The Queen of the South thread

7 hours ago, 19QOS19 said:

Again though, you're making it sound as though the fans have just decided to chuck it overnight. 

The irony is too that the ones on here haven't chucked it.  

It's just a question of moaning about our direction and demonstrating some understanding of why gates are dwindling.

Even that represents treachery for some though.

6 hours ago, Greenacres said:

We have to try a  hybrid model to me that might work for us .

Young full time players backed up with experienced part time players.

We have to change something because the set up is not working right now.

It will not be long till the accounts are for last season which will again  show another six figure loss .

We can't keep losing huge sums of money 

Don’t agree. Puts us in a death spiral . 

8 hours ago, HighlandQueen said:

Puts us in a death spiral . 

I don't see why that should be the case.

It maybe feels like a loss of status, but I fail to see why we would do worse with part-time players than the other clubs round us do, or indeed worse than we're currently doing.

Our current model does not appear to be able to secure us players that are good enough to make us a strong side at this level.  

14 hours ago, Bluegrass Bairn said:

For me it goes all the way back to the unforgivable 4-6-0 stunt that cnut Levein pulled in Prague, which showed his contempt for his obligations... Still gets work, still a media drone, which is both damning and incredible as he surely spent all his credibility that night. Bartley now seems to have pretty much spent all of his too.       

I mentioned this a couple of weeks back. I feel Stephen Dobbie has been very magnanimous (if that's the right word?) in interviews about never getting a Scotland cap, and yet this happened right at the peak of his powers!

I suspect there are 2 reasons Dobbie was never capped:

1. Levine (I don't care how you spell his name and have no intentions of looking it up!) just didn't like flair players in general.

2. I suspect Levine remembered Dobbie when he was a little fat bstrd at Hibs and totally refused to accept his total transformation.

To this day I have very little interest in the Scotland national team. I also stopped going to Queen's for around 10 years when Davie Wilson dismantled the best side I had seen (to that point) and brought in a lot of his journeyman mates.

I suspect Queens are in danger of losing a lot of younger fans for a long time again if Marvin doesn't start playing a bit more positively, but I have to say, I think there have been some (very small) signs in recent weeks that he's (sometimes) getting a bit more positive.

12 hours ago, HighlandQueen said:

Don’t agree. Puts us in a death spiral . 

We are on  a death spiral already wait a few weeks untill last season six figure loss wil be announced then double it and more for this season.

10 hours ago, Biblemaster said:

I mentioned this a couple of weeks back. I feel Stephen Dobbie has been very magnanimous (if that's the right word?) in interviews about never getting a Scotland cap, and yet this happened right at the peak of his powers!

I suspect there are 2 reasons Dobbie was never capped:

1. Levine (I don't care how you spell his name and have no intentions of looking it up!) just didn't like flair players in general.

2. I suspect Levine remembered Dobbie when he was a little fat bstrd at Hibs and totally refused to accept his total transformation.

To this day I have very little interest in the Scotland national team. I also stopped going to Queen's for around 10 years when Davie Wilson dismantled the best side I had seen (to that point) and brought in a lot of his journeyman mates.

I suspect Queens are in danger of losing a lot of younger fans for a long time again if Marvin doesn't start playing a bit more positively, but I have to say, I think there have been some (very small) signs in recent weeks that he's (sometimes) getting a bit more positive.

I'm a Killie fan who goes to the occasional Queens game with my mate, and I was quite impressed by the young lads behind the goal at the Annan game a few weeks ago (first game this season), who seemed both as plentiful and as enthusiastic as in previous years. Drums and not terribly original songs may not be everyone's cup of tea, but surely it's a good thing that kids and teenagers are still interested.

I enjoyed the game too, although it wasn't of the highest quality, to say the least.

12 hours ago, Monkey Tennis said:

I don't see why that should be the case.

It maybe feels like a loss of status, but I fail to see why we would do worse with part-time players than the other clubs round us do, or indeed worse than we're currently doing.

Our current model does not appear to be able to secure us players that are good enough to make us a strong side at this level.  

Going part time will just be another legacy of Hewitsons destruction of the club. 

The problem is easy to see and that is the squad lack experience.  It's a young team through choice not because we can't attract players.  

Ditch this regime, bring in mostly experience and develop young players around them and we'll come good. 

We do actually have some half decent young players but they just lack consistency. 

As already been mentioned, the loss of Wilson really hit this team. Big loss which we never replaced. 

29 minutes ago, Kunter said:

Going part time will just be another legacy of Hewitsons destruction of the club. 

