2023–24 Highland League Chat

welshbairn

9 minutes ago, Edzellcityfan said:

Fair enough.

Next question would be what is to be gained by making up attendances?

Bigger clubs than Brechin are known to have done a bit of creative crowd bragging, the ugly sisters being prominent examples. If a seat's sold, why bother checking if there's an arse on it? Check the money at the gate or tickets sold, add on season ticket holders, HMRC are happy, the accountant's happy, everyone's happy!

On 26/11/2023 at 21:48, welshbairn said:

Bigger clubs than Brechin are known to have done a bit of creative crowd bragging, the ugly sisters being prominent examples. If a seat's sold, why bother checking if there's an arse on it? Check the money at the gate or tickets sold, add on season ticket holders, HMRC are happy, the accountant's happy, everyone's happy!

Aye, It would probably be more accurate to say the number relates to tickets sold rather than the “attendance” in some cases.  I don’t know if Brechin actually do that but I do know a few people who have season tickets who aren’t at quite a few games during the season.

15 hours ago, charlie king mvp said:

Aye, It would probably be more accurate to say the number relates to tickets sold rather than the “attendance” in some cases.  I don’t know if Brechin actually do that but I do know a few people who have season tickets who aren’t at quite a few games during the season.

I think it might have been the case with our old system but now with  fanbase I think it gives a far more accurate check on who is actually at the match from the season ticket holders at least. 

8 minutes ago, Cyclizine said:

I can't see the Highland League Cup final at Inverurie going ahead tomorrow either

No, they're rumoured to have covers down but I doubt it would be enough without hunners of folk crawling underneath with hair dryers. 🤔

-6c overnight and not climbing over zero tomorrow

36 minutes ago, theoriginalhedge said:

That'll be us next season hopefully. 

Really? Not a fan myself, just looks like a big game of 5s to me, though I can see the positives like increasing access to the pitch and avoiding some postponements. 

1 hour ago, welshbairn said:

Really? Not a fan myself, just looks like a big game of 5s to me, though I can see the positives like increasing access to the pitch and avoiding some postponements. 

I wasn't a fan of it myself as it went totally against my greenkeeping principles but the benefits for lower league sides by far outweigh the negatives. 

Also I have seen the way our team ping it about on a decent surface and it makes for decent football. 

5 minutes ago, theoriginalhedge said:

I wasn't a fan of it myself as it went totally against my greenkeeping principles but the benefits for lower league sides by far outweigh the negatives. 

Also I have seen the way our team ping it about on a decent surface and it makes for decent football. 

Tbh, it suits Clach pretty well too, we drew at Spain Park last time we played and were close to coming away with our first win since we beat them at home last March. A few years ago there was a move to put plastic on Grant Street, partly so we could share it with Inverness City to keep them alive, but the funding fell through and a lot of Clach folk were relieved it did. Watching football at Spain Park just brings to mind these pretty miserable Covid years of peering through fences to watch tier 6 football on plastic pitches with rugby lines on them. One thing I like about Highland League football is the full on sliding tackles that you lot are always whining about, you're talking 2nd degree burns if you try that at Spain Park.

53 minutes ago, welshbairn said:

Tbh, it suits Clach pretty well too, we drew at Spain Park last time we played and were close to coming away with our first win since we beat them at home last March. A few years ago there was a move to put plastic on Grant Street, partly so we could share it with Inverness City to keep them alive, but the funding fell through and a lot of Clach folk were relieved it did. Watching football at Spain Park just brings to mind these pretty miserable Covid years of peering through fences to watch tier 6 football on plastic pitches with rugby lines on them. One thing I like about Highland League football is the full on sliding tackles that you lot are always whining about, you're talking 2nd degree burns if you try that at Spain Park.

Maybe encourage the likes of the brochers to concentrate on fitba rather than the other stuff. 🤣

11 hours ago, Vale Vale Vale said:

Could have sneaked a draw, were poor for 82 minutes....young lad Jack Mitchell came on and changed the game.

Big summer ahead for Vale,hopefully with these new directors in place,we can start to plan ahead and get the club on a better footing on and off the park.