The All New Occasionally Aussie P+B Quiz League and ☕ Occasional Cup ☕

2 hours ago, The_Kincardine said:

Your spelling and punctuation are shit, btw, but you're absolutely right.  Everyone loves a storyteller and warms to little anecdotes.  Human interest does interest we humans.

My 20 yo - aside from finishing her Honours dissertation - has a presentation for a 12-month paid internship next month.  I was telling her exactly that.  "Make it memorable, make it personal and weave in a couple of anecdotes'.  She's still a sceptic but, on this point, I'm right!

Love the pic of yer own wee yin, btw.  She's a wee smasher.

It was a bit of an attempt (and rightly so) at an integrated curriculum.  We had The Stranger (although I'm pretty certain it was called The Outsider when we read it) and The Plague as Higher English set texts and L'Étranger as a Higher French text.

Can't speak for what you did in your Basturd English A-Levels, though.  And clearly, it did me no good as I got the quiz Q wrong.

lucky you know me.  

21 hours ago, The_Kincardine said:

It was a bit of an attempt (and rightly so) at an integrated curriculum.  We had The Stranger (although I'm pretty certain it was called The Outsider when we read it) and The Plague as Higher English set texts and L'Étranger as a Higher French text.

Can't speak for what you did in your Basturd English A-Levels, though.  And clearly, it did me no good as I got the quiz Q wrong.

I didn't do English, I did French A-Level. And we did "Les Justes" ... can't remember much about it except there was a bomb and it was at best okay. 

The Final League Tables are brought to you by DJ Technics - Party People - 98 Baltimore Club

PFIZER PREMIERSHIP

No Derby hangover for @Insert Amusing Pseudonym as he notches his dozenth (12) title.

Runner up will go to a playoff between @Arch Stanton & @Leeds Saint

@Salvo Montalbano plays in the Europa

@Helpma & @Bully Wee Villa in the Mugs 

Slithering out the top league @gkneil @JamesP_81 & @Eednud, the rebuild starts tomorrow.

@Rugster makes the playoff

pwinsert.PNG.cdaa1dc0ad46549e701e1411229cc0d6.PNGp160423.PNG.d333641f60036a8c0d2e7efa6ff51f68.PNG

WANNABE CHAMPIONSHIP

This Bhoy @The Hologram powers away from the pack to win his 5th second tier title.

@Geaky & @JustOneCornetto take on the brains next week.

@Ronaldo Jeremy is in the playoff

@Ross. @Gaz & @Cardinal Richelieu get to show off those new speedos

@mathematics is in the playoff.

WWHolo.PNG.223a24d21df87c18b7d20f0732d9e829.PNGw160423.PNG.80dbca37ef7c8b1c3f8b77b551efd58c.PNG

LAST CHANCE SALOON SHOOTOUT

@johnnydun joins the winners club with his first ever Diddy Title. (Check your post in the next few days for the goody bag). @The DA & @specsaver escape.

@ArmadaleKillie is in the playoff.

His team scored more goals yesterday than he could manage on any given day. @BaSeDG0DSA1NT toothless display earns him a 7th wooden spoon. 

LWjohnny.PNG.f3e9ca055889a1248e22b472f56e113c.PNGl160423.PNG.1afeb9611b949f306487f3d0457e5bf7.PNG

Playoff 15/23 City Slickers

Looking out their passport this weekend are;

Pfizer Runners up Playoff

@Arch Stanton  image.png.b15018036bb7a161cb4ff4e7d5309cb3.png v @Leeds Saint  image.png.062120c5e93a6387d2a0911af40476b5.png

Cardiff to Amsterdam Playoff

@Rugster  image.png.ba4ec6a3658e9e06ed6da3d9e8ec8a19.png v @Ronaldo Jeremy  image.png.091951a3890bfb478e934cd5c0044a15.png

Canberra to Buenos Aires Playoff

@mathematics  image.png.78fed54ebce193721514f5e8524710a7.png v @ArmadaleKillie  image.png.00e0c6250401746c95f241c8e996ffed.png

Question - If you put all the capital cities of the world in alphabetical order. Then flew as the crow flies from the first on your list direct to the last on your list, how many miles between both cities?

Answers to be stamped no later than Monday 12:00 TT

Good Luck! 

1 hour ago, SlipperyP said:

Playoff 15/23 City Slickers

Looking out their passport this weekend are;

Pfizer Runners up Playoff

@Arch Stanton  image.png.b15018036bb7a161cb4ff4e7d5309cb3.png v @Leeds Saint  image.png.062120c5e93a6387d2a0911af40476b5.png

Cardiff to Amsterdam Playoff

@Rugster  image.png.ba4ec6a3658e9e06ed6da3d9e8ec8a19.png v @Ronaldo Jeremy  image.png.091951a3890bfb478e934cd5c0044a15.png

Canberra to Buenos Aires Playoff

@mathematics  image.png.78fed54ebce193721514f5e8524710a7.png v @ArmadaleKillie  image.png.00e0c6250401746c95f241c8e996ffed.png

Question - If you put all the capital cities of the world in alphabetical order. Then flew as the crow flies from the first on your list direct to the last on your list, how many miles between both cities?

Answers to be stamped no later than Monday 12:00 TT

Good Luck! 

What a great question.

12 hours ago, SlipperyP said:

The Final League Tables are brought to you by DJ Technics - Party People - 98 Baltimore Club

PFIZER PREMIERSHIP

No Derby hangover for @Insert Amusing Pseudonym as he notches his dozenth (12) title.

Runner up will go to a playoff between @Arch Stanton & @Leeds Saint

@Salvo Montalbano plays in the Europa

@Helpma & @Bully Wee Villa in the Mugs 

Slithering out the top league @gkneil @JamesP_81 & @Eednud, the rebuild starts tomorrow.

@Rugster makes the playoff

pwinsert.PNG.cdaa1dc0ad46549e701e1411229cc0d6.PNGp160423.PNG.d333641f60036a8c0d2e7efa6ff51f68.PNG

WANNABE CHAMPIONSHIP

This Bhoy @The Hologram powers away from the pack to win his 5th second tier title.

@Geaky & @JustOneCornetto take on the brains next week.

@Ronaldo Jeremy is in the playoff

@Ross. @Gaz & @Cardinal Richelieu get to show off those new speedos

@mathematics is in the playoff.

WWHolo.PNG.223a24d21df87c18b7d20f0732d9e829.PNGw160423.PNG.80dbca37ef7c8b1c3f8b77b551efd58c.PNG

LAST CHANCE SALOON SHOOTOUT

@johnnydun joins the winners club with his first ever Diddy Title. (Check your post in the next few days for the goody bag). @The DA & @specsaver escape.

@ArmadaleKillie is in the playoff.

His team scored more goals yesterday than he could manage on any given day. @BaSeDG0DSA1NT toothless display earns him a 7th wooden spoon. 

LWjohnny.PNG.f3e9ca055889a1248e22b472f56e113c.PNGl160423.PNG.1afeb9611b949f306487f3d0457e5bf7.PNG

Today is a great day.