The Famous Aberdeen - Season 2022/23

Max Lowe on loan from Derby (unconfirmed)

21 year old Left Back. Started first 2 games for Derby this season. But now replaced by Craig Forsyth’s back from injury and another LB signed in the window.

Guest Bob Mahelp
2 hours ago, KingswellsRed said:

I don’t agree.

We are well covered in defence and even with a lot of injuries/suspensions we have not conceded many.

In midfield we have enough options for the two sitting Mcinnes likes to play. Wingers we are a bit short with Mcginn getting old/injury prone but Ross seems to have stepped up. Wright also had a good game behind the striker but we could do with someone else for that position as playing Ferguson along with Gleeson and Shinnie/Ball reminds me a bit of Flood, Jack and Robson playing together.

Up front I would like to see more of Anderson and May seems to be playing a bit better. Cosgrove I am rapidly of the opinion he is nowhere near Aberdeen standard. Not seen enough of Wilson to have any opinion.

Overall I think we will be at least 3rd.

For the first time under McInnes, we have quite a few youngsters fighting for starting positions. I'm not sure if that indicates the strength of our youth teams or the fact that we're not really investing in experience this summer.

Ross and Anderson are only beginning to break into the first team. Cosgrove was bought as a long-term stopgap, and Ferguson was an investment for the future that has hit the ground running. I doubt if we'll get a full season out of any of these players and that means team rotation.

This is Scott Wright's make or break season. He has to step up to the plate or like Cammy Smith and Nicky Lowe he's on his way to Paisley or Dundee.

That's 5 players I've named who are 21 or under but who will be heavily relied upon this season if we don't bring in more experience to the side.

I still think the squad is on the weak side.

Edited by Bob Mahelp

3 hours ago, DrewDon said:

Press & Journal reporting this morning that they 'believe' McInnes wants to bring in a full-back before Saturday. If so, we won't be short on options, with Logan, Hoban and arguably Ball all capable of playing right-back, and Considine, Shinnie, Hoban and arguably Reynolds (although currently injured) for left-back. 

Ball is not capable of playing right back, even arguably.

3 hours ago, Bob Mahelp said:

We've still got by far and away the smallest and arguably weakest squad out of the top 5.

We always seem to be forever one injury and one suspension away from a whole team rotation designed to fit a round peg into a square hole.

It's actually pretty remarkable that we've played 6 competitive games this season (4 of them really tough) and haven't lost any over 90 minutes. Says a lot for the mental toughness of the players we do have.

pretty sure our squad is about the same size as Killie's and Hibs's. weakest is subjective but we've matched 2 of the top 5 so far.

Guest Bob Mahelp
Just now, coprolite said:

Ball is not capable of playing right back, even arguably.

pretty sure our squad is about the same size as Killie's and Hibs's. weakest is subjective but we've matched 2 of the top 5 so far.

The fact that we've had to play Ball as right-back simply emphasises the thinness of our squad.

'Matched' Rangers and Hibs is a subjective word. Rangers played us off the park with 10 men and we scored in the 93rd minute with our first shot on goal. Hibs, I'll give you, we matched and the decision to sit back was McInnes's rather than any great ability from Hibs.

I just feel that we're missing a Kenny McLean type player in midfield, another winger, and a goalscoring forward. If GMS picks up a long-term injury, we're f*cked.

GK. Lewis, Cerny

RB. Logan, Hoban, Ball

LB. Shinnie, Considine, Lowe, Hoban

CB. McKenna, Devlin, Considine, Reynolds

DM. Gleeson, Shinnie, Ball, Tansey

CM. Ferguson, Gleeson, Forrester, Shinnie, Tansey

AM/Wing: GMS, McGinn, Wright, Ross, May

CF: May, Cosgrove, Wilson, Anderson

Plenty of cover but not much creativity or goals there tbh.

I think quality is the missing piece here. We have a good foundation of a solid, hard working squad that will be difficult to beat but every game so far we’ve struggled in the final third.

Wilson could clearly add something but no one knows yet. I’m surprised we haven’t gotten in another no 10 type player. Let’s hope forrester can get up to speed and show what he’s about soon.

