Coronavirus (COVID-19)

That's what genuinely worries me. If it was guaranteed that this would only last 3 weeks I think I could accept it but every other timeframe we've been given has turned out to be utter shite so why would this be any different?
Realistically if it's to "save Christmas" then by definition it can't go beyond 24 December so not much wriggle room to extend even if the wanted to so all this talk of "months" all over SM is nonsense.

The same people who were ignoring household meetings in Tier 3 will do so in Tier 4. That's a small minority of people. If you start to lose the majority then the game's a bogey.
Despite what I see some of the roasters on Twitter and Facebook coming out with I genuinely believe that most people are sticking to the rules.

I'll keep sticking to the rules as there's really no reason not to but when cases are coming down in most areas or, at worst, plateuing yet tougher restrictions are being brought in its easy to see why folk would just think "f**k it" and do what they want.

2 minutes ago, Have some faith in Magic said:

Can anybody suggest any real area of society that tier 4 is  hitting that will have a major effect on the rates? 

I just can't see it. Hairdressers, Gyms, buying a book or getting a new pair of shoes. Sitting in a cafe for an hour.  

It just strikes me as  they feel like they must be seen to be doing something. 

Absolutely, and at a time when the numbers were starting to head in the right direction anyway, so they have a pretty good idea already that they'll be able to lift it again OK on Dec 11th. There's a Holyrood election coming so it's all being done with one eye on opinion poll numbers. If there was a serious public health crisis unfolding that really merited this level of ongoing media fuss over lockdowns, schools and workplaces would be affected much more by the regulations but that would cost them votes.

4 minutes ago, Szamo's_Ammo said:

No. Businesses and livelihoods destroyed further to be seen to save Christmas.

I'm sure those on minimum wage with 80% of their pay for the next 3 weeks + will be eternally grateful.

Still, it keeps the kids oot the hoose Monday-Friday.

You got any kids?

7 minutes ago, Billy Jean King said:
35 minutes ago, Ron Aldo said:
That's what genuinely worries me. If it was guaranteed that this would only last 3 weeks I think I could accept it but every other timeframe we've been given has turned out to be utter shite so why would this be any different?

Realistically if it's to "save Christmas" then by definition it can't go beyond 24 December so not much wriggle room to extend even if the wanted to so all this talk of "months" all over SM is nonsense.

I fully expect vast swathes of the country to be shut back in the house again in January after 'Christmas is saved'. 

You have had you nice time, now here is your P45 in January as well. 

6 minutes ago, Ron Aldo said:

Despite what I see some of the roasters on Twitter and Facebook coming out with I genuinely believe that most people are sticking to the rules.

I'll keep sticking to the rules as there's really no reason not to but when cases are coming down in most areas or, at worst, plateuing yet tougher restrictions are being brought in its easy to see why folk would just think "f**k it" and do what they want.

Most people are almost certainly sticking to the rules most of the time. I'd bet heavily that a majority have broken a few rules here or there now and again and a stubborn minority are breaking them constantly.

Folk think they're 'doing their bit' by following the rules 90% of the time. It's the other 10% that's keeping this thing hanging around.

2 minutes ago, The Moonster said:

I genuinely hope everyone who feels this is necessary to save Christmas has the worst fucking Christmas ever. Jesus is a c**t and so are you....

If my grandparents were still about (born 1900-1910 so long gone) I am sure they would already be warming up the "Ah used tae huv tae work on Christmas" patter delivered with the most greetin-faced expressions imaginable at the slightest indication that anyone was enjoying themselves. The Queen's Speech should be replaced with something along these lines this year.

42 minutes ago, D.A.F.C said:

We had months to prepare and months of lockdown yet still lag behind many countries despite having more cases and deaths. Pretty sure that you argued that the Scottish track and trace was excellent.
Not having a go but theres nothing the uk governments have done that deserves any praise in terms of handling this.

No, I argued it was better than the English version because we didn't outsource it. Though it doesn't matter how effective the app, or how many contacts you trace, you won't catch asymptomatic cases that way.

11 minutes ago, Billy Jean King said:
39 minutes ago, Ron Aldo said:

I think 11th December is probably late as they dare go. "Saving Christmas" isn't about family visits or churches. It's about retail.

Just now, Gaz said:

What are folk finding so difficult to understand about borders?

What we really need is one fucking massively squiggly line running through the country, millions of miles long, that differentiates down to street level where cases are. 

You know, keep things simple, easy to understand.

26 minutes ago, Detournement said:

I don't know. I would guess it's the difference between socialising in Sweden in the summer and the winter. I don't think they claimed there wouldn't be a second wave, the fact that the first wave ended simultaneously with the rest of Europe (also in Belarus) is evidence that restrictions aren't primarily driving the trends.

Every country is back in the shit. It's seasonal now like flu.

They said on a number of occasions there was no second wave and that their approach in the summer would mean they come up roses now. They fucked it. 

Screenshot_20201117-160308_Twitter.jpg

I genuinely hope everyone who feels this is necessary to save Christmas has the worst fucking Christmas ever. Jesus is a c**t and so are you.

Always feel the need to point out that ‘Christmas’ was an ancient pagan celebration to celebrate the turning of the season that long predated Christianity. The shortest day being a few days before.
Christians merely hijacked the party with their Jesus nonsense.

18 minutes ago, The Moonster said:

I genuinely hope everyone who feels this is necessary to save Christmas has the worst fucking Christmas ever. Jesus is a c**t and so are you.

^^^^ gets socks every year.

From Primark.

Absolutely, and at a time when the numbers were starting to head in the right direction anyway, so they have a pretty good idea already that they'll be able to lift it again OK on Dec 11th. There's a Holyrood election coming so it's all being done with one eye on opinion poll numbers. If there was a serious public health crisis unfolding that really merited this level of ongoing media fuss over lockdowns, schools and workplaces would be affected much more by the regulations but that would cost them votes.
So you think today's announcement was a vote winner [emoji848]