SNP to Abstain from Fox Hunting Vote

I disagree with fox hunting entirely but the SNP need to stick with their stated intention of not voting on matters that do not affect them. The electorate in England voted Conservative, they knew what they were getting. If the SNP start picking and choosing to vote on some matters that do not affect scotland then this will be used against them again and again to build up the anti SNP agenda.

• Replies 442

I disagree with fox hunting entirely but the SNP need to stick with their stated intention of not voting on matters that do not affect them. The electorate in England voted Conservative, they knew what they were getting. If the SNP start picking and choosing to vote on some matters that do not affect scotland then this will be used against them again and again to build up the anti SNP agenda.

Two points:

1. Only 40% of the people in England voted Conservative.

2. As to the anti-SNP agenda, I reckon we will be criticised on this one whatever we do. Many decent, ordinary folk in England and Wales will be as appalled by the barbarity of this. If it's a free vote, I don't know if it will be, then our abstaining could make a huge difference.

I dont have problem with the SNP voting on Scotland only issues.

I also dont have a problem being completely inconsistent, changing their minds when they please and saying some things are too important and we will vote on them. They wanted us there, well we're there.

Two points:

1. Only 40% of the people in England voted Conservative.

2. As to the anti-SNP agenda, I reckon we will be criticised on this one whatever we do. Many decent, ordinary folk in England and Wales will be as appalled by the barbarity of this. If it's a free vote, I don't know if it will be, then our abstaining could make a huge difference.

Yeah, it is a shit system that 40% is enough to get a majority but we have to go with what we have at the present time. I agree they will be criticised whichever way they go but if they start to sway from their word they will never hear the end of it.

I dont have problem with the SNP voting on Scotland only issues.

I also dont have a problem being completely inconsistent, changing their minds when they please and saying some things are too important and we will vote on them. They wanted us there, well we're ther

Same again really, the tories/media are just waiting for the SNP to slip up and/or go back on their word. I want to see them shake up Westminster but they need to do it by sticking together and standing by their policy of not voting on matters outwith scotland.

Yeah, it is a shit system that 40% is enough to get a majority but we have to go with what we have at the present time. I agree they will be criticised whichever way they go but if they start to sway from their word they will never hear the end of it.

Same again really, the tories/media are just waiting for the SNP to slip up and/or go back on their word. I want to see them shake up Westminster but they need to do it by sticking together and standing by their policy of not voting on matters outwith scotland.

I agree with ye.

If we vote on somethings outwith Scotland the press will have a field day.

I always find it amusing when people get worked up on issues that have zero affect on their lives. Whether it be fox hunting, abortion or gay marriage.

"First they came for the Socialists, and I did not speak out—

Because I was not a Socialist.

Then they came for the Trade Unionists, and I did not speak out—

Because I was not a Trade Unionist.

Then they came for the Jews, and I did not speak out—

Because I was not a Jew.

Then they came for me—and there was no one left to speak for me."

- Martin Niemöller

"LOL"

- Fotbawmad

My point is that animals don't get a vote. If I was ever given the opportunity to prevent cruelty to animals anywhere in the world I would take it. To me, it's a moral issue. Say I was given the opportunity to have a say in stopping a new motorway being built through a rainforest in the Far East, I would take it rather than care about what the Malaysian people had voted for. It's just my opinion, but animal welfare is above borders for me so I wouldn't feel in the slightest bit wrong about interfering in another countries decisions on it.

It doesn't matter what it is to you champ, in reality its a democratic issue. What you think is irrelevant, only what actually is, especially since you are opposed to grouping people together and thinking along national lines anyway.

And surprise surprise the wee Britnat Labour fanboy takes an anti-SNP stance, its a democratic issue, the SNP weren't elected in England why should they vote on what happens in England? If a bunch of weapons in another country are stupid enough to vote in a party of millionaire sociopaths hell mend them.

Well done SNP for abstaining on this trifling, petty and insignificant issue. Save your votes for important stuff.

Just noticed this quote below from Tony Blair - utterly incredible that he can own up to making a mistake by introducing the bill for a ban on foxhunting, but yet, still insists he took the right decision on Iraq. He's completely fucking deranged.

Quote : "It was former Prime Minister Tony Blair’s Labour government who brought in the hunting ban, and in an interview with The Guardian in 2010, Mr Blair admitted that the decision was a mistake.

Admitting it was “not one of my finest policy moments”, he said: “I didn’t quite understand, and I reproach myself for this, that for a group of people in our society in the countryside this was a fundamental part of their way of life.”

Didn't quite understand either that for 1.5 million Iraqis breathing was quite important to their everyday lives too, and that this thing called international law was quite important when deciding whether to invade another country.

Those portraying this as something done by "rich southern toffs" clearly must be unaware of hunts in the borders (both sides). I can imagine that if there is a different law between England and Scotland that it will mean that the League Against Cruel Sports will be watching English hunts like a hawk if they stray over the Scottish border.

Personally, I have never seen the point of hunting - there are far more humane and efficient ways to deal with foxes.

It doesn't matter what it is to you champ, in reality its a democratic issue. What you think is irrelevant, only what actually is, especially since you are opposed to grouping people together and thinking along national lines anyway.

And surprise surprise the wee Britnat Labour fanboy takes an anti-SNP stance, its a democratic issue, the SNP weren't elected in England why should they vote on what happens in England? If a bunch of weapons in another country are stupid enough to vote in a party of millionaire sociopaths hell mend them.

You shouldn't go on the vodka before taking to the Internet, 'champ'.

Its you that was talking pish champ. And since its such a moral issue and if you could stop animal cruelty you would, presumably you were out doing something about that today were you? There's animal cruelty all over the place every day, what did you do today to stop it?

Not our issue.

If the Tories in England want to rip foxes apart with dogs then let them. Shows them up for the degenerates they are.

Some of yer farmer / landowner types up here, with their vote Conservative signs, will no doubt be looking on with envy. Dirty b*****ds

I know plenty people from perthshire who took part in hunts. None of them were toffs. Servile forelock tugging arseholes living in poverty on land returning millions every year to some dick in sw1 but not posh themselves.

I don't condone that servility, but like many other sets of social circumstances I understand it. Folk brought up in households with generations of forelock tugging mentality. Changing that mindset can be a long difficult task.

Its you that was talking pish champ. And since its such a moral issue and if you could stop animal cruelty you would, presumably you were out doing something about that today were you? There's animal cruelty all over the place every day, what did you do today to stop it?

You must be suffering today 'champ'!