The WSC Questions 23-24: Championship edition

Any regular readers of WSC will already be thumbing (or scrolling) through the annual season guide. As ever, only the top flight is Scotland is covered. Feel free to lend your thoughts.

How will you do?

Hopefully make the play-offs. Recruitment has been good and is likely still to be completed. Holding onto Dougie Imrie would be handy too.

What was the best moment of last season?

I'll go for the 4-0 home win over ICT, which the rest of the country got to see too. Almost a year previously the visitors had won the same fixture 6-1 with a real poisonous atmosphere between fans and players. Night and day thanks to Imrie - Robbie even asked the referee how long was left after we went 4-0 up. To cap it - Efe Ambrose made his debut that night. 

What was the worst moment of last season?

Losing our home games against both Ayr and Arbroath was grim, as was the dreadful VAR decision at Parkhead, but for me it's drawing 3-3 at Dens Park in April after having led 3-1. A season changing game.

If you were the owner of your club what is the first thing you would do?

I'm a member of the MCT so aren't I already a co-owner? Communication with the fans is miles ahead of what it used to be, but there is still some work to be done.

Who would be your ideal shirt sponsor?

This is meant to be the daft question, but I did enjoy seeing us play in unblemished hoops two seasons ago for the cup centenary. 

How will you do? 
We’ll just about scrape into the promotion play-offs. It will take time for a lot of these guys to gel and adapt to the way that Beuker and Veldman wants us to play. There will be calamitous mistakes, but also scintillating football. I’d expect by the end of the season we put together a good run to qualify for the play-offs. I’ll say third place. 

Best Moment of Last Season?

Handsomely beating Partick Thistle and Raith in their own backyards was pretty special. 

Worst Moment of Last Season?

Pretty much the entire last three months. We had so many opportunities to get the league over the line and to just fall short was galling. 

If you were the owner of your club what is the first thing you would do?

Commission terracing behind the Lesser goals at Letherby and Somerville Drive. It’s well-documented the issues with our training pitch that’s masquerading as a stadium. It has the potential to be a brilliant wee lower-league ground, but serious work is needed

Irn Bru. That on our current abomination of a home kit would almost make it tolerable

How will you do?

Lower mid table - let's say 7th

That's fine the club is evolving on and off the park and I dont hate a lower finish than the fortune one of the season before.  I won't enjoy it either but at least there promises to be less hoofball.  

When Lee 'Bully' Bullen celebrated an 8-0 defeat in the Somerset Hub.  

The total headloss the club had in the playoffs.

A lifetime ban for 'Somerset Boab'.  I considered half time waterboarding but can see that leading to bother. Anyway, nobody should have to put up with some retiree singing a Taio Cruz song laced with bad patter.  

None, going to the football is so overcommercialized it's awful.  Just company logos absolutely everywhere.  Get it Tae f**k. 

At a push a local charity logo on the sleeve or shorts.  

How will you do? 
Absolutely no idea. My heart says play offs but my head says it’ll be a season of maybe 6th or 7th which would be fine so long as there was no danger of relegation and the style of play was better than last season. 

Best moment of last season? 
Winning up at Inverness last season was the peak. We generally don’t do crunch matches but we went up there with a lot of pressure on us and got the job done in spectacular fashion. Honourable mentions would be the home wins against Dundee, Partick and Queens Park. 

Worst moment of last season? 
Losing against Falkirk in the Scottish Cup. Going 1-0 up and then blowing it in the fashion we did was gut wrenching and made worse with the missed penalty at 1-1. Playoffs were awful but nowhere near as bad a feeling as the cup game. 

What would I do if I was chairman? 
I’d probably invest a fair chunk of money into the media side of things. It’s a real issue at the club just now and getting someone on board who can oversee that aspect would make a huge difference. Fans can forgive a lot of things but they can’t tolerate poor engagement and radio silence from a club and that’s what we had in the close season there. Lost the playoffs and then nothing really for about a month. Highlights are poor, interviews with mangers and players are dull in the extreme. We’ve got a tik tok account now and the girl who runs it is doing a pretty decent job but she could do with being a part of a better team. I don’t think it’s a priority for investment right now but it should be. 

Who would be ideal shirt sponsors?

Ideally no one. Think sponsors can ruin really good strips. If I had to pick one then I’d go with the Ayrshire Post as they were the main sponsor for my favourite ever Ayr strip. 

