Depression

If you feel like youre about to slip into a shitey mood, check out Elliot Hulses youtube vid on depression.

Or watch Jeremy Kyle in the morning. If ever there was a programme to make you feel better about your life then that's the one :lol:

• 4 weeks later...

Not really the right thread to put this in, but creating a new one isn't necessary.

During the past year, I've found myself feeling pretty anxious about things; pretty much anything going on in my life, whether it is an important thing or a really minor one. I try not to take life too seriously in order not to get worked up about stuff, but my tendency to not care about things can also be something quite negative. Anyway, I've been feeling really stressed over the last couple of days in relation to sorting out a new flat in Dundee. Today, in particular, I've felt pretty sick and dizzy because of it. Checked my heart rate a few times today just out of interest, and it's pretty much constantly at 120bpm which is a bit worrying. Should I check this out? Maybe I have anxiety/stress problems.

It's been 4 years since I left the Forces and I felt fine to begin with. I then started drinking seriously, had an affair and tried to top myself twice. The last straw was when I went out on a Thursday and returned on a Tuesday without a clue where I had been. my wife, who had just had our first child, gave me an ultimatum. Get help or get a divorce.

I didn't think I needed any help, all very bravado but when the bin lorry dropped a bin in town I hit the deck screaming at my wife to get me my fuckin rifle. At that point I knew she wad right, I was fucked.

I got help. I quit the drink and haven't drunk since then. I then joined the National Gulf Veterans and families Association and got help. They have councillors who specialise in cases like mine and after a week break with them and counselling it became clear that things that had happened had affected me more than I thought and they concluded I had PTSD. I am a changed man now from what I become when I left, I felt that drinking would numb my depressive thoughts and when that didn't work I wanted to end it, but I never did because deep down I knew I couldn't.

I am now in a great job, still with my lovely Wife and have two girls. I still have bad days, and can't watch certain things but I can handle things better now through different techniques I have been taught

Iknow it's not depression but PTSD is a dangerous problem that I am not scared to admit I have.

Edited by HighlandSaint

Philpy, if you were truly depressed, you would be in bed with the curtains shut instead of posting about it on here. I'm not saying you're not being genuine with regards to feeling uptight but sharing your problems on here isn't going to sort anything. This clearly isn't just about your job and you need to talk to a professional about how you are feeling and a good start point would be to make an appointment with your GP.

How do you know exactly how he'd react if he was depressed?

Everything he's describing sounds like classic symptoms of depression.

You're bang on about how Philpy should speak to someone about his problems but you're wrong to say that sharing his problems on here won't help anything.

If you look at others who've posted on this thread you'll see it helped then to discuss their issues and some felt better when they got all that shite off their chest.

People shouldn't be put down for posting on here and should only be met with sympathy if you ask me.

It's been 4 years since I left the Forces and I felt fine to begin with. I then started drinking seriously, had an affair and tried to top myself twice. The last straw was when I went out on a Thursday and returned on a Tuesday without a clue where I had been. my wife, who had just had our first child, gave me an ultimatum. Get help or get a divorce.

I didn't think I needed any help, all very bravado but when the bin lorry dropped a bin in town I hit the deck screaming at my wife to get me my fuckin rifle. At that point I knew she wad right, I was fucked.

I got help. I quit the drink and haven't drunk since then. I then joined the National Gulf Veterans and families Association and got help. They have councillors who specialise in cases like mine and after a week break with them and counselling it became clear that things that had happened had affected me more than I thought and they concluded I had PTSD. I am a changed man now from what I become when I left, I felt that drinking would numb my depressive thoughts and when that didn't work I wanted to end it, but I never did because deep down I knew I couldn't.

I am now in a great job, still with my lovely Wife and have two girls. I still have bad days, and can't watch certain things but I can handle things better now through different techniques I have been taught

Iknow it's not depression but PTSD is a dangerous problem that I am not scared to admit I have.

Glad you got things sorted out

I cant understand why people tell you how you should be behave if you are depressed. In the passed I could be fine one minute and rock bottom the next, when I was at my lowest I didnt want people to know about it because of the circumstances behind it but got to the point my work refered me to a councilor due to a drop in my work quality

People may just come on to share and hope that others can understand how they feel and maybe by reading how other people came to terms with whatever issues were causing the depression. Everyone is different and copes with things in different ways, it may be an open forum but theres no point in knocking people down because they don't behave how you believe they should. Unless you have been there yourself its hard to comment

Depression is a strange thing given how tricky it is to measure. It is relatively difficult for someone to be found clinically depressed, but it doesn't mean that peoples problems should be overlooked. Obviously things come along in life which can cause a lot of stress which in turn has an impact on how we look in life. People handle it in different ways. I've always maintained that the football and going out exercising helps me any time I feel down.

I always point to one particular point when I was at college in terms of when I felt at my lowest. With a combination of family problems, having a small social circle and other personal issues, I came out of an assessment at college utterly convinced that I'd failed. I sat on a bench in a park thinking "what the f**k am I going to do with my life", and I really thought that it was the end and I was going nowhere. I didn't have any suicidal thoughts or such, but it was without a doubt my lowest time.

Fortunately, things managed to pick up and over the next few years I managed to start getting things done that I wanted to. I lost 3 and a bit stone in weight, went on to uni and got myself a degree and met a load of people from throughout the world. I always look back and use that time as a motivation, and if I do feel shite I'll refer back to it and remember how things could be worse.

Most importantly, sometimes the best thing you can do is clear the air with other people and hear back what others think. A lot of people put too much pressure on themselves and bottle it up which causes more problems than it solves. It is good to see a lot of people opening up with their experiences on this thread.

