ScotsFootieFan Posted August 13, 2022 Author Posted August 13, 2022 Anyone have the rough attendances figures for last weekend please ? Glasgow City v Spartans (213) Dundee Utd v Motherwell (174) Rangers v Glasgow Women (720) Hearts v Partick Thistle (???) Hamilton v Aberdeen (???) Celtic v Hibernian (???) 0 Quote
Craig fae the Vale Posted August 14, 2022 Posted August 14, 2022 Glasgow Women 0-4 Dundee United Women. A comfortable win for the visitors on another scorching day. Glasgow just never found their way back into the game after a goalkeeping howler gave United a first half lead. 0 Quote
The_Kincardine Posted August 14, 2022 Posted August 14, 2022 Aberdeen 0-8 Rangers. A Lizzie Arnot masterclass with four goals (two pens) and two assists. The girls seem to have had a good preseason and didn't have to get out of second gear. I understand that A'deen have given professional contracts to five of their players but the difference, physically, between a full-time team and amateurs/part-timers is immense. I can see why the league was expanded but the gulf in quality from top to bottom is much massive. That being said, Glasgow City needed a 90+7 winner from Jenna Clark - whom I wish we had signed - to beat Motherwell and Celtic 'only' won 2-0 vs Partick Thistle. 0 Quote
Craig fae the Vale Posted August 14, 2022 Posted August 14, 2022 Today's results. Another big win for Rangers, City leave it very late to grab all three points and promoted Dundee United remain unbeaten. Remember there's a full highlights show tomorrow night at 7pm on BBC Scotland. 1 Quote
Marten Posted August 15, 2022 Posted August 15, 2022 I attended the Hibs v Hamilton game at Meadowbank. I didn't do a headcount, but the stand was mostly full. Not much leg room for this tall Dutchman in the stand so I just ended up standing on the side. Excellent display from Hibs who were clearly keen to bounce back from that opening day defeat against Celtic. Player of the match was their new American signing Crystal Thomas who scored a hattrick. 1 Quote
lau03143 Posted August 15, 2022 Posted August 15, 2022 14 hours ago, The_Kincardine said: Aberdeen 0-8 Rangers. A Lizzie Arnot masterclass with four goals (two pens) and two assists. The girls seem to have had a good preseason and didn't have to get out of second gear. I understand that A'deen have given professional contracts to five of their players but the difference, physically, between a full-time team and amateurs/part-timers is immense. I can see why the league was expanded but the gulf in quality from top to bottom is much massive. That being said, Glasgow City needed a 90+7 winner from Jenna Clark - whom I wish we had signed - to beat Motherwell and Celtic 'only' won 2-0 vs Partick Thistle. Only two games in, but I am loving the attitude from the Rangers players. There was a hunger to just keep on scoring goals, and with such a competitive squad, with a bench that strong, the intensity didn't really let up. Big test on Thursday in the CL. Anyone know where the game can be watched? I am going to the City vs. Roma match, but will try to have the Rangers game on my phone at the same time. 0 Quote
The_Kincardine Posted August 15, 2022 Posted August 15, 2022 3 hours ago, lau03143 said: Only two games in, but I am loving the attitude from the Rangers players. There was a hunger to just keep on scoring goals, and with such a competitive squad, with a bench that strong, the intensity didn't really let up. Big test on Thursday in the CL. Anyone know where the game can be watched? I am going to the City vs. Roma match, but will try to have the Rangers game on my phone at the same time. Yes - they looked very committed - and fit. They'll need to be for these CL games coming up! I've not seen anything about livestreams but if I do I'll post it on here! 0 Quote
AsimButtHitsASix Posted August 15, 2022 Posted August 15, 2022 (edited) Whereas the SWPL 1 & 2 are now under the auspices of the SPFL the rest of the pyramid remains part of the SWFA. Morton beat Ayr 4-1 in a result that was probably a bit harsh on the balance of play over the game but Morton did take the foot off the gas after going 4-0 up. Been a while since I've seen any Morton team top of the league so I'm enjoying it today. Twitter said the crowd was a decent 120. Morton's third and fourth by Paterson were cracking and worth a watch when the highlights go up. One was a lovely lob from the edge of the box and the other was like Zlatan's goal v NAC Breda for Ajax but better. Edited August 15, 2022 by AsimButtHitsASix 0 Quote