Not completely against the idea of bringing in a specialised left back but if that really is the one signing that McInnes has planned it's pretty underwhelming.

Unless Forrester comes on to a game and McInnes plans to play him in a more advanced role we still seem very light in the attacking midfielder roles. I wasn't especially confident in us getting a name like Christie or Allan as have been mentioned but I thought someone would come in.

Hopefully McInnes does have another signing planned if we bring this guy in and he's keeping it close to his chest.

2 minutes ago, Bob Mahelp said:

The fact that we've had to play Ball as right-back simply emphasises the thinness of our squad.

'Matched' Rangers and Hibs is a subjective word. Rangers played us off the park with 10 men and we scored in the 93rd minute with our first shot on goal. Hibs, I'll give you, we matched and the decision to sit back was McInnes's rather than any great ability from Hibs.

I just feel that we're missing a Kenny McLean type player in midfield, another winger, and a goalscoring forward. If GMS picks up a long-term injury, we're f*cked.

Totally agree your final paragraph.

It's all relative though; Hibs and Killie both have weakness in their squads and Rangers have an inexperienced thicko in the dugout; Celtic are on the slide.

If we could address 2 of 3 we will win the league, no probs. 

Guest Bob Mahelp
6 minutes ago, Dons_1988 said:

I think quality is the missing piece here. We have a good foundation of a solid, hard working squad that will be difficult to beat but every game so far we’ve struggled in the final third.

Wilson could clearly add something but no one knows yet. I’m surprised we haven’t gotten in another no 10 type player. Let’s hope forrester can get up to speed and show what he’s about soon.

It was a wee bit worrying that Wilson spent his whole 15 minutes on Saturday after he came on, with his back to the Hibs goal. Every feckin striker we have seems to be used as a hard working 'link up' man rather than a goalscorer.

Like you point out, we're desperately missing a no. 10 type player. We could also do with the whole midfield playing 10 yards further up the park.

Would have liked us to have brought Stewart back in, I think he'll do well for Killie. He'd have added some creativity in midfield and be another option out wide (though he's definitely at his best in a free role)

Around 23 players is a fairly light squad in numbers, and agree with the comment on quality. Concerned on where goals will come from, Wilson will need time for us to see what he can do and Forrester needs to show something.

In terms of youth, I think our options and potential in that department look better than they have done previously under McInnes.

It was a wee bit worrying that Wilson spent his whole 15 minutes on Saturday after he came on, with his back to the Hibs goal. Every feckin striker we have seems to be used as a hard working 'link up' man rather than a goalscorer.
Like you point out, we're desperately missing a no. 10 type player. We could also do with the whole midfield playing 10 yards further up the park.

Don’t think it’s fair to pass any judgement on Wilson from Saturday to be honest. He barely got a kick. Let’s hope he starts against Killie and we get a chance to really see what he’s about.

3 minutes ago, logie skid boys said:

looks like lowe is happening season long loan....highly rated attacking left back  ...is that nae fit we have been moaning about for years ....still expect another forward type player come in 

Sure but I think most fans now would think a lack of creativity is more pressing than left back especially as we have more options there already and McInnes saying he only plans to sign one more.

4 minutes ago, Rodhull said:

Sure but I think most fans now would think a lack of creativity is more pressing than left back especially as we have more options there already and McInnes saying he only plans to sign one more.

we cant write off forester  he is just settling in  ..i know the West Brom game was a friendly  but he showed he can play  .....i expect another signing in forward area..what mcinnes says and does is different....an attacking left back  is not be ignored ..will help gms  even more 

Don’t think it’s fair to pass any judgement on Wilson from Saturday to be honest. He barely got a kick. Let’s hope he starts against Killie and we get a chance to really see what he’s about.

Aye, fifteen minutes on the pitch and half of those we were trying to hang on to a one goal move. The one time he had the ball he had some nice touches but difficult to take anything from his cameo really.

1 hour ago, logie skid boys said:

looks like lowe is happening season long loan....highly rated attacking left back  ...is that nae fit we have been moaning about for years ....still expect another forward type player come in 

Really looking forward to getting a(nother) proper left back at Pittodrie and him being played either in goals or midfield.