The problem is easy to see and that is the squad lack experience.  It's a young team through choice not because we can't attract players.  

Ditch this regime, bring in mostly experience and develop young players around them and we'll come good. 

We do actually have some half decent young players but they just lack consistency. 

As already been mentioned, the loss of Wilson really hit this team. Big loss which we never replaced. 

This season isn't isolated though.  It's the latest in a series.

Don't worry my friends. One of our lottery jackpots is $200million next week. If I win, I'll take over at Palmerston and restore us to our previous glories. First order of business, install a massive net over the entire stadium to keep the fecking seagulls out.

6 minutes ago, Otis Blue said:

If I win Euromillions I've told the wife I that I'll build Queens a new stadium ... fortunately I don't play Euromillions ...

Controversial opinion but I don’t think teams should be allowed to move grounds. Absolutely hate that in modern football where teams just move to a Corporate goldfish bowl.

9 hours ago, QoS99 said:

Controversial opinion but I don’t think teams should be allowed to move grounds. Absolutely hate that in modern football where teams just move to a Corporate goldfish bowl.

I’m sorry but that’s not controversial…..it’s just nonsensical!  😂

For example what would a team that required a bigger capacity do if their current location had no scope for expansion?

26 minutes ago, Dougie Mills said:

I’m sorry but that’s not controversial…..it’s just nonsensical!  😂

For example what would a team that required a bigger capacity do if their current location had no scope for expansion?

Obviously there should be exceptions. But examples like Tottenham, Everton and Aberdeen (potentially) moving grounds is ridiculous to me. Why rip apart 100+ years of history and association with a ground to move to a soul-less commercialised ground? Just doesn’t sit right with me.

33 minutes ago, QoS99 said:

Obviously there should be exceptions. But examples like Tottenham, Everton and Aberdeen (potentially) moving grounds is ridiculous to me. Why rip apart 100+ years of history and association with a ground to move to a soul-less commercialised ground? Just doesn’t sit right with me.

Aye, there's a lot of emotion connected with ground locations.  But practical considerations also come into it - eg in Everton's case they're trapped in an ageing stadium that can only take say 30 odd thousand when they can probably easily fill a 50+ thousand stadium, increase their income and move the club forwards - especially when they look across Stanley Park and see what their noisy neighbours are doing at Anfield.  Similar up here with Tynecastle (granted I'm biased with Gorgie being my first home) - I'd hate the Jambos to leave Tynie as it's probably the most atmospheric ground up here.  But its absolutely constrained by tenements, the school and the distillery - they've spent money modernising it but it still hasn't enough capacity - Hearts could probably do with a 25 thousand seater stadium, but it's really difficult to see how to do that within the physical constraints of Tynecastle.

The other factor of course is the logistical aspects of rebuilding a stadium - a major rebuild on the same site might require finding an alternative home for a season or two (at cost), whereas that could be avoided by building on a new site and continuing to use the old stadium during that period (granted the cash from the sale of the old ground may be required to build or start building the new one).

Most clubs naturally wouldn't move if they could avoid it, but there are often unique factors that might come together to dictate the otherwise unthinkable.

We all complain about the board but they have a very difficult job of trying to run a football club they make sure wages are paid and tax bills etc are all paid .

Look at Edinburgh City they have now lost 6 points because of non payment of wages tax etc.

On Edinburgh they have just 40 season ticket holders cost over £500,000 to run looks like there budget does not get close to what they bring in 

10 minutes ago, Greenacres said:

We all complain about the board but they have a very difficult job of trying to run a football club they make sure wages are paid and tax bills etc are all paid .

Look at Edinburgh City they have now lost 6 points because of non payment of wages tax etc.

On Edinburgh they have just 40 season ticket holders cost over £500,000 to run looks like there budget does not get close to what they bring in 

It won’t be long until we only have 40 season ticket holders if things don’t change.

1 hour ago, Dougie Mills said:

It won’t be long until we only have 40 season ticket holders if things don’t change.

Don't like to see other clubs in trouble but as you say we need something to get us going  again. 

We need a couple of loan signing who will change things like we did with Dapo and Jones  exciting signing try to get away from this boring football .

Was it in the Standard that Marvin said he's geed pals with Eddie Howe???I would've thought his pal would've sent him a couple of loan boys to help him oot by now. Maybe Newcastle don't loan players out to anyone lower than Scottish Champ?

Thank feck Edi City have the points deduction to settle the potential relegation nerves.