How will you do?

Given that it looks like United aren't a complete rabble with their new additions, you'd expect the best we can do is second. It'll really come down to how fortunate we get with injuries. We've made some very exciting additions in the window, but the last few seasons have been seen us end up with a threadbare squad on a frequent basis. This league will be far less forgiving this season.

Pumping Motherwell out the cup. We won 3-1 in one of our best displays of the season. An excellent atmosphere. Well fans should probably be thanking us given that it led to them binning the clown in charge. 

Losing to Accies both in the Challenge Cup final and in the league within two weeks. It's never nice to lose a cup final, but we did so while absolutely peppering their goal while Rankin acted as a cheerleader for their fans on the touchline. The performance in the league was an end to any hope we might somehow sneak into the promotion playoffs. 

Can't fault the new owners at all. They've been fun on social media (it's pretty incredible how well our new away kit has done overseas), made some good signings and are making some much needed changes to the stadium. So there's not really much else I'd ask for unless we add on the world's greatest sporting rehab clinic.

The Marine Accident Investigation Branch

How will you do? 

Probably worse than last season, lost Deas and Allardice and haven’t even attempted to replace the former. Thinking 7th or 8th possibly. 

The Cup semi against Falkirk didn’t feel at any point they would have enough to beat us and was as comfortable a semi final you could ask for. 

Special mention to the cup game against Livi where we cuffed them 3-0, 

Worst moment of last season? 

Too many to mention but losing 4-0 to Partick, 4-0 to Morton, 5-1 to Partick and the QP game in November where we had something like 18% possession are particular lows. 

What would I do if I was chairman? 
Buy a giant cannon and fire Scott Gardiner out of it

Who would be ideal shirt sponsors?

Harry Gows and they could take over the club catering while they’re at it 

How will you do?

Going to be a little bit more positive than the previous two Ayr posts and say 5th. Basically down to losing Bangala, so it won't be like trying to pass around another defender whilst down a man anytime he's on the park. We aren't the finished article yet, although neither are most sides so hard to really gauge at present. 

Mark McKenzie scoring the late winner in Inverness.

Missed opportunity of what was potentially one of the easiest cup runs you could ever have all the way to the final. We surrendered to Falkirk before they even laid a glove on us. 

Keep going with the redevelopment and look for further opportunities around additional revenue streams, it is what will give us the edge in years to come, although @itzdrk's waterboarding suggestion is appealing. 

NASA seem like they have the right equipment to track our punts if we revert to hoofball.

How will you do?

Bangala is a massive loss so it will be interesting to see how the team adapts now.

Bangala's debut.

Bangala's red card

Put a Bangala table in the hub.

David Bangala

9 minutes ago, Richey Edwards said:

How will you do?

Bangala is a massive loss so it will be interesting to see how the team adapts now.

Bangala's debut.

Bangala's red card

Put a Bangala table in the hub.

David Bangala

You’re not taking the news well at all are you? 

How will you do?

I’m almost certain that United will win the league, which leaves us looking at second place at best. I think, on the basis of the squad we have, that anything less than the playoffs would be considered a failure. I’ll be optimistic and say we’ll finish second, but without ever really pushing United that closely.

The 5-0 win against Ayr at Somerset was a really special night, as indeed was the whole playoff run until the last wee bit.

I thoroughly enjoyed the opening day win at Dundee as well. 

The last wee bit of the playoff run. The second that they made it 2-1 on the day, I knew full well what was going to happen but it didn’t make it any easier. I appreciate that every other club will have found it a really good laugh, and understandably so, but it was fucking brutal.

The successive 1-0 losses to Hamilton and Cove were depressing too. 

If you were the owner of your club what is the first thing you would do?

On the assumption that I have a silly amount of money to play with, redevelop Firhill. It doesn’t need to be any bigger, but I’d probably want to sort out the Main Stand so that it’s fit for purpose, probably make the JHS slightly smaller with better hospitality facilities, and stick a fourth stand in to make up the reduced capacity from the JHS. And rename the Alan Rough lounge after someone who’s not a c**t.

Then give ownership back to the fan group.

As above, no one. If we must, then really lean into the stereotype and go for Belle & Sebastian or an artisanal  cheesemonger or something. 

How will you do?

