Old sayings that younger folk won't get any longer

I do have memories of loads of scaffy auld buggers hanging about around that cinema, but that was just the general nick of the auld Vicky in the 80's. There was a bus stop right outside it and it was notorious for 'characters'. They demolished the tenements on the Wellgate side of the road in the 70's and what was left on the opposite side was really grim and dilapidated. There was a post office just up from the cinema that was genuinely like walking into something from a Dickensian novel. Blackscroft was much the same, except it took them years to demolish the tenements and they sat empty and derelict for ages before they finally demolished them. We used to go and play in them as kids and marvel at the WWII era decor inside them. 

Edited by Boo Khaki

1 hour ago, DA Baracus said:

Did anyone actually go to see a porn film at a cinema? It sounds incredibly grim and an expensive w**k.

It's still a big thing in Japan.  They have a plethora of them in the business districts where the salarymen go after work to, ahem, destress.   

13 hours ago, Boo Khaki said:

The Vicky was grotty and run down, but it usually showed auld films that were no longer showing at the 'premium' cinemas, not adult stuff. The Regal in Broughty Ferry was the same. You could still catch kids matinees there well into the 1980's. Mind going there to see one of original the Star Wars trilogy months after it had been shown at the 'big' pictures.

The Tivoli in Bonnybank Road was the not not adult stuff place.

34 minutes ago, scottsdad said:

Pressing the Dolby button on Walkman to reduce the amount of hissing

You could create an entire paragraph around this and the ‘kids’ wouldn’t recognise any of the words - Dolby, Ferric Oxide, Binatone, buttons, cassette, C90, BASF, shut up mum I’m trying to record the charts from the radio onto a tape through this cheap microphone plugged into my slab-sized grey plastic cased Binatone cassette recorder, with the microphone balanced on two books, placed directly in front of the radio… paused and ready, hovering above the ‘play and record’ buttons to cut out the DJ chat, and all I can hear now is the hoover…shut up mum!..

OK, the last one is a lot of words.

6 minutes ago, Eednud said:

The Tivoli in Bonnybank Road was the not not adult stuff place.

Before my time I think - the only pictures still around when I grew up were the ABC, the Odeon and the Victoria.  And the Odeon and Victoria didn't last long either.

2 hours ago, DA Baracus said:

Did anyone actually go to see a porn film at a cinema? It sounds incredibly grim and an expensive w**k.

Options were more limited then and the films were quite mainstream, not like you get on the internet these days.

You could go to London for more specialised stuff or if you needed the camaraderie of indulging your darkest thoughts with like-minded people. The down side to that, of course, is you might have found yourself in one of the films and then washed up, filleted, in The Thames.

1 hour ago, pozbaird said:

You could create an entire paragraph around this and the ‘kids’ wouldn’t recognise any of the words - Dolby, Ferric Oxide, Binatone, buttons, cassette, C90, BASF, shut up mum I’m trying to record the charts from the radio onto a tape through this cheap microphone plugged into my slab-sized grey plastic cased Binatone cassette recorder, with the microphone balanced on two books, placed directly in front of the radio… paused and ready, hovering above the ‘play and record’ buttons to cut out the DJ chat, and all I can hear now is the hoover…shut up mum!..

OK, the last one is a lot of words.

I remember being awe-struck when someone at school made a mix tape without the click between tracks - he had something called a "pause" button. I just switched my tape deck off at the wall. Think I had "Going Underground" on one entire side of a C60 'cos it was no 1 for ages. 

2 minutes ago, Newbornbairn said:

I remember being awe-struck when someone at school made a mix tape without the click between tracks - he had something called a "pause" button. I just switched my tape deck off at the wall. Think I had "Going Underground" on one entire side of a C60 'cos it was no 1 for ages. 

I had a horrible episode when about 14 yr old. My auntie and uncle were going out and I was watching the house for them (aye at 14!). Think it was between Christmas and New Year and Moonraker was on the telly for the first time. My uncle asked me to tape it for him and he carefully showed me how to work the VCR. Being a smart ar*e, I decided I would switch it off during the adverts to enhance his watching only I forgot to switch it back on and missed 30 minutes or so before realising. I can still remember the disappointed look on his face when I told him when he came in. Sad time.

15 minutes ago, Sergeant Wilson said:

Options were more limited then and the films were quite mainstream, not like you get on the internet these days.

You could go to London for more specialised stuff or if you needed the camaraderie of indulging your darkest thoughts with like-minded people. The down side to that, of course, is you might have found yourself in one of the films and then washed up, filleted, in The Thames.

I remember walking into the wrong cinema in a multiplex and there was a scattering of men sitting on their own, all with hats balanced on their laps. I made a retreat and found my French arthouse film with Catherine Deneuve, ended up kind of wishing I'd brought a hat.

19 minutes ago, Newbornbairn said:

Later Walkmans had a feature where you could fast forward a song, and it would automatically stop between songs. presumably it detected a quiet part of the tape. Revolutionary!

Just now, welshbairn said:

I remember walking into the wrong cinema in a multiplex and there was a scattering of men sitting on their own, all with hats balanced on their laps. I made a retreat and found my French arthouse film with Catherine Deneuve, ended up kind of wishing I'd brought a hat.

Just how many hours was it between you accidentally walking in, and making a retreat?

20 hours ago, microdave said:

I always refer to a new town as "What's it called" and recently had to explain why to my 23yo daughter.

I remember when Clyde moved into their new Broadwood Stadium and the STV sports reporter was doing a wee piece about it, talking to someone who mentioned that they were hoping to tap into the new market etc. When he handed back over to the main host, he asked (in over the top Advert speak) "What's it called..?" but rather then say the proper answer, the sports reporter looked at his notes and replied dead pan "Erm, Broadwood Stadium". 

1 hour ago, welshbairn said:

I went to the Classic Grand to see cult film Phantasm. Fortunately, or unfortunately, my mate who was in charge of arrangements and was as thick as shite, took us to see Fantasm.

This was a complete different kettle of fish, but we stayed any way.

I eventually got to Phantasm on a double bill with The Hills Have Eyes.

1 minute ago, Sergeant Wilson said:

I went to the Classic Grand to see cult film Phantasm. Fortunately, or unfortunately, my mate who was in charge of arrangements and was as thick as shite, took us to see Fantasm.

This was a complete different kettle of fish, but we stayed any way.

I eventually got to Phantasm on a double bill with The Hills Have Eyes.

Bunked off school with a couple of mates to sneak into Flesh Gordon but that was no mistake, we giggled about it for weeks.