El Final: 🇪🇸 Spain v England 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿

ClydeTon

On 18/07/2024 at 17:57, badgerthewitness said:

I think they're done for a generation, they're broken. They won't come this close for a long time.

I concur.

Regardless of who they appoint, if he's in any way more expansive and attack-minded, that will just expose their lack of talent in the centre of the park, their questionable defence and goalkeeping, and see them punted at their customary QF stage. 

Southgate has them playing the most sterile, pragmatic, caution first, second, and third football imaginable, and it still wasn't enough to get them over the hump or look like even being competitive with the genuinely good teams. Enough to conquer the drivel, aye, and even scrape past most of the "better than average" bracket, but not the genuinely "big" nations when they are anything approaching their usual competitive selves.

They've had constant favourable draws that will not continue on forever, and I still think the majority of their players are extremely flattered by playing next to far superior foreign players at their club sides, and in truth, are simply not as good as most English pundits and fans appear to believe. In essence, they have an "Andy Robertson question" in most areas of the park.

If they appoint a more flamboyant manager, even a competent, expensive, proven one, and they bomb out of the WC in the groups or first two KO rounds, the knives will be out and the clamour for an Englishman will start up. That's when they hand it over to some dross like Sean Dyche, and we're slap back in the McLaren/Hodgson banter years of seeing them punted out in the group stages or failing to qualify at all.

I think there is a group that believes all this England side needs to become world-beaters is a Pep or a Klopp in charge. For a start, I can't see either of those touching the job with a bargepole, but I also don't see how a Pep or Klopp overcomes the fact that they have nothing in mid playing in front of the Defence. Declan Rice is an absolute carthorse, and this Mainoo guy is a squareball merchant in the mould of Ferguson/McGregor. Nothing inherently wrong with a guy who just plays neat and tidy simple passes, but you're not going to compete with nations who can trot out a genuinely top playmaker with a midfield pairing of Declan Rice and anybody. Their fullbacks are either old or permacrocks, and their best option at GK is a brexity maniac whose career peak will be trundling out for a relegation-threatened Everton week after week. Who the hell would want to manage that when there is no chequebook option available, and club sides can and will still pay you way more than the FA?

I also think there is a better than average chance that Bellingham turns out to be a destructive, wayward, cancerous, self-absorbed arsehole and a total distraction in an England shirt, to the point whereby regardless of his talent, he's cast into the International wilderness because to include him would be more bother than it's worth, or else, he takes the huff for some reason and takes the decision out of the FA/coaches hands. I don't doubt the laddie is talented, possibly the biggest talent they've unearthed since Wayne Rooney, but like Rooney himself they seem to go to more or less every tournament with the latest and greatest "wonderkid" who either flames out in short order, or doesn't in any discernible way get them any closer to actually winning anything. Beckham, Owen, Walcott, Rooney, Kane, hell, even Jadon Sancho, Rashford, Dele Alli (😆), they were all going to be "the guy", and none of them made the blindest bit of difference.

Edited by Boo Khaki

15 hours ago, Boo Khaki said:

I concur.

Regardless of who they appoint, if he's in any way more expansive and attack-minded, that will just expose their lack of talent in the centre of the park, their questionable defence and goalkeeping, and see them punted at their customary QF stage. 

Southgate has them playing the most sterile, pragmatic, caution first, second, and third football imaginable, and it still wasn't enough to get them over the hump or look like even being competitive with the genuinely good teams. Enough to conquer the drivel, aye, and even scrape past most of the "better than average" bracket, but not the genuinely "big" nations when they are anything approaching their usual competitive selves.

They've had constant favourable draws that will not continue on forever, and I still think the majority of their players are extremely flattered by playing next to far superior foreign players at their club sides, and in truth, are simply not as good as most English pundits and fans appear to believe. In essence, they have an "Andy Robertson question" in most areas of the park.