Currently, I don't see us ending up in trouble at the bottom end of the table. Equally, I don't think we'll be in the playoffs at the top end. Most likely somewhere from 6th to 8th I think. A lot a depends on getting another couple of bodies in (and them being in the correct positions to fix the obvious deficiencies). If we were to get it right, maybe we could push slightly further up. The club is doing well in a lot of respects, so for now I'm happy enough with anything other than dismal relegation form - which I think is unlikely.

Inverness away last game of the season. That was decent. Honourable mentions for the comeback at Ochilview and home demolitions of Dundee and QP.

The play-off ties against Partick. From the moment I heard Akinyemi was out of the 1st leg while I was stood in the queue to get into Firhill I knew we were in trouble. The game at Firhill was atrocious and the return leg was somehow worse. We just didn't have anything threatening about us without Akinyemi. 

Get the Jamie Adams statue up. Or invest in a decent karaoke set up for Bullen's post match celebrations.

Realistically, there's a few things. Others have mentioned the media side of things and such so I'll go with just improving the overall look of things (outside of the ground in particular). Get some local artists in to paint the walls in club colours or murals of ex players or club badges and stuff. The outside of Somerset looks like a prison. I'd personally love for the terracing at either end to be steepened.

None. Agree with Itzdrk on this. Advertising and commercialism is so incredibly overdone in football. f**k it.

How will you do?

Just fine, probably. On the assumption we get another defender or two in, a playoff push is far from unreasonable, potentially pushing higher. I don't think we would win the league but we could get 2nd place, with no team currently jumping out for that.

Playoffs should be the target, though.

The Inverness 4-0 game on the TV, and Cove away on the final day (despite the disappointment of losing) were highlights.

Also Cove away. To be sitting in the playoffs at the 88th minute, then Ayr take the lead... For Inverness to get an equaliser in the 91st minute, which was ruled offside... F**king devastating.

If you were the owner of your club, what would you do?

Give Imrie a contract until 2033.

More seriously: Get a roof over the Dublin End, and reinstate the away end of the Cowshed. The atmosphere it would bring - be it one or the other - to games would be amazing. Improve the away facilities while your at it.

With the land we recently acquired behind the shed, make a social club kind of thing for matchdays. (Although, this is likely their plan)

Less on the infrastructure side: Get the stewards company to f**k and get a new catering mob. 

None. The 1922 / Scottish Cup Anniversary kit is probably the best we've had for a good while because of the lack of a sponsor, and also that it is a *proper* Morton top. Better than the two efforts since, anyway.

Haven’t seen an Airdrie one yet so wanted to give my thoughts. 

How will you do?
I’m not overly optimistic when it comes to Airdrie but this season I do fear we are heading back down. We play great football and McCabe can’t be faulted for how he wants us to go about the game. I wouldn’t ever want to change that and could watch it season after season happily. Sadly I just don’t think our players are good enough to do that at this level without some seriously strong additions. I’m hoping Arbroath are garbage and Dundee Utd aren’t as good as the result from week 1 suggests but we will see. 

What was the best moment of last season?
We handed out some absolute doings last season scoring 5, 6 and at one point 7. The obvious highlight would of course be promotion but the semi final first leg against Falkirk is something I will never get bored of seeing. The nerves going into that game was unreal and even in our best hopes no one saw that happening. 

What was the worst moment of last season?
I think this will vary from fan to fan and the drubbings from Edinburgh will sting for a few. For me though it was easily the 4-3 defeat to Dunfermline. Every game we played was a tight affair and at 3-0 up we seemed destined to go on and win that game. Fast forward what 35 mins? and we had lost 4-3 putting in a scunnering display with Dunfermline showing why they would be runaway champions and Airdrie showing our all too often defensive frailties.

If you were the owner of your club, what would you do? 
I still believe communication from the club has to improve but we have just got back to tier two of Scottish football after years of pish. They have to be credited for backing McCabe as that was a gamble a few raised their eyebrows at and I feel this year we have made positive steps. Just needs some signings now.

Who would be your ideal shirt sponsor? 
I know clubs need the revenue but I’d rather a strip without sponsors  

Edited by diamond_for_life

How will you do?

I think we’ll be 4th for the third year running, we’ll give a couple of teams a shoeing but have too many off days and generally not be strong enough in defence to threaten winning the league.

