Foraging

Aye, I think the seasons are changing by 2 or 3 weeks, getting earlier imo. Certainly spring/summer/autumn with just a crap wet winter.
The way we've always been taught about fly agaric is it needs a filter and the best way is to use someone as that filter. Basically someone eats them, gets a bit sick, they then need to keep their first pish and the next person gets high from drinking the pish. Now I like my psychedelics but f**k that, I'll stick to brewing liberty. 

I have also heard this, apparently monks used to do it? I’ll pass [emoji38]

Went back to that apple tree I found and then found two more apple trees. Wee ones are eaters, rest are for cider, if my partner in crime can keep his hands to himself!

IMG_20200830_152802.thumb.jpg.e65f67dde52f2f93b3228cf67b2aeefc.jpg
I will bottle swap you a home brew of your choice for a home made cider?

September is nearly here lads, liberty caps in abundance.  Has anyone tried the fly agaric way to get a hit? It's not for me. I actually hate mushrooms but use the liberty for medicinal purposes either dry or boiled then strained  and use the water in all manner of things.
Perthshire is natures larder and the burd is in her element out foraging when walking her parents dogs. I myself stick to the basics, mushrooms and nuts. There are a couple of walnut trees I know of which gives us hundreds of nuts every year much prefer them to the crappy chestnut shite most folk know about.
Cracking walnut tree overhanging a wall in the lane at the side of Smith's in Ayr. Also a ripper of a pear tree with red pears in the car park next to the Vets in Dalblair Road in Ayr

IMG_2285.jpg

After much deliberation I eventually decided that these were indeed true puffball species so I ate a bit I fried in oil, covered with egg, flour and breadcrumbs. It’s been two hours now and I’m not ill so I’m assuming/hoping I identified correctly. I didn’t eat anymore than one piece though because they were disappointingly tasteless.

Not a bad wee ramble round the golf course and railway in Prestwick this morning with the fruits of my labour ready for jam and crumble making this afternoon. Canny say the prospect of the peeling is appealing but with the football on the radio and a glass or two of wine, not a bad way to spend a Sunday afternoon. 20200913_110642.jpeg20200913_110604.jpeg

Not a bad wee ramble round the golf course and railway in Prestwick this morning with the fruits of my labour ready for jam and crumble making this afternoon. Canny say the prospect of the peeling is appealing but with the football on the radio and a glass or two of wine, not a bad way to spend a Sunday afternoon. 20200913_110642.thumb.jpeg.33cf943ade8c322dafe59e396ebe93f7.jpeg20200913_110604.thumb.jpeg.f97a3f60f04a35394f7e70dbf483caab.jpeg
The proceeds, well deserved beer in the glorious Ayrshire autumn sunshine now20200913_134224.jpeg

Found these on the wee patch of grass outside the front garden. All growing within a few metres of each other. No idea of the varieties.

77093073-17E3-4D6D-9CFD-1E7A5E824361.jpeg.138691d08339b399148e3b705aad21a6.jpeg
CCCC078E-E022-4502-AA76-12C596FC819A.jpeg.71a44b1e078eb61ef01487f11265316b.jpeg
B51A90E7-F119-46C3-A332-93831B7BD10E.jpeg.4976428d82e0385769a82de0622f72c0.jpeg
I personally think it would be fitting and frankly justified if you were made to batter, deep fry and eat every single one of them

9 minutes ago, MixuFruit said:

First one is an earthballI think. If you cut it in half it will be almost black inside. Not edible sadly.

Not sure on the other two.

6 minutes ago, Bairnardo said:
3 hours ago, Melanius Mullarkey said:

I personally think it would be fitting and frankly justified if you were made to batter, deep fry and eat every single one of them

Bairn booted the first one so we cut it open. Totally white inside and very dense/spongy.

Orange one was like this underneath.

0C5DE04C-61FC-4025-9426-EB3DE74CAB52.jpeg.6e440571000414e5877bedd381d7a336.jpeg

would happily deep fry them but they’re probably covered in fox pish.

Edited by Melanius Mullarkey

4 minutes ago, Melanius Mullarkey said:

Bairn booted the first one so we cut it open. Totally white inside and very dense/spongy.

Orange one was like this underneath.

0C5DE04C-61FC-4025-9426-EB3DE74CAB52.jpeg.6e440571000414e5877bedd381d7a336.jpeg

would happily deep fry them but they’re probably covered in fox pish.

I am comfortable with fox pish being involved in my scenario tbh.