Coronavirus (COVID-19)

Just now, Steven W said:

There's a reason why schools are open quicker than, say, offices.

Of course there is. But that reason flies in the face of reducing cases and lifting restrictions as quickly as possible, because that reason runs counter to public health guidance. 

The onus is therefore on the SG to either complete ditch its case rate obsession or to close down the infection factories that will stop reopening from progressing as it should for literally every other sector. It cannot have its cake and eat it. 

15 minutes ago, Billy Jean King said:
20 minutes ago, virginton said:
Was it? Would opening barbers and gyms cause an uptick in cases? Not a 'reduced fall': an actual uptick? 
More laughable shite from yourself.

Cases will rise when society reopens. It's hardly rocket science. Barbers and Gyms in isolation is a stupid comparison as they will be part of a far wider reopening.

Cases remained fairly low all summer last year whilst society reopened.

Then schools opened and within a month and a half restrictions were put in place that have now been in place in my LA for almost 6 months.

Until the SG stop putting cases at the top of the Covid metric list, schools should be subject to the same restrictions as every other indoor space, without exception.

8 minutes ago, Billy Jean King said:

No idea what your mewling about now. Are you saying reopening society WON'T lead to a rise in cases ?

Cases are going to rise as restrictions ease. Everyone needs to get this into their head, it's bound to happen but it shouldn't matter a jot once the vulnerable are vaccinated. Not really sure what you are taking issue with here. It's just so happens schools are first but it's going to happen no matter what order we reopen in.

If we had a continued lockdown with no schools open but with barbers open, would cases a) continue to decline or b) rise as a result of this 'society reopening' measure? 

Unless you're a complete and utter moron who selected b), the order of reopening evidently does matter then. So long as the sectors being re-opened do not increase the R rate above 1, overall cases do not rise as a result. If sectors opened up increase the rate above 1 then cases rise.

As schools are a far more significant cause of infection than barbers, it is absolutely certain than one reopening during a lockdown would be a cause of overall case rises and the other would not. 

Edited by vikingTON

14 minutes ago, super_carson said:

I did see some headlines that suggest their lead in the polls may well be slipping.  Hard to say if that is as a result of the Salmond saga or if there is growing frustration with lockdown; I think (given what I've seen more through social media and in comment sections) that it is a mix of both.  

Fair enough, but then you look at the alternatives.

18 minutes ago, Steven W said:

There's a reason why schools are open quicker than, say, offices.

Absolutely. But that reason isn't that offices will result in the same increase in cases as schools will.

6 minutes ago, madwullie said:

My kids are 8 and 5 and they've had a really fucked up year. As have all their mates. 

I moved the kids to a new school In August 19 🙈

My sons P7 so no residential trip or end year party. Limited transition. He should be ok as he’s kept in touch with his core group and hub helped.

My youngest is P4 and although Feb I didn’t defer as it wasn’t going benefit her at that stage. She’s struggled both times with home learning, head moved her to 4 days at hub for final three weeks as we were both on verge.

My P5 had been ok, she loves to learn, like brother been two days at hub. Meant she got to know one the other P5 girls better as only two of them.

Just been rubbish for them, all their activities stopped too. Not seeing friends who they have out with school. 

11 minutes ago, Todd_is_God said:

Aye, it's been an absolute laugh for the adults right enough.

My entire family, from 5 year old to 79 year old has been pretty fucked by it all, my dad I think irretrievably. So you're going to have to point out where I said that it was laugh for adults. 

18 minutes ago, virginton said:

Of course there is. But that reason flies in the face of reducing cases and lifting restrictions as quickly as possible, because that reason runs counter to public health guidance. 

The onus is therefore on the SG to either complete ditch its case rate obsession or to close down the infection factories that will stop reopening from progressing as it should for literally every other sector. It cannot have its cake and eat it. 

Posted similar earlier today. As it stands at the minute NS/JL are viewing cases just as important as hospitalisations and deaths. 

They're either going to have to change their stance on that, or eventually plunge us all into lockdown #4

6 minutes ago, RH33 said:

I moved the kids to a new school In August 19 🙈

My sons P7 so no residential trip or end year party. Limited transition. He should be ok as he’s kept in touch with his core group and hub helped.

My youngest is P4 and although Feb I didn’t defer as it wasn’t going benefit her at that stage. She’s struggled both times with home learning, head moved her to 4 days at hub for final three weeks as we were both on verge.

My P5 had been ok, she loves to learn, like brother been two days at hub. Meant she got to know one the other P5 girls better as only two of them.

Just been rubbish for them, all their activities stopped too. Not seeing friends who they have out with school. 

Yeah it been shit for them. Worst thing is they're so innocent and naive. We can rationalise shit, and will be able in some ways to come to terms with stuff, or get our heads down and get on with it understanding its a process and there is an end point. They've had their lives as they know them ripped to shreds and its not even really possible to make them understand why, especially the young ones. My 5 year old has never experienced normal school, and I'm not even sure he remembers what normal life is like. 

Kids are really resilient though, unbelievably so at times, so just have to hope they come out the other side with not too many scars. 

