The Celtic All Seasons thread

1 hour ago, AJF said:

The “TikTok Todd” brigade raging now that Furuhashi is getting in on the act? 😅

I wonder what Sutton will have to say about it…

Whilst Kyogo keeps doing this 

He can do whatever the f**k he wants in my opinion and therein likes the difference.

Edited by Jinky67

On 24/01/2024 at 12:05, Grangemouth Bairn said:

Reports that Atletico Madrid have made a bid for O’Riley. If true he’ll surely want to go.

Rodgers today saying publicly he’s going nowhere in this window

32 minutes ago, Jinky67 said:

Whilst Kyogo keeps doing this 

He can do whatever the f**k he wants in my opinion and therein likes the difference.

Deflect, deflect, deflect 🤣

The borderline homophobic abuse Cantwell gets as a result for doing "silly dances" on TikTok has nothing to do with his footballing ability. So, yeah, not really relevant.

1 hour ago, AJF said:

The borderline homophobic abuse Cantwell gets as a result for doing "silly dances" on TikTok has nothing to do with his footballing ability. So, yeah, not really relevant.

So let me get this right? You are upset with Sutton for calling Cantwell out for doing silly dances and that somehow is borderline homophobia? Why? Do only gay men on TikTok dance?

Edited by Jinky67

14 minutes ago, Jinky67 said:

So let me get this right? You are upset with Sutton for calling Cantwell out for doing silly dances and that somehow is borderline homophobia? Why? Do only gay men dance?

Not exactly, no. Sutton called Cantwell out for doing silly dances. Rather personal but I suppose he is entitled to air his opinion about it. So I was wondering what he'd now have to say about Kyogo doing it (spoiler: he won't say a thing).

The homophobic abuse, however, is more to do with the element of fans you see online (and not online, I suppose, as evidenced by Celtic fans recorded signing a song calling Cantwell a Rangers b*tty boy) that target Cantwell as a result of the dancing. Those I was referring to as the TikTok Todd Brigade, a separate issue from Sutton.

Cantwell gets homophobic abuse which has nothing to do with his football ability, which is why I was questioning if those same people would have the same view about Kyogo, regardless of how good a player he may be. Or they may share your opinion in that he will escape criticism just because he is a good player.

Edited by AJF

3 hours ago, AJF said:

The homophobic undertones around Cantwell is an embarrassment to be fair. I think it highlights how ingrained and socially acceptable causal homophobia still is on this island.

5 hours ago, AJF said:

The “TikTok Todd” brigade raging now that Furuhashi is getting in on the act? 😅

I wonder what Sutton will have to say about it…

Is he hoping to make money for furniture?

2 hours ago, AJF said:

Not exactly, no. Sutton called Cantwell out for doing silly dances. Rather personal but I suppose he is entitled to air his opinion about it. So I was wondering what he'd now have to say about Kyogo doing it (spoiler: he won't say a thing).

The homophobic abuse, however, is more to do with the element of fans you see online (and not online, I suppose, as evidenced by Celtic fans recorded signing a song calling Cantwell a Rangers b*tty boy) that target Cantwell as a result of the dancing. Those I was referring to as the TikTok Todd Brigade, a separate issue from Sutton.

Cantwell gets homophobic abuse which has nothing to do with his football ability, which is why I was questioning if those same people would have the same view about Kyogo, regardless of how good a player he may be. Or they may share your opinion in that he will escape criticism just because he is a good player.

Any homophobic abuse is unacceptable that goes without saying as is any abuse based around any protected characteristic so unsure why it’s a point you would raise here as no one will contest that. However if we are talking about TikTok it’s a platform where the demographic is mostly teenagers so the level of maturity and offensiveness in comments reflects that

The point about Sutton in my opinion is in relation to his football as the sentiment appears to be that if he was as focused and put as much energy into his football as he does TikTok he may actually be able to back up the bravado but quite regularly doesn’t which is why Sutton noises him up. If Kyogo starts to fail in the big moments I think Sutton would give it to him tight, he has been critical of Celtic players in the past. 

And tbf I see some Rangers fans also frustrated by what Cantwell posts on social media giving it the big yin and then not doing it on the pitch.

Edited by Jinky67

1 hour ago, Jinky67 said:

Any homophobic abuse is unacceptable that goes without saying as is any abuse based around any protected characteristic so unsure why it’s a point you would raise here as no one will contest that. However if we are talking about TikTok it’s a platform where the demographic is mostly teenagers so the level of maturity and offensiveness in comments reflects that

The point about Sutton in my opinion is in relation to his football as the sentiment appears to be that if he was as focused and put as much energy into his football as he does TikTok he may actually be able to back up the bravado but quite regularly doesn’t which is why Sutton noises him up. If Kyogo starts to fail in the big moments I think Sutton would give it to him tight, he has been critical of Celtic players in the past. 

And tbf I see some Rangers fans also frustrated by what Cantwell posts on social media giving it the big yin and then not doing it on the pitch.

Aye, but it’s not confined to TikTok. We’ve seen it all over Twitter and now a song being sung about him being a b*tty boy by fans. A quick search of Cantwell’s name with things like “p**f”, “gay”, “rent boy” etc will throw up a plethora of results.

And that’s the thing, if Sutton genuinely believes that Cantwell making TikToks has any bearing on his footballing form/ability then he is less intelligent than I give him credit for. It was just a cheap dig at him as he knew fans would latch onto it.

It's absolutely ridiculous how much the **** are still absolutely rattled by Sutton, Cantwell  talking about him was incredibly naive. In fact even their previous manager brought him up once in an interview unprobed. I would be embarrassed if one of my players or manager had fallen for some obvious bait by an ex- Rangers player.

