Scotrail

ScottR96

11 minutes ago, Moomintroll said:

Moomin Taxis have some acceptable rates, or so I've heard.......

They may well gratefully get offered some business if there's a strike. As it is, with a wrinkly rail pass it's only £13.20 return, Man Airport to Ruabon.

Edited by welshbairn

43 minutes ago, welshbairn said:

They may well gratefully get offered some business if there's a strike. As it is, with a wrinkly rail pass it's only £13.20 return, Man Airport to Ruabon.

Mon eh Wrecsam, if you need a bit of help though let me know, I need to work next Saturday as I intend to be royally pissed on Sunday at the ODI, so there is Nae Danger I will be fit to drive on the Monday. I can fit being a tacsi in if that will help you out.

9 minutes ago, Moomintroll said:

Mon eh Wrecsam, if you need a bit of help though let me know, I need to work next Saturday as I intend to be royally pissed on Sunday at the ODI, so there is Nae Danger I will be fit to drive on the Monday. I can fit being a tacsi in if that will help you out.

Not travelling till Thursday 21st and back Thursday 28th, I was a bit previous in saying next week, but if the trains go tits up I'd be delighted to make a generous contribution to Moomin Limousines Inc. 

5 minutes ago, welshbairn said:

Not travelling till Thursday 21st and back Thursday 28th, I was a bit previous in saying next week, but if the trains go tits up I'd be delighted to make a generous contribution to Moomin Limousines Inc. 

If you need help then let me know, you might need to do a bit of Replen at ASDA Runcorn & Tesco Helsby mind.

3 minutes ago, oaksoft said:

And you also have guys at the bottom doing the bare minimum and yet expecting to take home the same pay rise as those who work harder and that is even more common.

In my example you have guys in the middle to top doing the bare minimum/being useless and taking home the same or in many cases a bigger pay rise than those who are actually contributing and keeping things going. Just let that sink in.

1 hour ago, oaksoft said:

If that's your attitude (and it was you I was thinking about when I posted it), then that's fine but this is why I don't support giving everyone the same amount of pay or the same amount of pay rise - either as a percentage or as an absolute amount.

BTW I'm not even sure what it is that you're trying to achieve here.
I mean you hate your job. We get that. You go on about it often enough. So where is all this moaning and anger actually getting you? Whilst you are shouting at the clouds the world just keeps on ticking along. You just get left behind.

I'd ask the same of @DA Baracus who apparently shares your views.

Hello good sir!

I get the impression from your posts that you genuinely seem to believe that everyone who works only their contracted hours, and not a second more (and yes, I definitely do that!), are pish employees who don't do anything.

That's very much wrong and very Tory. If that's not what you mean then I apologise, as Tory is a massive insult.

I also get the impression that you think that those who don't like their jobs are shite at their jobs. Maybe in some cases that's true, but it's also true that some folk who like their jobs are pish at it. 

I don't like my job, but I'm very good at it and my reviews consistently show that. I work only the hours I'm contracted and not a second more, yet my reviews are consistently excellent.

I'd fucking a love a pay rise. Frankly I deserve it. I haven't had a single day off since early 2019. But even if I had been off since then, I'd deserve it. All my colleagues deserve a rise, and most have had days off. Doesn't matter if they've had months off to me. If they're employed to do a job and do it, they deserve a raise.

Also yes, I'm in the union.

Edited by DA Baracus

being a skiver who does only the bare minimum has f**k all to do with your position or level in an organisation. it's about your personality and likelihood of getting away with it.

Performance related pay sounds fine on paper, but often can be abused. more for brown nosers and auld pals acts, less for those whos face doesnt fit

49 minutes ago, DA Baracus said:

Hello good sir!

I get the impression from your posts that you genuinely seem to believe that everyone who works only their contracted hours, and not a second more (and yes, I definitely do that!), are pish employees who don't do anything.

That's very much wrong and very Tory. If that's not what you mean then I apologise, as Tory is a massive insult.

I also get the impression that you think that those who don't like their jobs are shite at their jobs. Maybe in some cases that's true, but it's also true that some folk who like their jobs are pish at it. 

