Airdrie v Falkirk, 1st leg

Wasn't at, or able to watch, the game last night thank f'ck - tie looked done at 2-0, it's a dead rubber now.

Airdrie look nailed on to go up (sorry Alloa) - probably a good bet to finish high up in the Championship without making too many changes either.

It's absolutely fucking mental supporting Falkirk.

11 minutes ago, Bairnardo said:

Highlights of this please

Right at the end of that behind the goal video three stewards rush on and the linesman moves away from them, presuming someone came onto the pitch, could be wrong but the Falkirk players would deserve it tbh

19 minutes ago, SLClyde said:

Laughing at McGlynn say it was nothing to do with the shape, to then say he changed the shape after half an hour and then say again the shape didn’t matter, what a load of verbal diarrhoea. 

It was eveident even before the first goal went in. Henderson playing on the left of the diamond forced into pressing a full back leading 35 year old McGinn to cover 150 square yards of pitch on his own. 20 seconds later we are a goal down. Fucking mental stuff.

Last night was worse then anything Rennie or Sheerin dished up.

1 minute ago, latapythelegend said:

It was eveident even before the first goal went in. Henderson playing on the left of the diamond forced into pressing a full back leading 35 year old McGinn to cover 150 square yards of pitch on his own. 20 seconds later we are a goal down. Fucking mental stuff.

Last night was worse then anything Rennie or Sheerin dished up.

Yeah, the number of times we sort of half-pressed up in the first half, and got completely bypassed by about 2 simple passes was brutal. The defence were shite, but like the teams of the last couple of seasons, when there's literally no midfield protection, and a 4 man defence is on their heels being attacked at pace there's only one outcome. We are specialists in disappearing midfields, but that set up was a classic of the genre. 

2 hours ago, CallumPar said:

Just watched the highlights. Falkirk’s defending is shocking. But on the main talking points. I expected a bit more controversy, given comments from Falkirk fans…

What on earth was Burrell doing at the free kick? Jumping away from the ball/wall. That’s absolutely abysmal from him.

Josh Rae stupid for the sending off. Nobody can have any complaints about that. Fordyce could have been more decisive, rather than forcing his keeper to come out so far, when it was never a ball he looked likely to win.

Falkirk TV seemed to show the incident where Allan does pull the defender down, then get dragged down, as if it should have been a Falkirk free kick. But it actually shows the ref got it spot on.

Allan red card. In the modern game, you can’t have any complaints. We recently had O’Hara sent off for the same kind of thing (also away to Airdrie) and had an appeal rejected. It’s dangerous to leave your foot in that high.

Airdrie’s penalty is stonewall and there’s an argument it could have been another red. Striker had turned the man and was in on the keeper, who was glued to his line.

The defending is genuinely woeful. I think my son's u13 team pick up opposition players better than that !

On the Airdrie free kick Burrell bizarrely jumps out of the way but it really doesn't look lined up correctly in the first place. Maybe the camera angle but it looks like there is a big gap that side anyway. The ball doesn't even go close to the corner of the net and goes in. I think he could have gone round Burrell and still scored.

Rae's sending off is a natural reaction unfortunately. He doesn't get there and takes Burrell down. It would have been better to let him score probably but it's not something you get time to consciously think about.

I agree the Allan/ATS incident is a free kick to Airdrie. Even if it had been a foul by ATS though the ball's running through to Hutton so it's not a red card.

I think the Allan red is a bit harsh. I'm not surprised by it but his foot isn't that high and Hutton's head is a bit low. It's not like he jumped and kicked him at head height. It's a foul. Definite yellow, could be a red, but doesn't have to be. He won't win any appeal though.

I actually think the McCann foul on the penalty is a far clearer red. I'm not actually sure what basis at all there could be for it not being one? He's not made any effort to play the ball and there's no other defender stopping him getting the shot in. As clear a red card as you'll ever see.

12 minutes ago, Skyline Drifter said:

I actually think the McCann foul on the penalty is a far clearer red. I'm not actually sure what basis at all there could be for it not being one? He's not made any effort to play the ball and there's no other defender stopping him getting the shot in. As clear a red card as you'll ever see.

Last minute mental tiredness on the refs part is the only thing I can think of. Or shock at another defensive cockup. 

I agree that it looks a red card and for McGlynn to say it was soft is mindblowing

Edited by FK1Bairn
unfinished original post

40 minutes ago, Skyline Drifter said:

The defending is genuinely woeful. I think my son's u13 team pick up opposition players better than that !

On the Airdrie free kick Burrell bizarrely jumps out of the way but it really doesn't look lined up correctly in the first place. Maybe the camera angle but it looks like there is a big gap that side anyway. The ball doesn't even go close to the corner of the net and goes in. I think he could have gone round Burrell and still scored.

