Favourite Old Firm Player

Does it matter than Dalglish was a Rangers man, as far as his Celtic legacy goes?

It wouldn't surprise me if there were a few folk like that out there, as on a similar subject I always remember my old man telling me about how some Celtic fans would accuse Willie Wallace of never really giving 100% against rangers, despite the fact in one season we scored five goals against rangers with Wallace netting them all, but Dalglish was voted in the Greatest Ever Celtic Team, along with a couple of other "rangers men", so I don't think it plays a huge part in it. Dalglish was before my time, so I am relying on hand me down stories about him, but he was, and probably still is my fathers favourite Celtic player, but for my generation the only time we seen Dalglish at Celtic Park was when he was holding press conferences in Bairds Bar. :rolleyes:

• Replies 125
I think the John Barnes fiasco plays a part in that, but as a player Dalglish was one of the best players of his generation and one of the best forwards to play for Celtic and Scotland.

Probably similar to how mcoist's view has changed amongst the Rangers support in my generations view then

It wouldn't surprise me if there were a few folk like that out there, as on a similar subject I always remember my old man telling me about how some Celtic fans would accuse Willie Wallace of never really giving 100% against rangers, despite the fact in one season we scored five goals against rangers with Wallace netting them all, but Dalglish was voted in the Greatest Ever Celtic Team, along with a couple of other "rangers men", so I don't think it plays a huge part in it. Dalglish was before my time, so I am relying on hand me down stories about him, but he was, and probably still is my fathers favourite Celtic player, but for my generation the only time we seen Dalglish at Celtic Park was when he was holding press conferences in Bairds Bar. :rolleyes:

There seems to be a bit of a cold war going on since he was given the boot as Director of Football and sued the club afterwards. I'm sure Liverpool fans would say there's no doubt that he's definitely theirs these days, even after that second stint as manager.

Probably similar to how mcoist's view has changed amongst the Rangers support in my generations view then

Pretty much, aye.

Was Danny mcgrain not also a Rangers fan ?

He was indeed.

There seems to be a bit of a cold war going on since he was given the boot as Director of Football and sued the club afterwards. I'm sure Liverpool fans would say there's no doubt that he's definitely theirs these days, even after that second stint as manager.

Aye, things didn't end as well as you'd like to think they would. Which is a shame really considering just how good of a player he was for the club. I think how Dalglish handled the Hillsborough disaster players a huge part in how highly he is thought of on Merseyside too.

Was Danny mcgrain not also a Rangers fan ?

He was yes.

Danny tells a tale in his autobiography of how, while playing youth football aged 15 or so a watching Rangers scout was quite impressed with the talented young full back, however upon making an enquiry backed off after hearing his full name was Daniel Fergus McGrain, assuming (wrongly :lol: ) that Danny was, shall we say fond of a fish supper on a friday and would not meet the signing criteria for the now deceased Rangers FC who most definetely did not operate an anti Catholic signing policy for over 100 years

We had the last laugh however, Danny went on to become a Celtic legend winning umpteen medals and Scotland caps while Rangers died in 2012

Good times :)

Does it matter than Dalglish was a Rangers man, as far as his Celtic legacy goes?

For me? Kenny is about the best footballer Scotland has ever produced. Baxter in his pomp could have been there but that's what you get for being a Fife jakey and drinking your talent away.

Fernando Ricksen. He was the perfect pantomime villain and every time he came to Pittodrie you expected something to happen.

#bantz

Genuinely tragic what is happening to the guy now.

Say one thing about him, he was a character and a headline writers dream.

From wrapping his car round a lamp post while pished, turning up at Alan Thompson's door at 2am wanting a straightener in the garden after they'd had a wee altercation during a game the day before to refusing to stop watching a porn film on his laptop on a flight to South Africa after numerous complaints from fellow passengers :lol: I could genuinely listen to a list of 'Fernando's' all night :D

Genuinely tragic what is happening to the guy now.

Say one thing about him, he was a character and a headline writers dream.

From wrapping his car round a lamp post while pished, turning up at Alan Thompson's door at 2am wanting a straightener in the garden after they'd had a wee altercation during a game the day before to refusing to stop watching a porn film on his laptop on a flight to South Africa after numerous complaints from fellow passengers :lol: I could genuinely listen to a list of 'Fernando's' all night :D

The night of winning the league against Dunfermline , he was shouting championees through thompsons letter box at about three in the morning aswell haha

Also the one where he launched the chairman into a swimming pool in Greece, fully clothed and fucked his Rolex watch and gold chipped mobile phone or something ? :lol:

Pity no one was able to catch the phone before it got ruined....