Craig fae the Vale Posted August 15, 2022 Posted August 15, 2022 2 hours ago, AsimButtHitsASix said: Whereas the SWPL 1 & 2 are now under the auspices of the SPFL the rest of the pyramid remains part of the SWFA. Morton beat Ayr 4-1 in a result that was probably a bit harsh on the balance of play over the game but Morton did take the foot off the gas after going 4-0 up. Been a while since I've seen any Morton team top of the league so I'm enjoying it today. Twitter said the crowd was a decent 120. Morton's third and fourth by Paterson were cracking and worth a watch when the highlights go up. One was a lovely lob from the edge of the box and the other was like Zlatan's goal v NAC Breda for Ajax but better. I'll be heading along to a few Championship and League One games this season when the SWPL leagues are off for international breaks and such. Morton had a really good crowd when I saw them last season, good to see it continuing, it was especially encouraging to see the amount of youngsters at that game, we need to get the kids along to games to keep the clubs going in the long run. 0 Quote
AsimButtHitsASix Posted August 15, 2022 Posted August 15, 2022 1 minute ago, Craig fae the Vale said: I'll be heading along to a few Championship and League One games this season when the SWPL leagues are off for international breaks and such. Morton had a really good crowd when I saw them last season, good to see it continuing, it was especially encouraging to see the amount of youngsters at that game, we need to get the kids along to games to keep the clubs going in the long run. There was a wee group of about a dozen weans I've noticed afore at men's away games with a drum trying a few chants out as well. Morton Women's Ultras. Ye love to see it. Pie stall wisnae open this week tho' so bring yer pieces just in case as there's nothing nearby for scran. Although there's a bowling club nearby which I presume will let ye in for a pint if wanted. 0 Quote
Craig fae the Vale Posted August 16, 2022 Posted August 16, 2022 23 hours ago, AsimButtHitsASix said: There was a wee group of about a dozen weans I've noticed afore at men's away games with a drum trying a few chants out as well. Morton Women's Ultras. Ye love to see it. Pie stall wisnae open this week tho' so bring yer pieces just in case as there's nothing nearby for scran. Although there's a bowling club nearby which I presume will let ye in for a pint if wanted. They still playing at Parklea? 0 Quote
AsimButtHitsASix Posted August 16, 2022 Posted August 16, 2022 Just now, Craig fae the Vale said: They still playing at Parklea? Aye. Shite innit? 0 Quote
Craig fae the Vale Posted August 16, 2022 Posted August 16, 2022 1 minute ago, AsimButtHitsASix said: Aye. Shite innit? It's alright for what it is. It's a lot better than the public parks that a lot of the women's teams were playing on even a couple of years ago. Even Rangers first team played a game at the Palace of Art - probably about 4 years ago. The game has come a long way and still improving. 0 Quote
AsimButtHitsASix Posted August 17, 2022 Posted August 17, 2022 As promised the goals. With apologies to Seagrave, for some reason I thought she scored the first two, it was her who scored the lob 1 Quote
Craig fae the Vale Posted August 21, 2022 Posted August 21, 2022 (edited) In amongst the Champions League, there was also a whole host of SWPL action today. Highlights at 7pm tomorrow on BBC Scotland again. Edited August 21, 2022 by Craig fae the Vale 0 Quote
tamthebam Posted August 21, 2022 Posted August 21, 2022 I saw two tweets from Hibs fans in reply to the club's tweet of the final score. They're not happy. 0 Quote
Craig fae the Vale Posted August 22, 2022 Posted August 22, 2022 Rangers back at their Training Centre for a midweek game on Wednesday. 0 Quote
Craig fae the Vale Posted August 25, 2022 Posted August 25, 2022 Last night's results Glasgow City 7-0 Dundee United Rangers 2-0 Hearts. And Sunday's fixtures. I'll be at Petershill for City v Aberdeen, anyone else taking in a game? 0 Quote
AsimButtHitsASix Posted August 26, 2022 Posted August 26, 2022 Probably gonnae catch Morton v Hutchison Vale. Kinda weird seeing that name without the Lothian Thistle attached now. 0 Quote
tamthebam Posted August 26, 2022 Posted August 26, 2022 There was a Hutchi Vale Women's team before the men's team merged with Lothian Thistle. 0 Quote