"The ICT Thread - The Championship Years"

13 hours ago, ICTChris said:

In what way is the Courier ultra-Tory? How long would you say it’s had this stance?

Puff pieces for Edward Mountbatten nearly every issue, and backing every loony tory facebook campaign against the Council. For as long as I've been here, which isn't that long.

14 hours ago, ICTChris said:

In what way is the Courier ultra-Tory? How long would you say it’s had this stance?

Baron Iliffe, of Yattendon in the County of Berkshire,[1] is a title in the Peerage of the United Kingdom. It was created in 1933 for the newspaper magnate Sir Edward Iliffe. For many years the family controlled newspapers in Birmingham and Coventry, including the Birmingham Post, the Birmingham Mail and the Coventry Evening Telegraph and were also part owners of the Daily Telegraph. The first Baron also represented Tamworth in Parliament as a Conservative. As of 2010 the title is held by his grandson, the third Baron, who succeeded his uncle in 1996. He is the current Commodore of The Royal Yacht Squadron of Cowes, Isle of Wight. Lord Iliffe and the rest of the Iliffe family holds (2006) an estimated fortune (according to the Sunday Times Rich List) of £200m.

The family surname and the title of the barony is pronounced "EYE-liff".

Barons Iliffe (1933)[edit]

The heir apparent is the present holder's son the Hon. Edward Richard Iliffe (b. 1968)

The present owners family background does not suggest in any way that they are imbedded in socialist idealism or representing Scotland,  to beg local communities for money to support their newspapers during a major health crisis is at the very least shocking. 

Have a look on Endole to see the present owners directorships.

14 hours ago, ICTChris said:

Further evidence of the Illiffe family money grabbing through Corporate Welfare;

Yattendon estates received £195,000 in housing benefit from West Berkshire. Lord Robert Illiffe was 333rd on the Sunday Times Rich List with wealth of £245 Million, Yattendon is a 9,000 acre estate in West Berkshire.

And now they want the working people of Inverness and elsewhere to donate money to them.

At least Branson asked the Government for money and didn't have the affrontery to ask virgin atlantic customers.

15 hours ago, Highland Capital said:

While I was out shopping this afternoon, I overheard one of Caley Thistle's directors telling someone a player had been 'freed'.  I didn't catch the name of the player, but going by the other fellow's reaction, it was one of the more prominent players.

Walsh possibly?

Just now, SandyCromarty said:

Why? do you want his job?

Been there, done that, to an extent. I wouldn't work in football if you paid me. Which is looking less likely with every passing day. You need to be very stupid or very arrogant to want involved.

57 minutes ago, Sergeant Wilson said:

Been there, done that, to an extent. I wouldn't work in football if you paid me. Which is looking less likely with every passing day. You need to be very stupid or very arrogant to want involved.

Strong psychological denialism of a subject could indicate a hidden desire.

Given that twice on this page you've asked about Scott Gardiners demise I would say you are after his position.

Good Luck to you in your application and I look forward to seeing you in the Caley blazer and tie.  

11 minutes ago, SandyCromarty said:

Classic P&B logic, that.

”Naw Ah’m urny”

”SEE??  AYE YE URR!!!”

24 minutes ago, SandyCromarty said:

Given that twice on this page you've asked about Scott Gardiners demise I would say you are after his position.

Good Luck to you in your application and I look forward to seeing you in the Caley blazer and tie.  

Remember the Rangers joke?

"Are they said yet"?

Obviously not.

15 minutes ago, DA Baracus said:

Folk blindly believing a story from a total stranger who just happened to overhear a conversation about possibly confidential information  😄

Given that in the past couple of years players and staff have found out they were getting moved on by reading about in the local paper or Twitter before being told by the club it wouldn't surprise me if we do have folk blabbing out stuff like this to anyone within earshot before letting a player know. 

Edited by RiG

Folk blindly believing a story from a total stranger who just happened to overhear a conversation about possibly confidential information  [emoji1]

This is Inverness you’re talking about. I mean that as no slight, but it is possible, mainly by spending all day in Starbucks in the Eastgate, to hear pretty high level football gossip. The only ever “exclusive” I’ve ever had was about a transfer of players between Inverness and Ross County that I heard in there.

3 hours ago, RiG said:

Maybe in reference to Tremarco?

Possibly but it sounded like it was the first he'd heard of it.  The Tremarco stuff came out the other week.  I wouldn't be surprised of it was Walsh - with us staying down, you could see a Motherwell, Dundee United, Kilmarnock sized club snapping him up.

Vague memory of it. Used to be a Rangers Social Club but it went bust. It's now a Mosque. [emoji4]
I think@weirdcal is meaning the Rangers merchandise shop which used to be up in the Eastgate Centre, and was indeed beside the Orange shop I believe. You're talking about the Portland Club, used to go to many parties there back in the day. Primarily because they didn't give a shit about serving underagers and if the place got trashed it was very difficult to notice as it was a dive in the first place.

21 minutes ago, Jarballs said:

I think@weirdcal is meaning the Rangers merchandise shop which used to be up in the Eastgate Centre, and was indeed beside the Orange shop I believe. You're talking about the Portland Club, used to go to many parties there back in the day. Primarily because they didn't give a shit about serving underagers and if the place got trashed it was very difficult to notice as it was a dive in the first place.

Aye, I meant I could vaguely remember the shop, thought it was on the High Street but you're probably right. Was there not a short term Caley shop in town around the time of the Cup win?

I think you're right actually now you mention it, it was on High Street. There was a wee ICT shop for a while, was that up in the centre right at the back? I've lived here most of my life, got a memory like a bloody sieve though. Dissolved too many brain cells in a mis-spent youth!