‘away’ fans sitting in the South Stand at Hampden.

No I haven’t. But that’s good to know. Hearing that, and after how it all unfolded in Iceland, I certainly feel more confident making the next trip 🤞 if I don’t get a ticket in the ballot. 

22 minutes ago, Friskysteed said:

No I haven’t. But that’s good to know. Hearing that, and after how it all unfolded in Iceland, I certainly feel more confident making the next trip 🤞 if I don’t get a ticket in the ballot. 

I'm all in for the next round if we make it regardless of being successful in ballot or not.

44 minutes ago, FTOF said:

Looks like Brian Kerr was in charge last night.

32 minutes ago, smellthepaw said:

I think Stephen McGinn Is coaching one of the lower age groups though is learning his coaching side alongside McManus and Kerr.

I was surprised that Kerr was in charge last night, though I guess that leaves McManus to get on with running the academy.

Cheers guys! Will be looking to do a bit of padding out, so I might just mention all three guys given McManus played for us, McGinn's brother played for us and Kerr played against us for Arbroath in 2011/12 when we were promoted :lol:

I saw Brann had to stop digital sales as Go Ahead fans buying in home end and they didn't want that, but, they seem to have worked out a plan for Dutch fans wanting to go without an away stand ticket:

"The away section in Brann's stadium can accommodate 750 supporters and those tickets were sold out very quickly. The Norwegians then opened a free sale for the other stands, making it possible for Dutch people to buy tickets in this way as well. Several supporters of Go Ahead Eagles took advantage of that, but Brann is now coming back from that. The club does not want GA Eagles supporters to mingle with the home crowd.

According to SK Brann, Dutch people who already had tickets for a home section have received an email informing them that the tickets have been blocked. They get their money back. The same email shows that it is still possible to get a new ticket on match day.

Supporters must first register via a link in the email. On the day itself, they must report to the stadium between 12:00 and 14:00, where they can buy a ticket per person on presentation of an ID. The supporters who do so will be placed in the same box during the match."

Sounds a good plan. Probably better than if you were going to Go Ahead as think they'd sell out home fans quite easily in a much smaller stadium.

8 minutes ago, The Holiday Song said:

I saw Brann had to stop digital sales as Go Ahead fans buying in home end and they didn't want that, but, they seem to have worked out a plan for Dutch fans wanting to go without an away stand ticket:

"The away section in Brann's stadium can accommodate 750 supporters and those tickets were sold out very quickly. The Norwegians then opened a free sale for the other stands, making it possible for Dutch people to buy tickets in this way as well. Several supporters of Go Ahead Eagles took advantage of that, but Brann is now coming back from that. The club does not want GA Eagles supporters to mingle with the home crowd.

According to SK Brann, Dutch people who already had tickets for a home section have received an email informing them that the tickets have been blocked. They get their money back. The same email shows that it is still possible to get a new ticket on match day.

Supporters must first register via a link in the email. On the day itself, they must report to the stadium between 12:00 and 14:00, where they can buy a ticket per person on presentation of an ID. The supporters who do so will be placed in the same box during the match."

Sounds a good plan. Probably better than if you were going to Go Ahead as think they'd sell out home fans quite easily in a much smaller stadium.

750 will be plenty for us. It will be financially and logistically every bit as difficult or harder than Iceland was.