Edited by madwullie

4 minutes ago, madwullie said:

My entire family, from 5 year old to 79 year old has been pretty fucked by it all, my dad I think irretrievably. So you're going to have to point out where I said that it was laugh for adults. 

Your post exclusively mentioned how fucked up it's been for your kids and their pals as if this was somehow more important than how fucked up it's been for anyone else.

Neither your kids, nor there pals, have lost careers, homes or businesses, so the impact on them can go to the bottom of the list of things from the last year that have been "fucked up" as far as i'm concerned.

Just now, Gaz said:

I dare say the point is that for the majority of kids it's not been as grim as it is for adults, given that most of the restrictions that apply to us don't apply to them.

Yes, there is an argument that they've missed a year of school, but we can see how damaging that is because we're adults who can see the bigger picture. For most of the kids I know it's been a fucking great year of sitting at home playing Fortnite all day and socialising with their mates at all times.

Things affect kids in different ways to adults. It's all well and good for us to say Aye but they've got their fortnite and they can go out and kick a ball about, all that's missing is soft plays. That's really looking at it from an adult's perspective though, and not really considering the stuff that affects them, how short their lives have been, how equipped they are to deal with such massive change. 

Not sure why it has to be a competition which area of society have had it tougher, but sometimes it seems that way. 

Just now, Todd_is_God said:

Your post exclusively mentioned how fucked up it's been for your kids and their pals as if this was somehow more important than how fucked up it's been for anyone else.

Neither your kids, nor there pals, have lost careers, homes or businesses, so the impact on them can go to the bottom of the list of things from the last year that have been "fucked up" as far as i'm concerned.

No mate. Its you that's jumped on it and read that into it. 

Someone posted its been a tough year for kids. Someone else said it hasn't really. I said it had been tough for mine. Anything else you've taken from that has not come from my post. 

If we had a continued lockdown with no schools open but with barbers open, would cases a) continue to decline or b) rise as a result of this 'society reopening' measure? 
Unless you're a complete and utter moron who selected b), the order of reopening evidently does matter then. So long as the sectors being re-opened do not increase the R rate above 1, overall cases do not rise as a result. If sectors opened up increase the rate above 1 then cases rise.
As schools are a far more significant cause of infection than barbers, it is absolutely certain than one reopening during a lockdown would be a cause of overall case rises and the other would not. 
What the f**k are you wittering on about. I wasn't comparing schools with barbers, you are basically arguing with yourself here. Usual moon howling nonsense.

It's really quite a silly argument, who has had it worse. The key thing is we have mechanism to remove all of the things out in place to mitigate the virus, that damage lives as a consequence.

If Scotgov choose not to use that and keep these damaging measures longer than needed that's on them and should be the focus of everyones ire, not squabbling about whether kids or adults deserve normality more.

3 minutes ago, Bairnardo said:

It's really quite a silly argument, who has had it worse. The key thing is we have mechanism to remove all of the things out in place to mitigate the virus, that damage lives as a consequence.

If Scotgov choose not to use that and keep these damaging measures longer than needed that's on them and should be the focus of everyones ire, not squabbling about whether kids or adults deserve normality more.

Will Ferrell Agree GIF

38 minutes ago, Tynierose said:

If they continue to restrict peoples lives whilst no issues in hospitals etc they will rightly get their arses kicked at the ballot box.  People have had enough now.

Look i know its hardly scientific data etc but I come from a family who voted SNP all our days, lots of folks I talk to from the football or friends etc are all absolutely scunnered with the handling of this pandemic, lots of folks moving from a sure fire stick on SNP vote to either not planning on voting, voting for other parties or spoiling a ballot. My local candidate for the SNP is a really effective local councillor who I have a lot of time for, the only thing even remotely keeping me from spoiling my ballot is that she might be a decent msp, weighing up the candidate vs the party. As it stands just now im torn between holding my nose and voting for her as a constituency candidate and choosing the MRLP on the list vote or spoiling the ballot. If things do get worse with the SNP handling of it all i’ll definitely not be able to vote but its on a knife edge for me. I know thats all a bit tldr but in short i think they have the potential to be hit quite hard at the ballot box. 

10 minutes ago, Bairnardo said:

Yeah, this. I've been really lucky through this so won't pretend to know how bad its been for others, and apologise if I'm being selfish/insensitive, but it really feels like we're now at a stage where lives need to be risked again.

I'm not really sure anymore who the restrictions are actually protecting? The "vulnerable", as far as my limited knowledge goes, are all either dead, had their first vaccine, or well aware on how to increase the chances of avoiding the virus at this stage.

What the f**k are you wittering on about. I wasn't comparing schools with barbers, you are basically arguing with yourself here. Usual moon howling nonsense.
He's finally painted himself into his own spiteful, bitter wee corner, still concentrating on case numbers when everybody and his dog agree that actually, it's the hospital and ICU numbers that actually matter. Not to worry, I'm sure he'll find a new target for his ire - any bets? My money's on those old fuckers going on their SAGA cruises while he's stuck in his mum's basement.*

Yours, post-Covid and one jag in, WRK.

*Like he ever comes out anyway.