The Ultimate Super Ayr Thread

We aren’t big enough to get decent in house media, or to have folk unconnected to the club and interested enough to asking difficult wuestions of the management. We’re just another uninteresting team…

So, as long as we’re a middling championship side we’re lumped with callum. its not his fault. Just the facts of our position in the game. 

He is what he is. Pish and free. No point greetin that he didn’t ask a question. 

4 minutes ago, GuyIncognito said:

Why couldn't we get some media students from the uni or college to do it, which wouldn't be as expensive as a full time social media manager?  Also, look at Raith Rovers, a club similar in size and budget to us, who have a social media manager and their content is streets ahead of ours, and has resulted in lots of publicity for them. If we can do the social media aspect spot on then any cost for a dedicated social media manager would be more than worth it in terms of what it can bring.

I agree, actually. We could link up with the college. Would suit Mathies patter at least. 

7 minutes ago, Thumper said:

You make it sound like unpaid social media is a black art. There are bakeries with five staff who do a better job of it. As was recently noted, international powerhouse Stranraer FC somehow manage to make a good go of it despite only having electrified in the 90s.

i dont really care all that much tbh. Had 6 pints and breenged into a discussion. 

9 minutes ago, D'Jaffo said:

Plain chicken, boiled rice and a glass of water guaranteed. 

In all seriousness, Bullen is probably better travelled than 95% of people on here, and did it when you definitely couldn't rely on there always being a McDonalds at the other end. Wouldn't be surprised if he's picked up quite the palate.

10 minutes ago, Coollestersmoothe said:

Are Ayr to shell out a wage for a social media manager or some some kinda Nathan Barley-esque multi media node? 

They actually advertised for someone with this expertise to run that  side of the club as a board member , believe the chosen candidate will be announce real soon 

12 minutes ago, D'Jaffo said:

Somerset Bored of this chat more like.

That's fine but it's a legitimate topic of discussion. The website/social media side of the club is one of its public faces and 100% under the control of the club. There must be more off-field employees than ever before (? certainly in the last 20 years) and there is no indication from the owner or CEO they are interested. It is all well and good to have a new board member in charge (presumably not only a volunteer but someone who has to pony up some cash to get involved) but hardly sufficient.

A lack of oversight on the media side of things certainly predates Smith's ownership but it has not improved - it has got worse.

I would go for this tomorrow now.

McGeady in a free role, doing whatever the f**k he wants. He managed 30 minutes last week, even if he managed 45 tomorrow that would be great. He is basically one of our only creative threats, so we need to get him ready to start games. 

Albinson

Musonda   Stanger  McGinty  Reading

Smith  Pendlebury

Amartey             McGeady      McKenzie 

Rose

Just now, super_carson said:

Surgery could be anything from an ingrown toenail to a full knee reconstruction so some context would have been handy...

Aye by not following up on the question it's led to all this uncertainty