Golfers Thread

Gaz

11 minutes ago, VictorOnopko said:

Haha... To be fair, Porthcawl looks like a great test. Wish we'd got windy conditions like these last week at the Open. 

If it had got as bad as this last week I'm 99.9% sure they would have taken the players off the course.

Euan McIntosh was T7th, despite an awful closing stretch dropping 4 shots in 3 holes late in his round.

He was pro but gave up for years but was reinstated as an amateur in 2015 with his long term plan being to play on the Legends Tour. He was the oldest player to win the Scottish amateur at age 49 in 2018, the managed to get his card for the legends tour just before Covid hit. He has one win so far to his name.

1 minute ago, Distant Doonhamer said:

Even better.

Laird projected up to 111th in FedEx rankings after being 157th before this event.

He'll need another good finish next week to make the playoffs. Good chance to keep his card now.

5 hours ago, Mark Connolly said:

1 stroke lead for Cejka heading to the 18th.

I like both him and Harrington, but as I've become unnecessarily annoyed by Padraig's inability to put his hat on properly, I will be supporting Cejka

Poston cost himself $260k with his 8 on the last hole last night. His second shot was just bonkers, with Hodges in the middle of the fairway with a wedge shot to come, even if he somehow made eagle it wasn't going to make any difference. 

Handicap down from 10.7 to 10.5 on the basis of yesterday.  Feels about right, not playing well at all with iron in hand so not my best.  Would like to get back sub-10 but think lessons might be required.  Not sure what’s going on.

Haven’t played at all for a week, following last week’s ‘played four days in a row’ nonsense that hammered my 62 year old legs and feet(and resulted in being dumped oot’ the seniors championship at the semi final stage.) 😎

Needed a break to ‘reset’ and ‘work on my process’. Maybe even find a new game plan to execute. Opened up the iPad this morning to look at available tee times, maybe nip out for twelve holes later… due to torrential overnight rain, the course is flooded and will remain closed until the next inspection at noon.

Summertime, and the living is easyyyy…. Etc. Scotland, eh? 😄

I seem to have lost the ability to recover from a bad shot to limit the damage to making bogey at worst of late - 2 counting rounds Saturday with a total of 4 doubles, 3 triples and a horrendous 9 on a par 4 (with no penalty shots and a meltdown on the green).

From a position of relative strength a couple of weeks ago with several free hits and what seemed a realistic proposition of getting down to 4 for the first time in about 35 years, I've burned through 5 rounds and now have only 2 free hits left. I think my tenure playing off 5 may be pretty short-lived... 🙄

On 28/07/2023 at 16:50, funky_nomad said:

Some excellent holes (the 18th in particular is a cracking finishing hole, and a potential score-wrecker) but over the past couple of years it has started to look a bit rough around the edges - they had some significant issues with a load of bunker faces collapsing and there are loads of patches where the edge of the first cut goes from zero grass to hairy with nothing in between, leading to some very poor lies. I heard that the irrigation system hadn't worked properly for some time, and this was backed up with seeing a greenkeeper out with a bowser and a length of hose to water some greens at 9pm one evening last summer. The recent patch of damp weather will probably have helped reduce the impact of the patchy fairways, tbh.

Top tip: most of the major trouble is right off the tee, and there's generally LOADS of space left (the odd patch of gorse aside), so get the draw working and you should be okay - I've even seen some members aiming 2 fairways left off the 1st tee to get a better look at the green.

Thanks, thats some great info. I am looking forward to it as i just dont get to play enough links golf. 

issue being the natural shape for me is a cut. could be some 3 woods and 3 irons off the tee. Thanks again 

Made a mistake today that I won't make again. Booked a tee time with my dad, tee sheet was pretty dead so booked half 12 which had only a guest booking out half an hour before us and nothing for 45 minutes after us. We had caught the 3 ball of guests by the 4th hole, and the guys (who were playing a tie) who were out after us caught us by the 12th. They weren't letting anyone through and it appears the only etiquette they were aware of was that the guy furthest away should play first, which they steadfastedly stuck to regardless of what was going on. Fucking mental, the guys in the tie behind us were going ape shit, we let them through at the 12th and I think they had a bit of a fight with the guys at the 13th. We weren't in any rush but we were nearly 3 hours 45 to get round on a day there was barely anyone on the course. 

f**k auld dicks at golf clubs, but f**k auld dicks playing as guests even more. 

Edited by The Moonster

20 minutes ago, The Moonster said:

Made a mistake today that I won't make again. Booked a tee time with my dad, tee sheet was pretty dead so booked half 12 which had only a guest booking out half an hour before us and nothing for 45 minutes after us. We had caught the 3 ball of guests by the 4th hole, and the guys (who were playing a tie) who were out after us caught us by the 12th. They weren't letting anyone through and it appears the only etiquette they were aware of was that the guy furthest away should play first, which they steadfastedly stuck to regardless of what was going on. Fucking mental, the guys in the tie behind us were going ape shit, we let them through at the 12th and I think they had a bit of a fight with the guys at the 13th. We weren't in any rush but we were nearly 3 hours 45 to get round on a day there was barely anyone on the course. 

f**k auld dicks at golf clubs, but f**k auld dicks playing as guests even more. 

I have some sympathy with the club pros etc who must get it from folk like us all the time, and tbf, not everyone even goes in yhe shop to check in with them, but guests must, and as guests the pro should take the opportunity to affirm the club rules. Most people would think more about slow play if it was mentioned to them at the start of a round.

I always go on about this too, but the whole "aye well pay pay our money same as you" excuse is bullshit aswell. You pay to play golf mate, and you socialise as the golf allows. Your first priority is to keep up with the group in front. Git your chat around that. It's no a fucking social club