Ola Posted April 27, 2022 Posted April 27, 2022 (edited) Hi! I’m from Sweden and we will travel to Edinburgh for my dad’s 60th birthday in the fall. We will try to catch a few football games. What teams/stadiums would you recommend in Edinburgh and around? We are looking for both larger scale and smaller scale atmosphere in and around the stadium. So both bigger and smaller teams in the league are on the radar. Edited April 27, 2022 by Ola 0 Quote
19QOS19 Posted April 27, 2022 Posted April 27, 2022 Hi! I’m from Sweden and we will travel to Edinburgh for my dad’s 60th birthday in the fall. We will try to catch a few football games. What teams/stadiums would you recommend in Edinburgh and around? We are looking for both larger scale and smaller scale atmosphere in and around the stadium. So both bigger and smaller teams in the league are on the radar.Tyncastle is a stunning stadium (Hearts). See if you can visit there. Murrayfield is probably the nicest stadium in Scotland, though rugby. Not sure if they do tours. 1 Quote
Rob1885 Posted April 27, 2022 Posted April 27, 2022 Go to East End Park and get a Stephens Steak Bridie. 4 Quote
Andy_K_97 Posted April 27, 2022 Posted April 27, 2022 Agree with Tynecastle, it's a great stadium where you feel like you're on top of the park watching the game. Easter Road is good too, but I prefer Tynecastle. If you're going further afield and want to do a day in Glasgow, I'd recommend a visit to Hampden Park. 0 Quote
101 Posted April 27, 2022 Posted April 27, 2022 2 hours ago, Ola said: Hi! I’m from Sweden and we will travel to Edinburgh for my dad’s 60th birthday in the fall. We will try to catch a few football games. What teams/stadiums would you recommend in Edinburgh and around? We are looking for both larger scale and smaller scale atmosphere in and around the stadium. So both bigger and smaller teams in the league are on the radar. East End Park. North West stand. Steak Bridie. Perfektion 0 Quote
oneteaminglasgow Posted April 27, 2022 Posted April 27, 2022 Avoid any games taking place at Ainslie Park in Edinburgh, it’s an absolutely shite venue with nothing near it. Quite a few of the smaller Edinburgh sides play there, but just avoid it. 0 Quote
Ola Posted April 27, 2022 Author Posted April 27, 2022 Excellent, thanks! Both the gos and no-gos are useful 0 Quote
19QOS19 Posted April 27, 2022 Posted April 27, 2022 Excellent, thanks! Both the gos and no-gos are useful [emoji4]https://scottishfootballfixtures.wordpress.com/Really good website there of the fixtures on that day. Obviously refresh the link nearer the time. Get yourself to some right low league grounds. The football is usually cracking value for money. 0 Quote
foreverarover Posted April 27, 2022 Posted April 27, 2022 Hi! I’m from Sweden and we will travel to Edinburgh for my dad’s 60th birthday in the fall. We will try to catch a few football games. What teams/stadiums would you recommend in Edinburgh and around? We are looking for both larger scale and smaller scale atmosphere in and around the stadium. So both bigger and smaller teams in the league are on the radar.Its nothing like other countries, no such things as fanzones beside the ground as the government think we can't be trusted. Sorry they can't trust the west side of Scotland. Unless you find a pub near the ground there is, nothing else. That and Scottish footballs insistance on playing all levels of football at or around 3pm on a Saturday. Again in Europe you can watch different league in differing days. You'd have to watch for ant games moved to either a Sunday in the top league, which you'd probably never get a ticket for or the lower league Friday night TV match. 0 Quote
Scary Bear Posted April 27, 2022 Posted April 27, 2022 Come to Stark's Park, Kirkcaldy. It’s the business. 4 Quote
Cardle is Magic Posted April 28, 2022 Posted April 28, 2022 North West Stand at East End Park in Dunfermline has been very entertaining lately. If you give us some advance notice then we'll even let you throw the smoke bomb. 0 Quote
farflung lichtie Posted April 29, 2022 Posted April 29, 2022 Almost any of the old grounds which have not been demolished or extensively converted into quasi industrial complexes and preferably where you are not forcibly confined to the same site for the duration of the entertainment. Still plenty around but get along before they vanish eg Morton, Ayr, Stranraer, QoS, Albion R, Alloa, Cowdenbeath, Arbroath, Forfar, Montrose, Brechin, Raith, Elgin, etc. Add in decent views/surroundings eg Gayfield, Recs, 0 Quote
Ola Posted May 3, 2022 Author Posted May 3, 2022 What about games in towns near Edinburgh, f ex Dunfermline, Falkirk? 0 Quote
Lichtie78 Posted May 3, 2022 Posted May 3, 2022 Its nothing like other countries, no such things as fanzones beside the ground as the government think we can't be trusted. Sorry they can't trust the west side of Scotland. Unless you find a pub near the ground there is, nothing else. That and Scottish footballs insistance on playing all levels of football at or around 3pm on a Saturday. Again in Europe you can watch different league in differing days. You'd have to watch for ant games moved to either a Sunday in the top league, which you'd probably never get a ticket for or the lower league Friday night TV match. Can’t be the only one thinking these are positives rather than negatives? 4 Quote
Ranaldo Bairn Posted May 3, 2022 Posted May 3, 2022 37 minutes ago, Ola said: What about games in towns near Edinburgh, f ex Dunfermline, Falkirk? Both ourselves and Dunfermline have been disgustingly bad this season so it would not have been entertaining, let's put it that way. If the Pars screw up the playoffs and get relegated then the games next season might be quite something if we are battling for the title! We've got Kelpies and a Big Wheel, they've got the tomb of King Robert the Bruce if you want to do some visiting though. 0 Quote
AYRSHIRE_ANGUS Posted May 3, 2022 Posted May 3, 2022 Although Berwick Rangers is no longer in the league it's a nice wee train journey from Edinburgh and a decent town. 2 Quote
Tattie36 Posted May 3, 2022 Posted May 3, 2022 55 minutes ago, Lichtie78 said: Can’t be the only one thinking these are positives rather than negatives? Agree. Don’t understand this idea that not being able to drink in a ground is a big deal. Given the option of going to a local pub pre/post match and getting a decent pint and big choice of drinks or paying a premium for a watered down pint of ??? Most likely in a plastic tumbler at the ground - there’s only one winner. Maybe we’re spoiled in Arbroath as I can think of at least a dozen decent pubs within a 10-15 walk of Gayfield. The only reason I would drink in the ground would be to give £ to the club but give me a proper pub or club social-club any day. Also, if you can’t go around 2 hours without a drink then you may have a problem. 0 Quote
Heid_The_Baw Posted May 3, 2022 Posted May 3, 2022 On 27/04/2022 at 11:34, Rob1885 said: Go to East End Park and get a Stephens Steak Bridie. Just go to Dunfermline High Street and get a Stephen's Steak bridie. The only time that lot win at East End is against my lot..... 1 Quote