There was a coo

Just now, Cowden Cowboy said:

Meritocracy 

Been  watching this unfold. An absolute classic case of conspiracy/ cock up theory.  Seems that someone has misread the rules about " immediately preceding " and not realised this is next season's competition.  That rule now clearly relates to Albion Rovers, as related to Cowdenbeath for last season's competition. Maybe Cowdenbeath might have had a grasp of that, only they will know. Anyway they are in now.

Fact is there is no rule, just precedent,  which is 100% clear, HL/LL second place by rotation.  The B teams angle is spurious nonsense. 

That said very worrying no one realised the mistake,  rather indicative of lack of understanding/ care about life outwith the SPFL. The resolution at this stage can only be financial,  with all the draw etc made public.Hope the right thing is done by University of Stirling. 

1 hour ago, ekok said:

Been  watching this unfold. An absolute classic case of conspiracy/ cock up theory.  Seems that someone has misread the rules about " immediately preceding " and not realised this is next season's competition.  That rule now clearly relates to Albion Rovers, as related to Cowdenbeath for last season's competition. Maybe Cowdenbeath might have had a grasp of that, only they will know. Anyway they are in now.

Fact is there is no rule, just precedent,  which is 100% clear, HL/LL second place by rotation.  The B teams angle is spurious nonsense. 

That said very worrying no one realised the mistake,  rather indicative of lack of understanding/ care about life outwith the SPFL. The resolution at this stage can only be financial,  with all the draw etc made public.Hope the right thing is done by University of Stirling. 

giphy.gif

Another very promising signing announced this evening. The squad seems to be shaping up very nicely. It’s so good to have a fresh new manager and a decent looking group of players before the season is underway. Only time will tell but I see Cowden having a much better and more competitive team on the park this term. 

13 hours ago, NELLY 1 said:

Just to be absolutely clear signings we will make and lads coming in signed over next couple weeks were agreed before we even knew about viaplay cup.

Signing tonight and more to come however more registration and players finishing their contracts holding up announcing 

Don't justify yourself man. Anybody with an ounce of a brain cell will know the the 'blood' money won't be available now. (Soz that thought just popped into my head and couldn't resist using it.)😈😈

Extra wee thought; with all this oodles of money you now have can you no reverse your yes for b teams a la Dundee? 😉😉

1 hour ago, 1GregStewart said:

Heard last night that Cowden are now honorary members of the league cup. Place for life awarded for ‘being a real club’ and a golden handshake thank you as ‘strong allies of the Strathclyde football association’. 

Is the correct term not 'proper club'. 

14 hours ago, Deanburn Dave said:

With the bulging coo wallet we anticipate an absolute jaw dropping announcement.......

The 'coo pound' to be accurate. 😂😂😂

On 08/06/2023 at 19:46, PELE said:

Yeah, but it was just a shame we ended up in the group with teams with close to the worst support in each level. Could have been better, but then we are in that category as well, so an appropriate group you could say.

As it was was being drawn, you just knew where ball 40 would end up. The bonus is that we might be able to compete more in this group and not get well beaten. I am sure in years gone by we would be fancying our chances of getting out this group.

What are you wanting; "to have your cake and eat it too".

You greedy bar-steward. 😁

I know the Viaplay Cup methodology in picking the coo.

They came on p&b went through the HL & LL threads to find which club if invited would cause a complete feckin nuclear fallout. Obviously they are avid p&b followers and fancied a few nights sitting with the popcorn out before the friendlies start back up. Simples.

3 hours ago, HorseyGhirl said:

Don't justify yourself man. Anybody with an ounce of a brain cell will know the the 'blood' money won't be available now. (Soz that thought just popped into my head and couldn't resist using it.)😈😈

Extra wee thought; with all this oodles of money you now have can you no reverse your yes for b teams a la Dundee? 😉😉

I have checked and apparently the vote has yet again gone to the SFA Spam box and hasn’t yet been checked.

4 hours ago, HorseyGhirl said:

I know the Viaplay Cup methodology in picking the coo.

They came on p&b went through the HL & LL threads to find which club if invited would cause a complete feckin nuclear fallout. Obviously they are avid p&b followers and fancied a few nights sitting with the popcorn out before the friendlies start back up. Simples.

Aye,you are.

Is it true that the rules for entry to next season’s league cup are awaiting the outcome of the upcoming LL campaign to see if Cowden qualify on merit or if the invite is extended to the team finishes in nth spot in 23/24

21 minutes ago, wulliemc said:

Is it true that the rules for entry to next season’s league cup are awaiting the outcome of the upcoming LL campaign to see if Cowden qualify on merit or if the invite is extended to the team finishes in nth spot in 23/24

I’m hearing it will go to any Club that has the letters ABCDE in its name 

7 hours ago, 1GregStewart said:

Heard last night that Cowden are now honorary members of the league cup. Place for life awarded for ‘being a real club’ and a golden handshake thank you as ‘strong allies of the Strathclyde football association’. 

Seems reasonable, should announce that Cowden have a permanent place in the league cup, as long as we are outside the SPFL. 😉

1 hour ago, Cowdenleith said:

Seems reasonable, should announce that Cowden have a permanent place in the league cup, as long as we are outside the SPFL. 😉

It was clearly a mistake to let us get relegated. Just like B teams cant go up, big old proper teams shouldn't go down. Would have avoided this cup controversy in the first place.

Mon the Cowd£n.