I don't like my job, but I'm very good at it and my reviews consistently show that. I work only the hours I'm contracted and not a second more, yet my reviews are consistently excellent.

I'd fucking a love a pay rise. Frankly I deserve it. I haven't had a single day off since early 2019. But even if I had been off since then, I'd deserve it. All my colleagues deserve a rise, and most have had days off. Doesn't matter if they've had months off to me. If they're employed to do a job and do it, they deserve a raise.

Also yes, I'm in the union.

I’d get onto the union and ask them if it’s fair to be working 365 days a year.  They could probably sort something out for you.  Christmas day at a minimum.

38 minutes ago, effeffsee_the2nd said:

being a skiver who does only the bare minimum has f**k all to do with your position or level in an organisation. it's about your personality and likelihood of getting away with it.

Performance related pay sounds fine on paper, but often can be abused. more for brown nosers and auld pals acts, less for those whos face doesnt fit

Doing the bare minimum is absolutely fine and deserves a pay rise, as the employee is doing everything asked of them.

5 minutes ago, Left Back said:

I’d get onto the union and ask them if it’s fair to be working 365 days a year.  They could probably sort something out for you.  Christmas day at a minimum.

Ha, I meant no sick days since then. Not boasting about going in to work ill or similar Tory nonsense, I just mean I haven't been absent since then (obviously I was off, but those were 'leave' days, i.e. the days I'm entitled to).

If I was ill I'd have no issue saying so and taking the time off needed. Indeed, in 2017 and 2018 I was off so much due to ill mental health that I had to meet with HR and was very close to being fired.

4 minutes ago, DA Baracus said:

Doing the bare minimum is absolutely fine and deserves a pay rise, as the employee is doing everything asked of them.

Ha, I meant no sick days since then. Not boasting about going in to work ill or similar Tory nonsense, I just mean I haven't been absent since then (obviously I was off, but those were 'leave' days, i.e. the days I'm entitled to).

If I was ill I'd have no issue saying so and taking the time off needed. Indeed, in 2017 and 2018 I was off so much due to ill mental health that I had to meet with HR and was very close to being fired.

I had the misfortune once of working for the same company as a guy at a local authority in London.  It was an outsourced contract and he’d worked for that council prior to the outsourcing.  He used to bang on about his attendance record.  Hadn’t had a day off sick in the 20 years he’d been there.

He’d barely done a stroke of work in the 20 years and had been disciplined for it many times.  He was sitting there counting down the days to retirement before he was 40.  Every time the council had tried to fire him in stepped the union and saved his ass.

After he got outsourced he got no payrises.  He wouldn’t change his T’s & C’s from council to the outsourcer so he couldn’t be accountable.  Under the terms of the outsourcing he was perfectly entitled to keep his council t’s & c’s and carry on measuring his performance on his attendance record which was all the council did.  Him never doing any work though cost him in the end.  Real terms reduction in pay for all those years.

He deserved no fucking payrise because he was a useless lazy c**t.

2 minutes ago, Left Back said:

He’d barely done a stroke of work in the 20 years and had been disciplined for it many times.  He was sitting there counting down the days to retirement before he was 40.  Every time the council had tried to fire him in stepped the union and saved his ass.

After he got outsourced he got no payrises.  He wouldn’t change his T’s & C’s from council to the outsourcer so he couldn’t be accountable.  Under the terms of the outsourcing he was perfectly entitled to keep his council t’s & c’s and carry on measuring his performance on his attendance record which was all the council did.

That sounds to me like victory.

2 minutes ago, welshbairn said:

That sounds to me like victory.

The rest of his working life without a payrise?  The company didn’t recognise unions so he didn’t get union negotiated payrises.  He wouldn’t agree any kind of targets so he was gubbed.

If that’s your thing then go wild.

48 minutes ago, Left Back said:

I had the misfortune once of working for the same company as a guy at a local authority in London.  It was an outsourced contract and he’d worked for that council prior to the outsourcing.  He used to bang on about his attendance record.  Hadn’t had a day off sick in the 20 years he’d been there.