Going 2-0 up against Ross County before half time with them down to ten men, at that point I allowed my natural pessimism to disappear and thought we were going to horse them 5 or 6 nil on the night and the second leg would be an irrelevance...

Nope, can’t think of anything. Or at least not until I’ve finished therapy.

Assuming this means billionaire owner fantasy rather than part owner of fan-owned club, I agree with renovating Firhill. A few years ago if asked this hypothetical question I’d have looked at moving back to Partick at the riverside and trying to sort a new ground to be shared (with astro) with Glasgow Warriors with a setup similar to Newcastle Falcons ground of 2 stands and 2 sides terracing, but I think the community side of the club is excellent now and there’s nowhere we can realistically move to.

However the stadium is a binfire if we’re being honest, even the newest stand is 20 years old and showing it.

I don’t really want to see us advertise anyone, maybe if there was a company called FTOF Ltd or something like that

How will you do?

With new owners comes new optimism. I'm hoping for a decent push for the play offs this season. I'd expect Dundee United to be too strong over 36 games but there is not reason why we shouldn't be aiming for 2nd or 3rd.

Most will probably say beating Motherwell in the Scottish Cup but I'd go for the Challenge Cup semi final win against Dundee. In what was a regular pattern over the season we only had 2 out field subs and were 2 down going on 5 at half time. We somehow scored 2 goals in the last 13 minutes and won on penalties with Robbie Thomson giving a master class in trash talking.

Losing twice to Hamilton within 9 days in a Cup Final and the League. The latter of which killed our play off hopes and we didn't win another game for the rest of the season.

Reopen the original home section of the Railway Stand as every week we seem to be shooting into the South (home) stand in the first half.

If they still existing, Jackie O's for sentimental reasons.

Edited by mrpaddyx

How will you do?

I think we’ll make the play-offs unless somebody pinches Imrie.

King Efe Ambrose’s goal and acrobatic celebration against Partick (and the look on the other players’ faces as he did it).

Although it didn’t really matter, I’d have to say sitting at Celtic Park and watching a referee and assorted clowns on VAR somehow manage to give a penalty for the ball hitting Ambrose’s hand behind his back… As John Lydon says, ever get the feeling you’ve been cheated?

Five-year contract for Imrie, put a roof over the terracing at both ends of the ground, social club in behind the Norseman, and bin those fkn turnstiles…

Eldorado, obvs.

How will you do?

If you’d asked me at the end of last season then I’d have said Top 4 but the squad looks really thin at the moment so I’d say somewhere in the 5th-8th no man’s land.

Beating Falkirk 2-0 at a packed and raucous East End Park to move eight points clear at the top. Everyone knew that any suggestion of a title race was over and we would be champions.

Dropping four points over the season against Falkirk - humiliating.

Try and find out how 3500 season tickets, the Nisbet sell-on clause, great kit sales, sold out hospitality, loads of sponsors etc has not seemingly resulted in more summer transfer business.

I’d like to see a number of local companies all chipping in together every year and letting a local charity get top billing. I’d try and do a different one each week but I appreciate that wouldn’t exactly be cost effective…

Edited by Cardle is Magic

How will you do?

Unlike my fellow diamond I have enough confidence in McCabe that I believe we will be comfortably above the bottom 2 spots. I'm hoping for the bottom 2 to be fairly isolated with a bit of the season to go. The squad is lacking at the moment however we will hopefully see McCabe being able to utilise the expected income from Justin Devenny to strengthen sufficiently. 

The obvious answer being the play off victory over Accies. The 6 - 2 game v Falkirk sitting immediately in front of their directors and guests was very enjoyable too. Basically every time the team clicked and played the opposition off the park including the first half v Dunfermline before they mounted the second half comeback to win 3 - 4.

See above Dunfermline comeback. Losing in extra time at Dundee after going down to 10 men. 

If you were the owner of your club, what would you do? 

I'm of the opinion that the current owner is doing a lot of things right, quietly getting on with things in the background and this season's appointment of a supporter liaison and fans steering group is a forward step. Basically just back McCabe to the hilt and let him get on with things because he seems to have a good idea of what he wants to do and how to achieve it.

Holemasters have been very good to us over the past few seasons that they've been doing it and I'm very grateful for that. 

However a sponsorless shirt is the ideal but if forced to have one then the classic DALZIEL that I grew up with. Or if De Beers fancied involvement with a different type of diamond I'd not knock that one back.