Sarah Everard

10 minutes ago, Bert Raccoon said:

If you're needing attention then why not just make up one of your stories like you usually do rather than just acting like a dick

I’m not acting like a dick - if you don’t want arrested then don’t flout lockdown rules during a global pandemic and don’t scuffle with the polis. This entire situation was completely avoidable.

43 minutes ago, doulikefish said:

Throbber should chuck in a few #alllivesmatter references and his "look at me" is complete

9 minutes ago, Bert Raccoon said:

If you're needing attention then why not just make up one of your stories like you usually do rather than just acting like a dick

Never understood the need for some people to make any topic all about them, regardless of the fact it isn't. I believe it reflects a desperate need in their lives. Which sums throbber up perfectly.

Entirely cack handed approach from the police and their paymasters last night and again with their statement. A massive own goal where instead of a delicate, compassionate, measured approach, they've destroyed public trust in them further, especially with the very group of people who they most needed to build bridges with. Staggeringly poor approach which should open people's eyes to the police as an institution.

15 minutes ago, Scary Bear said:

It is a bit tiring at times but some folk live for it. They’ll be on to the next one before you know it. It was Meghan last week. This week it’s the death of a woman at the hands of a policeman. Soon it’ll be something else.

I suppose we always need some new serious topics in General Nonsense to get outraged about. It can’t all be Chess matches and ICTChris stories about some bloke getting caught wanking on a Zoom meeting.

It's wild that people care about things.

2 minutes ago, Sweet Pete said:

Never understood the need for some people to make any topic all about them, regardless of the fact it isn't. I believe it reflects a desperate need in their lives. Which sums throbber up perfectly.

Entirely cack handed approach from the police and their paymasters last night and again with their statement. A massive own goal where instead of a delicate, compassionate, measured approach, they've destroyed public trust in them further, especially with the very group of people who they most needed to build bridges with. Staggeringly poor approach which should open people's eyes to the police as an institution.

Except I haven’t made any reference to myself and have talked 100% about the events of last night only for people to make personal digs at me to discredit my point of view.

When you're ready to discuss things like an adult, you can join in adult discussion on serious topics. Until then, find something constructive to fill the gap in your life and save making an arse of yourself and derailing topics you aren't mature enough to participate in meaningfully.

6 minutes ago, Sweet Pete said:

When you're ready to discuss things like an adult, you can join in adult discussion on serious topics. Until then, find something constructive to fill the gap in your life and save making an arse of yourself and derailing topics you aren't mature enough to participate in meaningfully.

Aye because your claim that people only join the police to get a feeling of power because you know a few police officers is properly grown up debate? I’m sorry that the fact people get arrested for breaking the law upsets you so much.

1 hour ago, throbber said:

I don’t know why you are bringing the far right into this, all I’m seeing on twitter today is pictures of Fanta head being arrested with captions like “what has this country come to?” The police are specifically supposed to break up mass gatherings at this particularly time and you can quite clearly see scuffles with the police taking place and when you scuffle with the police you get lifted - it’s almost as if the police have resorted to arresting people for breaking the law. 

if it makes you feel any better ginger nuts will be out of police custody by now and will be posting her story on tik tok in a few hours. 

35 minutes ago, throbber said:

Except I haven’t made any reference to myself and have talked 100% about the events of last night only for people to make personal digs at me to discredit my point of view.

Such a wee shame for you. Excuse me while my heart pumps purple pish for you.

Edited by djchapsticks

1 hour ago, throbber said:

I don’t know why you are bringing the far right into this, all I’m seeing on twitter today is pictures of Fanta head being arrested with captions like “what has this country come to?” The police are specifically supposed to break up mass gatherings at this particularly time and you can quite clearly see scuffles with the police taking place and when you scuffle with the police you get lifted - it’s almost as if the police have resorted to arresting people for breaking the law. 

if it makes you feel any better ginger nuts will be out of police custody by now and will be posting her story on tik tok in a few hours. 

Tango tits. You missed out Tango tits.

1 hour ago, ICTJohnboy said:

I think he was off duty when that happened, although tbf, it's never been made clear.

What difference does it make if he was on/off duty?

1 hour ago, Scary Bear said:

It is a bit tiring at times but some folk live for it. They’ll be on to the next one before you know it. It was Meghan last week. This week it’s the death of a woman at the hands of a policeman. Soon it’ll be something else.

I suppose we always need some new serious topics in General Nonsense to get outraged about. It can’t all be Chess matches and ICTChris stories about some bloke getting caught wanking on a Zoom meeting.

Does that not just allude to the fact that there are numerous things that we as a society (should) care about, highlight and subsequently work on tackling? 

I really don’t understand why you think that bad things happening being highlighted and rightly criticised is a bad thing.

17 minutes ago, Honest_Man#1 said:

What difference does it make if he was on/off duty?

Does that not just allude to the fact that there are numerous things that we as a society (should) care about, highlight and subsequently work on tackling? 

I really don’t understand why you think that bad things happening being highlighted and rightly criticised is a bad thing.

I mentioned with my very first post on page 1 of this thread, that police were anxious to stress that Wayne Couzins was off duty when he became involved with Sarah Everard. I don't see how it could in any way be relevant, but the police almost seemed to be suggesting that because he was off duty at the time, it was somehow a mitigating factor and he wasn't really acting as a police officer at the time. 

This tweets been deleted but it was in response to the viral clip of the guy with a man bun talking on BBC News - an ex girlfriend posting that he was emotionally and sexually abusive during their relationship.

I’m genuinely shocked, nee amazed, that the male feminist with a TV slot and a book coming out has turned out to be an abusive arsehole!

Edited by ICTChris

50 minutes ago, ICTJohnboy said:

I mentioned with my very first post on page 1 of this thread, that police were anxious to stress that Wayne Couzins was off duty when he became involved with Sarah Everard. I don't see how it could in any way be relevant, but the police almost seemed to be suggesting that because he was off duty at the time, it was somehow a mitigating factor and he wasn't really acting as a police officer at the time. 

Ah right, in that case I agree with you, it doesn’t make a difference if he was on/off duty. Some of the earlier reports suggested he had used his police credentials/vehicle as part of it, but unsure if that’s been proven to be the case or not.