The Ultimate Super Ayr Thread

I'm not sure what's depressed me more this evening.

The performance and subsequent result

The utter apathy at the end

The argument I had with the racist bawbag in the first half that then escalated again at half time.

Seriously wondering if I should bother going back

Edited by Peil

ICT didn't seem to be out of 3rd gear either which is a worry. Albinson looked shot of confidence after being "dropped". Pretty sure Smith, Mathie etc etc are content as long as the hub is busy and the NT stand is progressing well. Honestly can't see Bullen being punted any day soon 

6 minutes ago, UpInTheAyr said:

Come shovel horse shit with me mate. Infinitely more enjoyable than watching that dross. 

I can imagine.

The most entertainment I had was watching Pandemonium seemingly decapitate himself and lose a boot when trying to score a penalty. The consumate professional was more concerned with puting his head back on tbf.

16 minutes ago, 1nickydevlin said:

We also have sports psychologists  ,nutritional coaches all alot of shit a club like ours do not need .

I've commented on the priorities being somewhat questionable given the huge obvious problems with the manager and first team, but the club isn't wrong to have these things and it's not going to be the same people in charge of fixing both. This is nearly the second quarter of the 21st Century and full-time footballers aren't and shouldn't be expected to handle all that stuff themselves. It's also unlikely that this is being treated as zero-sum by the owner: it's not as if having these people is preventing the club from signing full backs. Lastly, if you want a better calibre of player, then access to these facilities is a compelling reason to come to Ayr.

On the other hand, is there any point in paying for these when the average ten-year-old could tactically out-think your manager?

1 minute ago, Trogdor said:

I can imagine.

The most entertainment I had was watching Pandemonium seemingly decapitate himself and lose a boot when trying to score a penalty. The consumate professional was more concerned with puting his head back on tbf.

That did all feel like an unfortunate metaphor.

2 minutes ago, Peil said:

The argument I had with the racist bawbag in the first half that then escalated again at half time.

Forby everything else, the club absolutely does not need c***s like this on the terrace, I hope they get identified and banned. 

1 minute ago, Peil said:

I got into an argument with a couple of people as well. No racism involved so obviously wasn't you.

I had the audacity to shout Bullen out at 2 nil. One gammon commented who would we bring in and the other accused Albinson of deliberately conceding a goal to get Bullen sacked. Another commented on how we were regressing to our rightful place.

I genuinely think we have the team some of our fans deserve. No heart, no passion and no ambition from some on the terraces either. Apathy is setting in.

I'm taking a break as I'm clearly too vested in the club for my own good.

2 minutes ago, Thumper said:

I've commented on the priorities being somewhat questionable given the huge obvious problems with the manager and first team, but the club isn't wrong to have these things and it's not going to be the same people in charge of fixing both. This is nearly the second quarter of the 21st Century and full-time footballers aren't and shouldn't be expected to handle all that stuff themselves. It's also unlikely that this is being treated as zero-sum by the owner: it's not as if having these people is preventing the club from signing full backs. Lastly, if you want a better calibre of player, then access to these facilities is a compelling reason to come to Ayr.

On the other hand, is there any point in paying for these when the average ten-year-old could tactically out-think your manager?

Nothing wrong with having them as long as they're being used, and being used effectively. Which I have doubts about. 

That’s me calling it a day until Bullen’s gone. The imminent birth of my first child is also an excellent excuse not to be going at the moment! 

p.s. Did anyone else have Inverness at 2/1 today? Easiest money I’ll make all year.

Edited by Ayr23

7 minutes ago, Trogdor said:

I got into an argument with a couple of people as well. No racism involved so obviously wasn't you.

I had the audacity to shout Bullen out at 2 nil. One gammon commented who would we bring in and the other accused Albinson of deliberately conceding a goal to get Bullen sacked. Another commented on how we were regressing to our rightful place.

I genuinely think we have the team some of our fans deserve. No heart, no passion and no ambition from some on the terraces either. Apathy is setting in.

Must have been a visitor from the Pyongyang Ayr United supporters club.  Instinct kicked in when they heard criticism of the dear leader and they can see plots against them everywhere.

Edited by Oceanlineayr
Added extra

Just now, Jeff Venom said:

Forby everything else, the club absolutely does not need c***s like this on the terrace, I hope they get identified and banned. 

Started with him talking to his mates about p*kis, progressed (sic) to Muslims running Scotland and then how it's aw they blacks in London causing crime and how it's getting like that up here.

At this point I blew up and told him to take his racist pish Tae fk

First defender was it's a personal conversation, nothing to do with me, them he's no a racist. Guy next to me called him out for it as well.

Half time, he comes down wanting to make up as we're all Ayr fans, and to shake my hand. Told him not a fucking chance. I've got black people on the family via the wife, so I can't let it lie.

He then says he was talking about the 70s and 80s, asked how old I was. 49, his face as he realised I was older...

Then he actually says "I've got a black niece, black as the ace of spades, but we aw love her"

Bet she's thrilled at that😐

Then when I pointed out he'd also went on about Muslims running the country he started about have you read the Koran.

They left at the third goal.

1 minute ago, Ayr23 said:

That’s me calling it a day until Bullen’s gone. The imminent birth of my first child is also an excellent excuse not to be going at the moment! 

Congratulations! 🎈🎆☺️

2 minutes ago, Ayr23 said:

No nobler a cause mate.

Congrats, I remember it well. Life changing doesn't cover it! 

28 minutes ago, Iain said:

Agree that change is needed but totally disagree on the utility of specialists. The physical and mental health of the players is one of the club's primary responsibilities.

Yes I agree the players physical and mental health matters .but we have a whole load of jobs and not one Is improving the product on the pitch . And one would imagine that theses roles do not  come cheap .when our home gate is dwindling each week.

8 minutes ago, Trogdor said:

It really is sad that now we seem to have total pr#cks shouting all sorts rubbish / nasty comments and our games home and away. Seriously don’t think they get talking in the house. 

5 minutes ago, Peil said:

Started with him talking to his mates about p*kis, progressed (sic) to Muslims running Scotland and then how it's aw they blacks in London causing crime and how it's getting like that up here.

At this point I blew up and told him to take his racist pish Tae fk

First defender was it's a personal conversation, nothing to do with me, them he's no a racist. Guy next to me called him out for it as well.

Half time, he comes down wanting to make up as we're all Ayr fans, and to shake my hand. Told him not a fucking chance. I've got black people on the family via the wife, so I can't let it lie.

He then says he was talking about the 70s and 80s, asked how old I was. 49, his face as he realised I was older...

Then he actually says "I've got a black niece, black as the ace of spades, but we aw love her"

Bet she's thrilled at that😐

Then when I pointed out he'd also went on about Muslims running the country he started about have you read the Koran.

They left at the third goal.

Encountered a few of this type in the past. Convinced Humza and Sadiq Khan are out to destroy the UK via low emission zones and trans rights.

1 hour ago, Thumper said:

Regardless of where the chips fall, and even if you aren't a fan of all the construction w**k, at least there are (literally) concrete improvements in the fan experience after decades of little more than statutory maintenance.

The club has been full-time for years and hasn't gone into a Championship season (even this one) odds-on to get relegated for a decade.

Kelty Hearts have not yet beaten Ayr United in the cup.

A fair idea just in case your board haven’t thought of it yet is borrow about £10-£12 million from the bank and build yourself a stadium and a cup-winning top flight team and just hope that one day the bank just say not to bother paying it back.