If they appoint a more flamboyant manager, even a competent, expensive, proven one, and they bomb out of the WC in the groups or first two KO rounds, the knives will be out and the clamour for an Englishman will start up. That's when they hand it over to some dross like Sean Dyche, and we're slap back in the McLaren/Hodgson banter years of seeing them punted out in the group stages or failing to qualify at all.

I think there is a group that believes all this England side needs to become world-beaters is a Pep or a Klopp in charge. For a start, I can't see either of those touching the job with a bargepole, but I also don't see how a Pep or Klopp overcomes the fact that they have nothing in mid playing in front of the Defence. Declan Rice is an absolute carthorse, and this Mainoo guy is a squareball merchant in the mould of Ferguson/McGregor. Nothing inherently wrong with a guy who just plays neat and tidy simple passes, but you're not going to compete with nations who can trot out a genuinely top playmaker with a midfield pairing of Declan Rice and anybody. Their fullbacks are either old or permacrocks, and their best option at GK is a brexity maniac whose career peak will be trundling out for a relegation-threatened Everton week after week. Who the hell would want to manage that when there is no chequebook option available, and club sides can and will still pay you way more than the FA?

I also think there is a better than average chance that Bellingham turns out to be a destructive, wayward, cancerous, self-absorbed arsehole and a total distraction in an England shirt, to the point whereby regardless of his talent, he's cast into the International wilderness because to include him would be more bother than it's worth, or else, he takes the huff for some reason and takes the decision out of the FA/coaches hands. I don't doubt the laddie is talented, possibly the biggest talent they've unearthed since Wayne Rooney, but like Rooney himself they seem to go to more or less every tournament with the latest and greatest "wonderkid" who either flames out in short order, or doesn't in any discernible way get them any closer to actually winning anything. Beckham, Owen, Walcott, Rooney, Kane, hell, even Jadon Sancho, Rashford, Dele Alli (😆), they were all going to be "the guy", and none of them made the blindest bit of difference.

I think they will always be a danger in home tournaments, 2028 is not that far away.

11 hours ago, Pie Of The Month said:

Tierney just catching up with his former teammate Oyarzabal

GTCYnJwWwAAuw2z?format=jpg&name=900x900

Yes, their tournaments took slightly different trajectories.

The last time Tierney got greeted like that by a player was because he'd just won a goal kick in the second minute of the whole competition.

12 minutes ago, velo army said:

Seems like a decent wind-up tbf.

Not really. All this political pish in fitba can GTF. Making weird hand signs etc.

Its cringy AF.

Just now, Venti said:

Not really. All this political pish in fitba can GTF. Making weird hand signs etc.

Its cringy AF.

The Gibraltar thing was aimed at England fans and is along the lines of "we're gonna deep fry yer pizzas". 

Football is an expression of ourselves and our self/civic/national identity which intertwines unavoidably with politics.

9 minutes ago, velo army said:

The Gibraltar thing was aimed at England fans and is along the lines of "we're gonna deep fry yer pizzas". 

Football is an expression of ourselves and our self/civic/national identity which intertwines unavoidably with politics.

Like I said. Cringy AF.

2 hours ago, Venti said:

Like I said. Cringy AF.

quite the take. Only "politics" in sport that makes you cringe or are there a few other things that set you off? 

Edited by Pocketman
typos

22 minutes ago, Pocketman said:

quite the take. Only "politics" in sport that makes you cringe or are there a few other things that set you off? 

Not wound up/triggered at all.

You'll end up with a fine for being a fanny.

3 hours ago, velo army said:

It's nothing like, we'll deep fry your pizza?

10 hours ago, Binos said:

It's nothing like, we'll deep fry your pizza?

Aye you're right. I imagine Morata and Rodri are firm believers in Spanish imperialism to the extent that it's the first thing they think to sing about after winning a major championship. It's definitely not just a light hearted bam-up of the English.

Remember that the whole tone and tenor of social media (and even news media) is to promote outrage. Every tiny wee detail is transmogrified into a casus belli. This is what you've fallen victim to, I fear.