Coronavirus (COVID-19)

2 hours ago, welshbairn said:

Problem Labour have is they have zero chance of taking power until this shitfest is long over. If they rip the Government to shreds on their performance and the advice they've been giving, and people start ignoring it, we're all fucked. Plenty time for a detailed interrogation and exposure when things are getting back to normal.

You could be reading this wrong.  Obviously people are supportive of the government during this crisis but still taking note.  Once it is over they will be held to account.  Not sure they will still be popular afterwards.  A lot of ideology getting in the way of doing the right thing

7 hours ago, s_dog said:

madwullie has nailed it. And I've never understood why on earth didn't they attempt to do something about international travel to limit the spread? All these people flying back from China for weeks after it had got bad there, as well as those returning from Italy at the same time we were watching the horrific news stories from Italy? If they'd tested & tracked vigorously then, the lockdown could have been less strict and certainly the number of deaths would be far fewer.  Pity those would have required a bit of planning & a quick response from the Government. Instead, two months after the first cases in the UK, we have the UK Gov failing to get their act together with PPE and lying about it, have went from testing between 10-20,000 people for the first three weeks of April, to those figures jumping from around 18,000 on Apr 24th to 75,000 a week later, so that they can claim to have reached their target of 100,000 tests and not see anything suspicious. And a Scottish Government that have been slow to increase the testing capacity, also struggled to provide PPE, but have at least been far more honest & transparent.

Edited to add: Bottom line is though, we have hundreds of people dying in care homes because there wasn't enough PPE and the Gov were slow to recognise that the spread in care home is far more difficult to manage, and just yesterday the Scottish Gov still only carried out 2000 tests, which is a scarily low number.

Did we have the capability to test then? Did we have the capability to track?

6 hours ago, Carl Cort's Hamstring said:

Part of the government's reasoning for not locking down early was that, if we did it with very low numbers of cases, people would get bored of it quickly and simply give up following the rules before the lockdown could be effecttive.

Even with ~30,000 dead and counting, there are already elements of the right-wing media clamouring to end the lock-down and everyday the roads my area get busier and busier. My school is on a high street and, leaving work yesterday, the number of people out and about was similar to what you'd see on a normal day, and there were several groups of people sitting on benches drinking together. When I first went into work 3 weeks ago, the whole place was completely deserted.

I'm starting to wonder whether the government might have been right to assume that, as a nation, we're simply too selfish and too stupid to have locked down much earlier.

I've posted more than once that locking down earlier than we did wouldn't have worked for that very reason. Of course we'll never know, and by all accounts locking down is breaking down.

4 hours ago, Granny Danger said:

I am glad we don’t have gun laws like the USA.  If we did then no doubt we would see hoards of Wetherspoons employees storming government offices demanding the right to return to their minimum wage employment.

Does Tim Martin keep them in his garden shed?

Outstanding post. Absolutely this, a thousand times.

But too many high heid yins in labour are supping from the capitalist teet, with directorships and consultancy fees a plenty. Greedy tops common decency all too often, and Westminster appears to be a cesspit for this kind of stuff.

It's so common for good people to get elected, and then find themselves up to their knees in dodgy shit, and having to tow the line.

From the top part, just for my own confusion where is the agreement and where should there have been more flak ?

Turns out quoting is too hard on my phone

Thought you'd have been right into the lift to community spirit tbh.
Calm yourself.

I've got no time for the little englander nonsense.

Supporting the nhs and lifting community spirits is a world away from this right wing imperial pish.

It appears, happily, talk of infections shooting up in Germany were not only premature, but incorrect.

Here, T7D deaths stay level again, with T7D new infections starting to take quite a dip. As we are testing more people, this is a very good sign.

Screenshot_20200502-214345_Opera.jpg

Screenshot_20200502-214302_Opera.jpg

Screenshot_20200502-214245_Opera.jpg

Screenshot_20200502-214735_Opera.jpg

Edited by Todd_is_God

From the top part, just for my own confusion where is the agreement and where should there have been more flak ?
Turns out quoting is too hard on my phone
I don't understand the question, and your original post was hours ago.