Depression is a strange thing given how tricky it is to measure. It is relatively difficult for someone to be found clinically depressed, but it doesn't mean that peoples problems should be overlooked. Obviously things come along in life which can cause a lot of stress which in turn has an impact on how we look in life. People handle it in different ways. I've always maintained that the football and going out exercising helps me any time I feel down.

I always point to one particular point when I was at college in terms of when I felt at my lowest. With a combination of family problems, having a small social circle and other personal issues, I came out of an assessment at college utterly convinced that I'd failed. I sat on a bench in a park thinking "what the f**k am I going to do with my life", and I really thought that it was the end and I was going nowhere. I didn't have any suicidal thoughts or such, but it was without a doubt my lowest time.

Fortunately, things managed to pick up and over the next few years I managed to start getting things done that I wanted to. I lost 3 and a bit stone in weight, went on to uni and got myself a degree and met a load of people from throughout the world. I always look back and use that time as a motivation, and if I do feel shite I'll refer back to it and remember how things could be worse.

Most importantly, sometimes the best thing you can do is clear the air with other people and hear back what others think. A lot of people put too much pressure on themselves and bottle it up which causes more problems than it solves. It is good to see a lot of people opening up with their experiences on this thread.

Agreed

I cant understand why people tell you how you should be behave if you are depressed. In the passed I could be fine one minute and rock bottom the next, when I was at my lowest I didnt want people to know about it because of the circumstances behind it but got to the point my work refered me to a councilor due to a drop in my work quality

People may just come on to share and hope that others can understand how they feel and maybe by reading how other people came to terms with whatever issues were causing the depression. Everyone is different and copes with things in different ways, it may be an open forum but theres no point in knocking people down because they don't behave how you believe they should. Unless you have been there yourself its hard to comment

I agree totally with this. Whilst there are 'typical' symptoms, it differs for everyone.

• 5 weeks later...

Evening

Recently i've never felt so down in my life than i have just now. I've been getting myself so worked up in thinking i have Crohn's. I just want to fast forward to next Tuesday and find out if i have Crohn's then see what the next steps are from then :(

Was down South last weekend playing Football and i hardly played!. Didn't start a game, was a sub every game, Played 3 games in a total of 10mins!. I worked my ass off training to play but to end up hardly playing really pissed me off. My mate's auld man said he thought it was shocking i was hardly getting a game and he said i'm better than the majority of our squad. My Confidence went from Great to sad in the space of 3 days because of this. :(

On Saturday night down there. Someone in our complex we were staying in was taken away by paramedics in a Ambulance :(. I broke down in tears infront of everyone as it had bring back memories of myself getting taking away in one when i was younger fighting for my life. :(.

I ended up packing in my Football on Wednesday Night there as i couldn't be arsed with as i have all these problems around me at the moment :(

Was at the doctors yesterday morning and he said i could make an appointment anytime and speak to him about anything. Which made me a little bit happy :)

Would love to post more but it's making me upset typing all of this up :(

Edited by Isaiah Osbourne

And see a doctor. That would probably be better than telling us you're about to have a heart attack.

Seeing a Doctor is obviously the best step but talking to people is often a good way to get things of your chest and to feel less stressed out and more understood. No need tae be such an utter radge man.

Evening

Recently i've never felt so down in my life than i have just now. I've been getting myself so worked up in thinking i have Crohn's. I just want to fast forward to next Tuesday and find out if i have Crohn's then see what the next steps are from then :(

Was down South last weekend playing Football and i hardly played!. Didn't start a game, was a sub every game, Played 3 games in a total of 10mins!. I worked my ass off training to play but to end up hardly playing really pissed me off. My mate's auld man said he thought it was shocking i was hardly getting a game and he said i'm better than the majority of our squad. My Confidence went from Great to sad in the space of 3 days because of this. :(

On Saturday night down there. Someone in our complex we were staying in was taken away by paramedics in a Ambulance :(. I broke down in tears infront of everyone as it had bring back memories of myself getting taking away in one when i was younger fighting for my life. :(.

I ended up packing in my Football on Wednesday Night there as i couldn't be arsed with as i have all these problems around me at the moment :(

Was at the doctors yesterday morning and he said i could make an appointment anytime and speak to him about anything. Which made me a little bit happy :)

Would love to post more but it's making me upset typing all of this up :(

Mate, don't worry - Tuesday will be along in its own time, and worrying isn't going to help, although I can totally understand why you're freaking out.

You may not have Chrohn's - wait and see how the tests go.

If the tests don't go the way we want (God forbid) then you can learn how cope with it - a mate of mine has had Crohns for well over ten years, and he's the nicest and happiest guy you could meet - and he's a fucking Hibs fan! ;)

There will be plenty of help and advice available to you from your doctors, your family, and from folk on here who have first hand experience of Crohns.

Just a few days 'til you find out, mate - stick in, and look after yourself.

Fingers crossed for you. :)

Mate, don't worry - Tuesday will be along in its own time, and worrying isn't going to help, although I can totally understand why you're freaking out.

You may not have Chrohn's - wait and see how the tests go.

If the tests don't go the way we want (God forbid) then you can learn how cope with it - a mate of mine has had Crohns for well over ten years, and he's the nicest and happiest guy you could meet - and he's a fucking Hibs fan! ;)

There will be plenty of help and advice available to you from your doctors, your family, and from folk on here who have first hand experience of Crohns.

Just a few days 'til you find out, mate - stick in, and look after yourself.

Fingers crossed for you. :)

Cheers mate for the reply. Much appreciated