Partick Thistle vs Arbroath - 6th January 2024

It’s nice to have another game so soon after a win. We weren’t super convincing yesterday but we got the job done. Hopefully we see some more consistency to our play on Saturday, but I’d take any sort of win. 

Will we have anyone left alive?  New signing Innes Murray looked absolutely done in after an hour of that match and could barely run, Hamilton really shouldn't be playing with a broken toe, and Slater was holding his shoulder and wincing for most of the last 20 minutes.  

1 hour ago, ExiledLichtie said:

Will we have anyone left alive?  New signing Innes Murray looked absolutely done in after an hour of that match and could barely run, Hamilton really shouldn't be playing with a broken toe, and Slater was holding his shoulder and wincing for most of the last 20 minutes.  

Ken, canna believe Slater stayed on to save United from Adams 

Arbroath are short of players due to lots of players out injured - meaning many of the players available are playing out of position.

However, they have all been playing remarkably really well, risen to the challenge and put in regular consistency performances.

Think this game is wide open - Arbroath may be short on numbers, but the players have shown they are for up for the fight.

A difficult score to predict - but will go with an away win.

1 hour ago, oneteaminglasgow said:

You’ve won one league game since the end of September.

We need to start turning these performances into points - we have played well against Raith, Dunfermline, Morton and others - minor errors have cost us points ( yes, it's football, happens to every team).

The point is, given the circumstances, we have been playing some fine football.

7 hours ago, clashcityrocker said:

Arbroath are short of players due to lots of players out injured - meaning many of the players available are playing out of position.

However, they have all been playing remarkably really well, risen to the challenge and put in regular consistency performances.

Think this game is wide open - Arbroath may be short on numbers, but the players have shown they are for up for the fight.

A difficult score to predict - but will go with an away win.

How can you possibly say this game is wide open?  We can barely get 11 players on the pitch!   At the moment, this game absolutely favours Thistle, and unless our squad makes a pilgrimage to Lourdes and we sign 2 defenders, we are going to be very much up against it.

16 hours ago, clashcityrocker said:

A difficult score to predict

Thistle have 18 points from their last 10 games and Arbroath have picked up 5 points during that time.

It’s the Championship so no result would truly shock you but I’d imagine Thistle would be comfortable favourites for most people.

Thistle clearly massive favs for this. Need bodies in the door or back to fitness. Massive ask really with 3 games in a week and 9 of the 11 playing full 90 on Tuesday and then most again Saturday passed.

to get any result here would need Partick to have an off day us to be solid, rigid and luck on top of that. Ayr the following week more likely to be looking at gaining points 

At least the pitch gets a bit of a break after this, next scheduled home game is 17 February, tho if we get through in the cup (unlikely) and get a home draw then next round is 10 Feb. 

Suppose if us and Raith both get knocked out we could play the postponed game that week as well. 

2 hours ago, Fuctifano said:

At least the pitch gets a bit of a break after this, next scheduled home game is 17 February, tho if we get through in the cup (unlikely) and get a home draw then next round is 10 Feb. 

Suppose if us and Raith both get knocked out we could play the postponed game that week as well. 

Pitch in a bad way again? 

6 hours ago, ptfc. 22 said:

It's been really good since 21/22 but on Tuesday the JH side looked quite bad so it's good for it to get a break.

Walk by it most days on Canal path....ground staff always out working on it ,looks a wee bit better than post match Tuesday and forecast looks favourable. 

7 hours ago, lichtie23 said:

Pitch in a bad way again? 

Aidan Fitzpatrick actually played better on that side, during the second half. 

14 hours ago, jagfox said:

Aidan Fitzpatrick actually played better on that side, during the second half. 

Not surprising as the wee man has been known to occasionally walk on water when needs must.

David Mitchell definitely won’t be back in the squad tomorrow, Doolan didn’t give a timescale on his return but said he has a back injury. Sneddon will keep his place between the sticks then. 

Got the stream for this one, Thistle usually have a good quality broadcast, although their system was a little cryptic last time.   Looking forward to seeing how our walking wounded get on this time.  I'm expecting the new guy to be dropped straight into the line up, simply because we don't really have anyone else. 

So a back four of Stewart, Broken Toe Hamilton, the new guy, and presumably Norey.  Lets just try and survive this one!