Edited by gannonball

35 minutes ago, AJF said:

Aye, but it’s not confined to TikTok. We’ve seen it all over Twitter and now a song being sung about him being a b*tty boy by fans. A quick search of Cantwell’s name with things like “p**f”, “gay”, “rent boy” etc will throw up a plethora of results.

And that’s the thing, if Sutton genuinely believes that Cantwell making TikToks has any bearing on his footballing form/ability then he is less intelligent than I give him credit for. It was just a cheap dig at him as he knew fans would latch onto it.

Genuinely not seen or heard any such song on Twitter or anywhere else however i‘m not really in the habit for searching for Todd Cantwell nevermind with those additional descriptors. This isn’t me doubting the existence of such songs so i’ll bow to your better knowledge. 

I‘m also a bit surprised you are so rattled by Sutton noising him up, you need to remember Cantwell also went after Sutton too and if he is going to do that then he is going to have to back himself up and his performances just haven’t don’t that, he’s played right into Suttons hands. 

Edited by Jinky67

10 minutes ago, Jinky67 said:

Genuinely not seen or heard any such song on Twitter or anywhere else however i‘m not really in the habit for searching for Todd Cantwell nevermind with those additional descriptors. This isn’t me doubting the existence of such songs so i’ll bow to your better knowledge. 

I‘m also a bit surprised you are so rattled by Sutton noising him up, you need to remember Cantwell also went after Sutton too and if he is going to do that then he is going to have to back himself up and his performances just haven’t don’t that, he’s played right into Suttons hands. 

Nor do I search for them, but it’s the kind of stuff you see cropping up under articles or news stories about him.

It was more a case of asking if Sutton would be consistent with criticism of footballers making TikTok videos now that Kyogo is in on the act rather than suggesting he shouldn’t be noising him up. 

13 minutes ago, AJF said:

Nor do I search for them, but it’s the kind of stuff you see cropping up under articles or news stories about him.

It was more a case of asking if Sutton would be consistent with criticism of footballers making TikTok videos now that Kyogo is in on the act rather than suggesting he shouldn’t be noising him up. 

Has Kyogo a high opinion of himself and better known for his TikTok than his football? 

That after all is the criticism Sutton made about Cantwell it wasn’t just about him being on TikTok

Again you do seem a bit unusually rattled by what is fair criticism 

Edited by Jinky67

23 minutes ago, Jinky67 said:

Has Kyogo a high opinion of himself and better known for his TikTok than his football? 

That after all is the criticism Sutton made about Cantwell it wasn’t just about him being on TikTok

On what basis has Sutton come to the conclusion that Cantwell has a high opinion of himself, though?

Because, if we cast back to what Sutton previously said about him after he actually interviewed him…

No criticism there over a “high opinion” of himself. Rather it was “intelligent, articulate, well spoken, driven”. Sutton even goes on to say that he needs a bit of arrogance about him!

I wonder what has changed since? If he thinks he has a high opinion of himself because he does TikToks then surely the same logic applies to Kyogo. 

Edited by AJF

11 minutes ago, AJF said:

On what basis has Sutton come to the conclusion that Cantwell has a high opinion of himself, though?

Because, if we cast back to what Sutton previously said about him after he actually interviewed him…

No criticism there over a “high opinion” of himself. Rather it was “intelligent, articulate, well spoken, driven”. Sutton even goes on to say that he needs a bit of arrogance about him!

I wonder what has changed since? If he thinks he has a high opinion of himself because he does TikToks then surely the same logic applies to Kyogo. 

I’ll assume from what he has posted on social media since. TikTok only really exploded during Covid which is after that interview however you would have to ask Sutton wouldn’t you?

However getting this bent out of shape and desperate for Sutton to have a go at Kyogo over something so childish and unimportant as TikTok is a bit of a minter mate especially for you.

Edited by Jinky67

31 minutes ago, Jinky67 said:

Anything Celtic - not allowed to criticise.

Anything Rangers - fair game.

3 minutes ago, kingjoey said:

Anything Celtic - not allowed to criticise.

Anything Rangers - fair game.

Plenty of things to be critical about Celtic about, pick the right one and I’ll probably join you. 

This however is laughable so I’m out 😂

Edited by Jinky67

7 hours ago, Jinky67 said:

Rodgers today saying publicly he’s going nowhere in this window

Yeah, looked at Atletico’s fixtures and seen upcoming games against Seville, Valencia, Real and Inter in the knockout stages in the Champions League vs games against Ross County, Hibs, Aberdeen and St Mirren in the Scottish Cup and thought he’s 23, he’ll push for the move. Clearly I underestimated how settled he is playing in Scotland.

2 minutes ago, Grangemouth Bairn said:

Yeah, looked at Atletico’s fixtures and seen upcoming games against Seville, Valencia, Real and Inter in the knockout stages in the Champions League vs games against Ross County, Hibs, Aberdeen and St Mirren in the Scottish Cup and thought he’s 23, he’ll push for the move. Clearly I underestimated how settled he is playing in Scotland.

He would be cup tied for the Champions League would he not? However he will most likely move in the Summer which would be the perfect time for all parties.

He has ambition and ability beyond us for sure  

7 minutes ago, Jinky67 said:

He would be cup tied for the Champions League would he not? However he will most likely move in the Summer which would be the perfect time for all parties.

He has ambition and ability beyond us for sure  

I’m pretty sure UEFA scrapped the ‘cup tied’ rule for their European competitions and moved them in line with the domestic competitions for the January transfer window. I could be wrong though ?

Yeah, the ones that are good enough and ambitious enough don’t stay in Scotland for long anymore and I think he ticks both boxes.