I wish the Labour Party elected members thought more like you do, or at least the way you suggested in your post.

But too many of them get a little bit of the good life and look after their own, listening to the spads telling them that socialism is unpopular and so don't rock the boat.

1 hour ago, Jacksgranda said:

Did we have the capability to test then? Did we have the capability to track?

In Scotland the capacity was 350 to begin with, now up ten times that, so prob not even anywhere near the capability to test enough now never mind two months ago. I wonder how Belgium for example are testing 10-20,000 daily (pop 11.5m), whereas we (pop 5.4m) are nowhere near half of that?

4 hours ago, Bairnardo said:

Re the NHS contact tracing app...

Is there anyone that objects to it?

How do folk see the uptake going?

I don't object to it, as long as its only tracking you during the pandemic and all data is deleted once its over, why not? However, I read something about the take up of the app in Singapore (launched in March) is only a fifth of their population while they've said three quarters need to use it for it to work effectively. 

Edited by s_dog

3 minutes ago, s_dog said:

In Scotland the capacity was 350 to begin with, now up ten times that, so prob not even anywhere near the capability to test enough now never mind two months ago. I wonder how Belgium for example are testing 10-20,000 daily (pop 11.5m), whereas we (pop 5.4m) are nowhere near half of that?

I don't object to it, as long as its only tracking you during the pandemic and all data is deleted once its over, why not? However, I read something about the take up of the app in Singapore (launched in March) is only a fifth of their population while they've said three quarters need to use it for it to work effectively. 

I would absolutely use it if its part of looseing restrictions. Like you though, I would like to see assurances that the whole thing is burned to the ground after we are past this. I think its use should be brought through parliament. That would give its use credibility, and could be used to put some legal restrictions on the post crisis data etc

9 minutes ago, s_dog said:

I’ll take a guess and say part of it is to do with Belgium being an autonomous country and having total control over revenue raising and expenditure.

I could be wrong but I don’t think I am.

I posted about this earlier but Indonesia has somehow not been affected that badly despite having a metric fuckton of Chinese tourists. Daily deaths have barely changed compared to 2019.

Being over 17,000 islands certainly helps reduce the spread, especially when the ferry services were stopped a while back. The Chinese tourists would mostly be concentrated on Bali and Lombok.

However, the lack of a truly functioning healthcare system is much more to do with the low numbers in Indonesia, the inability to test, to collect data and corruption are more key factors to the low numbers.

The stats for Indonesias healthcare system are frightening and can put a lot of our gripes into perspective and this is after heavy investment.

There are circa 2800 hospitals in Indonesia (17K islands), only 20 to international standard (most of these in Jakarta and Bali). They have just over 300,000 beds (population circa: 270m). 0.2 Physicians to 1000 people and 1.2 nurses and midwifes.

Hospitals in the provinces are grim places, usually open buildings with a handful of beds and a best an (singular) oxygen tank. Everything you need to provide for yourself.

Getting sick in Indonesia isn’t a good idea.

They will have huge numbers of infections and deaths that will never come to light.

Although, as said the number of islands also helps in their defence.

1 hour ago, pandarilla said:

Supporting the nhs and lifting community spirits is a world away from this right wing imperial pish.

Portraying frontline essential workers as "heroes" fighting a valiant struggle is directly linked to this right wing imperial pish especially when they're much more at risk because of your conscious ideological decisions that have made their work less safe.

Guest Bob Mahelp

The Tories say that the UK is 'past the peak'....but daily death rates are still higher then pretty much any country outside the USA.

Tory lies and propaganda, again. 

2 minutes ago, Bob Mahelp said:

The Tories say that the UK is 'past the peak'....but daily death rates are still higher then pretty much any country outside the USA.

Aye, that’s what happens when you elect extremists.

2 minutes ago, Bob Mahelp said:

You can be past the peak but still higher than other countries surely?

Happy to beat the tories with any stick really but not sure what you are getting at here?

3 minutes ago, Bob Mahelp said:

why on earth are the death rates in other countries remotely relevant as to whether or not the UK has passed its peak or not ?