The Annan Athletic thread

13 hours ago, the philosopher said:

Paul McGowan - Quality - lets get a few young boys on loan we're sorted.

Bring on the Queens.

What's that noise? Sounds like the bottom of a barrel being scraped. You really are obsessed wi the Region's big team.

20 hours ago, Fae_the_'briggs said:

What's that noise? Sounds like the bottom of a barrel being scraped. You really are obsessed wi the Region's big team.

Ha ha , obsessed ? & you're on the Annan thread, how ironic .

1 hour ago, the philosopher said:

Ha ha , obsessed ? & you're on the Annan thread, how ironic .

Whether Paul is the answer remains to be seen. However there is no doubt the TYPE is  exactly the fit ( experience ) Annan have needed for a long long time ? Well done Wullie and your staff for  the way of thinking and very good luck.

A solid start today. We are still lacking in defence and we could do with an extra attacking option but the positives are there. As we've seen in preseason we look like we're taking the game to teams. Definitely a performance we can build on. 

2 hours ago, leomessi1984 said:

Jacques Hegharty on trial with Kelty. Any thoughts from the Annan troops? See he played a handful of games for you on loan.

The definition of Meh tbh. Felt more confident when Fleming returned from his injury. When first saw his name thought we had started signing players from Edusport again!

Re yesterday's game was pleased with the result but definitely rode our luck in the second half.  

New keeper impressed me and Wullie and Josh Todd linked up well. Still got Hooper and Kilsby to come into defence so promising signs.

Expected more from ICT and their packed bench seemed to be basically their youth team .

38 minutes ago, Hauftimedraw said:

The definition of Meh tbh. Felt more confident when Fleming returned from his injury. When first saw his name thought we had started signing players from Edusport again!

Infamous French players flying around from Edusport were interesting 😆

Thankfully the young lad just has an unusual name for a Scotsman. Fleming has been a good keeper for years so that's not a surprise. Sounds like a lot of potential from the QP faithful. Thanks for the info.

1 hour ago, Hauftimedraw said:

Expected more from ICT and their packed bench seemed to be basically their youth team .

Their entire side is their youth team apart from around 3/4 older guys that have stuck around. Unless this deal happens they're in for a long season. 

On 14/07/2024 at 09:50, leomessi1984 said:

Jacques Hegharty on trial with Kelty. Any thoughts from the Annan troops? See he played a handful of games for you on loan.

I thought he was a decent keeper. We didn't see much of him when Greg was fit again. I'd happily have seen him back at Galabank. 

57 minutes ago, the philosopher said:

Malik Zaid signed 1 year loan from Hibs.

Ji Stevenson 6month loan from Partick Thistle.

Another centre back and we should be sorted.

Hoping both are good attacking options as we're light up front with only Tommy Goss and Aidan Smith. Definitely need at least another CB but two would be better. 

On 20/07/2024 at 15:00, JimThorburn said:

Hoping both are good attacking options as we're light up front with only Tommy Goss and Aidan Smith. Definitely need at least another CB but two would be better. 

Ji Stevenson was fairly pish for the Clyde side that was rooted to the bottom of League 2 last year. 

Here to echo dfc 92 great passing display your lads had excellent first touches and rarely needed a 2nd

and the young zaid is a pler

always nice to see the 9th wonder of the world in a gowser pirouette too😁

good luck in the coming season 

On 22/07/2024 at 08:23, The Moonster said:

Ji Stevenson was fairly pish for the Clyde side that was rooted to the bottom of League 2 last year. 

It's probably fair to say that the majority of Clyde players were fairly pish last season given they were rooted to the bottom of league 2. Hopefully Stevenson can find some form for us.