After he got outsourced he got no payrises.  He wouldn’t change his T’s & C’s from council to the outsourcer so he couldn’t be accountable.  Under the terms of the outsourcing he was perfectly entitled to keep his council t’s & c’s and carry on measuring his performance on his attendance record which was all the council did.  Him never doing any work though cost him in the end.  Real terms reduction in pay for all those years.

He deserved no fucking payrise because he was a useless lazy c**t.

Anyone who doesn't do their job deserves to be punted and deserves zero pay rise. 

Loads of folk do the 'bare miminum', which is a Tory/Labour way of saying 'doing exactly what they are employed to do', and do it well (or exactly as they are asked to, which is fine) deserve a pay rise. The folk who do it to standard deserve a pay rise too.

Edited by DA Baracus

30 minutes ago, Left Back said:

The rest of his working life without a payrise?  The company didn’t recognise unions so he didn’t get union negotiated payrises.  He wouldn’t agree any kind of targets so he was gubbed.

If that’s your thing then go wild.

It wouldn't be my goal but if he set himself to working as little as possible till he retired and managed to carry that on through new privatised working practices, that's a remarkable success, on his own terms.

7 hours ago, oaksoft said:

If that's your attitude (and it was you I was thinking about when I posted it), then that's fine but this is why I don't support giving everyone the same amount of pay or the same amount of pay rise - either as a percentage or as an absolute amount.

BTW I'm not even sure what it is that you're trying to achieve here.
I mean you hate your job. We get that. You go on about it often enough. So where is all this moaning and anger actually getting you? Whilst you are shouting at the clouds the world just keeps on ticking along. You just get left behind.

I'd ask the same of @DA Baracus who apparently shares your views.

Nice ranting m8, but I'm fairly sure there are plenty who have said much more than me on the subject. You carry on with your "shouting at clouds" nonsense though. 

As for merit based pay, in my experience, and I have experience of both collective and non collective wage structures, you cannot trust performance based pay to be awarded solely on performance. My experience of it was that performance is secondary to personality and snivelling. 

Being in a collective does clearly have its flaws but my experience is that its the lesser of two evils. 

Glad to see someone finally observe that the market sets the rate though, in a thread where we have had numerous people pontificating on what train drivers do or dont deserve. 

25 minutes ago, Bairnardo said:

Nice ranting m8, but I'm fairly sure there are plenty who have said much more than me on the subject. You carry on with your "shouting at clouds" nonsense though. 

As for merit based pay, in my experience, and I have experience of both collective and non collective wage structures, you cannot trust performance based pay to be awarded solely on performance. My experience of it was that performance is secondary to personality and snivelling. 

Being in a collective does clearly have its flaws but my experience is that its the lesser of two evils. 

Glad to see someone finally observe that the market sets the rate though, in a thread where we have had numerous people pontificating on what train drivers do or dont deserve. 

Agree with that.

14 hours ago, bobbykdy said:

Exactly why %s have been favoured by management and company owners since time began as they reward those already on more (themselves usually) and shaft those at the bottom. 

What they should do is take the combined monetary amount they have for pay awards and simply divide it by the number of employees. Everyone receives the same raise and it stops the gap between top and bottom constantly increasing. If anyone then feels their individual performance merits more outside of this they take it up with their manager and give their reasoning.

Still not really fair though if its a cost of living rise, i highly doubt someone on 50 grand a year will be facing the same financial plight as someone on 20 grand a year, if they are then there is clearly extenuating circumstances or they are fucking idiots at budgeting 

The bigger % of a pay deal should go to the lower paid if its a cost of living pay rise

7 hours ago, welshbairn said:

It wouldn't be my goal but if he set himself to working as little as possible till he retired and managed to carry that on through new privatised working practices, that's a remarkable success, on his own terms.

Just realised I didn’t point this out.  He used to bitch and moan about not getting a pay rise.  I did hear (after I left) he even filed a grievance about it which was chucked out.

Not exactly winning as much as you’re trying to say.

2 minutes ago, oaksoft said:

Asking you what you get from all your anger and shouting is hardly a rant Bairny. 😆

Not sure iv ever become angry on the subject tbh. If you want to boil it down to standard forum childishness though, this is your right.