Free University 

Free personal care for elderly

Free bus passes for elderly

Free prescriptions

Baby box

Free dentistry for new mothers and infants

600 hours free nursery

Axing Forth Bridge tolls

Nothing's free, Granny Danger pays for it. I would add an extra £500 odd a year for Scottish full time carers, currently getting £67.25 a week from Westminster and saving both Governments a fortune.

4 minutes ago, Caledonian1 said:

I don't know why you bother engaging - he will give your response a great deal of thought then come back with some contrarian view.....any contrarian view.....as long as it is contrarian.  This pandemic has been great for Todd is God.....a daily open goal for fowk who like nothing better than a good moan.  Seriously, has there ever been a time that he has been content with life?

I'd imagine he'll be scouring the far flung fringes of the internet as we speak, finding a really neat graph with no annoying details, context or source.

13 minutes ago, welshbairn said:

No. Explain to me why it's more hazardous to administer a Covid19 vaccine than a flu vaccine at this time. There may be a technical factor I'm unaware of, but as we don't know which vaccines will be approved yet, I doubt it.

Because you're not protected until the second jab in a few weeks/months at a guess.

10 minutes ago, Caledonian1 said:

I don't know why you bother engaging - he will give your response a great deal of thought then come back with some contrarian view.....any contrarian view.....as long as it is contrarian.  This pandemic has been great for Todd is God.....a daily open goal for fowk who like nothing better than a good moan.  Seriously, has there ever been a time that he has been content with life?

Just a wee thought:

I don't agree with Todd on a lot of things but I respect the fact that he has people sniping at him every day like above and he rarely responds in kind or gets personal.

We can all learn something from that.

I'll let everyone get back to the MUST.DEFEND.SNP.AT.ALL.COSTS debate. It is fascinating.

11 minutes ago, welshbairn said:

Nothing's free, Granny Danger pays for it. I would add an extra £500 odd a year for Scottish full time carers, currently getting £67.25 a week from Westminster and saving both Governments a fortune.

Not sure why I’m getting singled out but I’d happily pay more.

1 minute ago, Manifesto said:

Because you're not protected until the second jab in a few weeks/months at a guess.

But you wouldn't be protected from Covid, or flu probably, immediately after a flu vaccine either. I honestly don't know what he's on about, apart from feeling the need to instantly rebut anything anyone says who isn't on the same wavelength.

18 minutes ago, MixuFruit said:

Not sure if serious but:

Free University 

Free personal care for elderly

Free bus passes for elderly

Free prescriptions

Baby box

Free dentistry for new mothers and infants

600 hours free nursery

Axing Forth Bridge tolls

Aye, but what other ones?

1 minute ago, Manifesto said:

It's got nothing to do with the covid vaccine being any more or less dangerous. 

The idea that because people are wearing a mask we can suddenly have people enter and leave a doctor's office through a revolving door like normal, despite having measures in place everywhere for the last 8 months either banning that, or having some sort of hygiene protocol in place to sanitise the area between occupants, is some laugh.

I've been to the doctor fairly recently myself. The idea that it is "just like last year only with masks and a bit of distancing" is nonsense.

Of course doctors' surgeries can deliver the covid vaccine, but, despite Welshy's protestations, they could only do so at a greatly reduced capacity than for the flu vaccine every other year.

Just now, Granny Danger said:

Not sure why I’m getting singled out but I’d happily pay more.

You're just the only person I know with an indoor swimming pool. Apologies, it was a shite comment about nothing being free.

The problem with the whole 'are the SNP doing brilliant/shite' debate is generally that it very quickly becomes an Old Firm style 'with us or against us'. So D.A.F.C will come on and list about 40 things he's heard other folk say that the SNP have done terribly!. Someone disagrees and suddenly we're all "defending the SNP at all costs".

Of course the other side of that is that there is a bunch of folk who think they're doing a great job because deaths are lower than rUK and that's that.

On balance, I think their performance over 2020 has been between the two.

Edited by Gordon EF

It's got nothing to do with the covid vaccine being any more or less dangerous. 
The idea that because people are wearing a mask we can suddenly have people enter and leave a doctor's office through a revolving door like normal, despite having measures in place everywhere for the last 8 months either banning that, or having some sort of hygiene protocol in place to sanitise the area between occupants, is some laugh.
I've been to the doctor fairly recently myself. The idea that it is "just like last year only with masks and a bit of distancing" is nonsense.
Of course doctors' surgeries can deliver the covid vaccine, but, despite Welshy's protestations, they could only do so at a greatly reduced capacity than for the flu vaccine every other year.
My old dear got her flu jag in Milngavie Town Hall a while back.

Big room, several chairs spaced out.

In and out in a couple of minutes.

1 minute ago, Gordon EF said:

The problem with the whole 'are the SNP doing brilliant/shite' debate is generally that it very quickly becomes an Old Firm style 'with us or against us'. So D.A.F.C will come on and list about 40 things he's heard other folk say that the SNP have done terribly!. Someone disagrees and suddenly we're all "defending the SNP at all costs".

Of course the other side of that is that there is a bunch of folk who think they're doing a great job because deaths are lower than rUK and that's that?

On balance, I think their performance over 2020 has been between the two.

When you ask folk what they SG could have done better you get a combination of clever-in-hindsight, vague generalities and things outwith their competence responses.

Personally I think it was a mistake allowing universities and colleges to return but the Scottish and U.K. governments would have got pellets had they not done that.

4 minutes ago, Todd_is_God said:

You could just say sorry, you misunderstood. Even though I repeatedly explained I was talking about current practices for flu vaccines. You're hard work.

Okay.....free university tuition fees is not a 're distributive' policy....it is geared towards benefiting the middle class...Of those starting full-time degrees in 2016/17 13.8 per cent were from the 20 per cent most deprived areas in Scotland. In other words tuition fees still means 87% of students are from middle class backgrounds.

https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/news/scottish-news/fewer-scottish-students-poor-backgrounds-12621853

Free Personal Care was introduced by the previous Labour administration, not the SNP

Baby Box-https://www.theguardian.com/society/2018/may/03/finland-disputes-scotlands-baby-box-claims-after-expert-warning    Not re distributive either, and not comparable in delivery to the Finnish model it was supposedly based upon.

Free Prescription Charges-Not limited to the SNP-it is also Labour policy.

Definition:

Redistribution of income and wealth is the transfer of income and wealth (including physical property) from some individuals to others by means of a social mechanism such as taxation, charity, welfare, public services, land reform, monetary policies, confiscation,

The SNP has overseen 1 re destributive policy.........which is spending the proceeds of Crime fund. Other than that they have only tinkered with land reform, but not delivered it. With regard to taxation and monetary policy they refused to raise the top rate of tax on higher earners, which is a right wing move.

'When Sturgeon was asked at her manifesto launch to name a redistributive policy enacted by the SNP in Holyrood, she was unable to cite a single example. There has been plenty of middle class welfarism, but no effective measures to reduce inequality or poverty.'  https://www.newstatesman.com/politics/2015/04/if-you-think-snp-are-left-wing-force-think-again

They have also pledged to slash corporation tax (another right wing policy)

I don't disagree with the above named policies....is i better to have free prescriptions, personal care etc....yes, but they govern from the centre largely in the interests of the middle-class. It is far from being a 'socialist' government

Edited by Jedi

The NHS in Scotland is of course fully devolved though, so all decisions taken with regard to COVID have been made without Westminster 'interference' (in that area). Also there are 195 countries in the world, some have done better than others on COVID, but to suggest that Scotland has been a shining beacon in the way it has handled it, you would need data from all the others to truly make that point.