Quick Question Thread

Google and various AI searches have failed me so reaching out to P&B...

I'm trying to find a song which has been rattling about my head that I remember hearing in childhood (late 80s / early 90s) but I'm fairly sure it dates back further than that as it would have been on Radio Clyde 2 which my parents listened to at that point. It was on absolutely loads around that time along with other pish like Foster and Allen.

It has a 60s New Seekers / Peter Paul & Mary vibe with block harmonies

Starting point is it might be called something like the Islander Tree or Allander Tree though obviously those aren't turning up anything on google.

and the lyrics I half remember go something like

"under the shade of the" (maybe "under the beautiful") Islander? Tree at the end of the chorus

and there's a bit which goes "those days I remember" just before that.

Edited by Fuctifano

14 hours ago, Fuctifano said:

I'm trying to find a song which has been rattling about my head that I remember hearing in childhood (late 80s / early 90s) but I'm fairly sure it dates back further than that as it would have been on Radio Clyde 2 which my parents listened to at that point. It was on absolutely loads around that time along with other pish like Foster and Allen.

Starting point is it might be called something like the Islander Tree or Allander Tree though obviously those aren't turning up anything on google.

"under the shade of the" (maybe "under the beautiful") Islander? Tree at the end of the chorus

Does this help?

https://www.ranker.com/list/songs-about-trees/ranker-music

18 hours ago, Fuctifano said:

f**king hell it was the Seekers.

Island of Dreams not Islander Tree. All the lyrics I remember were wrong too.

edit: of course there's a version of it by Foster & Allen as well.

Edited by Fuctifano

13 minutes ago, Fuctifano said:

Written by Dusty Springfield’s brother Tom and made the charts in the early 60s when they, along with someone else, were The Springfields. 

1 hour ago, Fuctifano said:

Judith Durham............😍

(c'mon, I was only 5 yrs. old)

3 minutes ago, Sergeant Wilson said:

I'm not disagreeing entirely, but she was no Miley Cyrus.

R.jpeg

I was very impressionable.

At this young age, I also had wee crushes on Mirelle Mathieu and Valerie Singleton. (Ah ken......whit ah ma' like......)

2 hours ago, Fuctifano said:

First song I googled last night

IODPandB.jpg.2b931271d63c8d0ad397ce1e894566f7.jpg

Yeah, fecked if you do know.....🤣

37 minutes ago, Florentine_Pogen said:

I was very impressionable.

At this young age, I also had wee crushes on Mirelle Mathieu and Valerie Singleton. (Ah ken......whit ah ma' like......)

I think there might've been a valve away on your telly.

9 minutes ago, jimbaxters said:

As has everyone's concern for him too, it seems.

Well I'm concerned for a guy's wellbeing.

2 hours ago, jimbaxters said:

As has everyone's concern for him too, it seems.

As Eednud noted, it's been discussed a couple of times on the MIA thread, but no one seems to know him directly.