Rae's sending off is a natural reaction unfortunately. He doesn't get there and takes Burrell down. It would have been better to let him score probably but it's not something you get time to consciously think about.

I agree the Allan/ATS incident is a free kick to Airdrie. Even if it had been a foul by ATS though the ball's running through to Hutton so it's not a red card.

I think the Allan red is a bit harsh. I'm not surprised by it but his foot isn't that high and Hutton's head is a bit low. It's not like he jumped and kicked him at head height. It's a foul. Definite yellow, could be a red, but doesn't have to be. He won't win any appeal though.

Don’t disagree with any of that. The Allan red is debatable. But I criticise inconsistencies in officiating, and we had O’Hara sent off (and an appeal rejected) for a very similar challenge. No malice/aggression, just considered too high or out of control I’d assume. I think both O’Hara and Allan’s red cards were harsh, but maybe that’s how referees have been advised to deal with that?

Can’t understand how McCann wasn’t sent off. Also can’t understand the Falkirk numpties on here claiming it was a soft penalty. Clear penalty, clear red card. The decision should have been just as easy as Rae’s red card. Not sure how the referee has decided not to give the red. Not giving McCann a red card is honestly the worst refereeing decision that we can see on the highlights.

Edited by CallumPar

1 hour ago, 101 said:

Right at the end of that behind the goal video three stewards rush on and the linesman moves away from them, presuming someone came onto the pitch, could be wrong but the Falkirk players would deserve it tbh

There's a video from the Airdrie end, I think Airdrie TV that seems to show this too! You can see the pitch invasion when Airdrie score the 6th and then someone appears from the far side, I thought it was an Airdrie fan initially but after thinking about it there already on the other side of the pitch and coming from that direction.

Have to laugh at Aiden Nesbitt shouting and bawling at Burrell for the second goal, absolute shit*bag behaviour from Burrell but Nesbitt is such a little fud. Can't quite work out the two year deal but I suppose Falkirk fans have the same opinion.

I can't help but think Burrell will be away regardless of where Falkirk end up. You see in the highlights there's a couple of balls over the top where he takes a really good touch and keeps running then gets a shot/cross. He's a good player, even if a complete blouse in the wall. He looks like he's not arsed and I think that's down to him featuring mostly from the bench.

Edited by The Toun Clock

On 09/05/2023 at 09:47, Bairnardo said:

This is absolute madness

On 09/05/2023 at 10:17, badgerthewitness said:

I think a few P&B Bairns are building Airdrie up to be something they aren't. This is all about us & whether we turn up.

🙈

On 09/05/2023 at 10:24, Bairnardo said:

Theres no way a rackless Airdrie are a shoo in to just stick as many goals as they want past us. We have the second best defence in the league. We also have the second best attack. Its way too simplistic to assume this Airdrie team can just blow us away if they only take the handbrake off

I've gave you plenty greenies over the years fella, but this was one of your wilder takes.

On 09/05/2023 at 11:03, Reggie Perrin said:

It’s Airdrie we are playing not Barcelona.

thank god eh, could have been super embarrassing.

On 09/05/2023 at 12:29, Glenmavis Diamond said:

It's this kind of arrogant / misguided comment that will hopefully come back and bite you. To think that as long as Falkirk turn up you'll be OK, is beyond stupid. But I hope your team go into the game with that attitude. I really do. 

Plot twist, they did.

5 minutes ago, ++Ammo - Airdrie++ said:

🙈

I've gave you plenty greenies over the years fella, but this was one of your wilder takes.

I don't think it was a wild take at the time. I could see nothing but a tight nervy game coming, and certainly nothing like that first half. The point I was making at the time was that despite Airdrie having a potent attack, we shouldn't be somehow fearing that we can't win. 

What happened in between times, only John McGlynn knows. And I doubt he's ever going to tell us since he feels there was nothing wrong with how we set up 🤷‍♂️

2 minutes ago, Bairnardo said:

I don't think it was a wild take at the time. I could see nothing but a tight nervy game coming, and certainly nothing like that first half. The point I was making at the time was that despite Airdrie having a potent attack, we shouldn't be somehow fearing that we can't win. 

What happened in between times, only John McGlynn knows. And I doubt he's ever going to tell us since he feels there was nothing wrong with how we set up 🤷‍♂️

His interview is a car crash eh, almost blaming the fans because they've been asking for 2 up front. The fact he thinks that Henderson header at 3-0 down could've been a game changer, that header is the definition of a 'half chance'. 

20 minutes ago, Bairnardo said:

"you wanted 2 up top, so we went 2 up top"

Teflon John