The Conservative and Unionist Party.

Im_Rodger

4 minutes ago, Redstarstranraer said:

Indeed it's somewhat ironic as the 'Unionist Party' as it was had a significant strand of adherents who were in favour (around the 1910s-20s) of something more like dominion status for Scotland within the Empire in the manner of Canada

Aye but don't come on here with your sane and factual posts.

Plus the wee chap was hoping none of us would ken what he was on about so he could troll the thread even more.

• Replies 513
1 hour ago, The_Kincardine said:

That has nothing to do with your post or my reply.  You're making an issue where none exists.

What's the answer to the question, Kincy? You obviously know, so why the coy mistress act? If the "Scottish Unionist" party thought of Scotland as their nation, then what nations did the "union" in their title refer to?

1 hour ago, The_Kincardine said:

Aye but don't come on here with your sane and factual posts.

Plus the wee chap was hoping none of us would ken what he was on about so he could troll the thread even more.

The tried and tested card of calling anyone whose posts you don't like a troll. Ironic from someone who just avoids direct questions but replies anyway.

Redstranraer's post is accurate - the unionism referred to was nothing to do with the Anglo-Scottish absorption project, which was by the hundreds of years old. It's your pal Ruthie who seems keen to hope "none of us ken" what her branch office's history is when she conflates modern UK nationalism in Scotland with the 1707 Act of Union. But no doubt you'll lap it up anyway, because anyone that waves a Union Jack cannae be wrang.

You're fairly getting yer dander up again.  I'm perfectly content as a Conservative and Unionist.

Support is clearly growing as the only credible opposition to challenge the stranglehold (and that's what it is) that the SNP currently possess! We'll know that by the time Brexit is finally sorted, a 2nd Ref (if it comes) we will have a much clearer view of what an independent Scotland might look like, Again I believe we will judge accordingly.

No thanks!

Support well and truly reached its absolute peak in the last GE.

Not sure Lichtie, think there's a sizeable gap to fill (and take advantage of) in the current political landscape across Scotland. The Unionist Tories haven't had this sort of opportunity for years!?

The gaps been filled. The hardcore unionist element in Labour shifted over to the Tories in the last GE. The Tories have reached their absolute peak in Scotland. And with the way the country is being run at the moment I have absolutely zero idea why you think their vote will improve in the future anyway regardless of that, it's a fucking shambles.

Not so sure what you mean by the way 'the country's being run' at the moment, WM or the SP at Holyrood? The Tories have never had a better opportunity in Scotland over the last 30 years to challenge a government that has over promised and under delivered. The SNP themselves are blindly undecided on tax and spend, you're right, it's a f*ckin shambles! God help us, if we even get the chance to have another Ref to put these people in complete control!

1 hour ago, 1320Lichtie said:

What's the fucking shambles?  The way Scotland's being run or The Tory party?

6 hours ago, RedRob72 said:

Support is clearly growing as the only credible opposition to challenge the stranglehold (and that's what it is) that the SNP currently possess! We'll know that by the time Brexit is finally sorted, a 2nd Ref (if it comes) we will have a much clearer view of what an independent Scotland might look like, Again I believe we will judge accordingly.

No thanks!

So wait - you worry about political "stranglehold" and so want to rectify it by voting for a party which has a stranglehold over Scotland and the UK at sovereign level? Seems legit. Come on, let's not pretend you've turned staunch Tory for any reason other than their nationalism. What's hilarious is the current reignited debate about Scotland's statehood or regionalism has come about precisely because the Tories gambled on a Euroref not giving a f**k how it might affect the relationship between Scotland, England, Wales and NI. But that will go unnoticed by the No Surrenderers, for whom a flag and a tank will always outweigh argument.

Agree with Rob. The SNP talk left but act centrist which is smart on their part and fools most of the people most of the time. But they have a dilemma in forthcoming years to actually start pushing a more leftist approach- if they don't they get slaughtered for. It delivering what they said. However if they go too far in the leftist agenda- which would be easy- then they will try to lead the Scottish people in a direction of which they are not ready and they will leave behind a vacuum which can be easily filled by the tories with a more populist approach that appeals the majority sentiment.

What's the fucking shambles?  The way Scotland's being run or The Tory party?

You not keeping up with current affairs son? Put the news on at night.

As for Rab thinking the Tories can be a genuine threat to the SNP in Scotland...

:lol: :lol: :lol:

9 minutes ago, mjw said:

If they can expand their support base beyond Rangers and Airdrie fans they might get to 23% in the next election.

As Brexit begins to bite and their absolute shambles becomes more apparent, the Tories will fail to coast along on just putting a jolly smiling lesbian on a tank with a Union flag unfurling behind her (because hey, kids - it's hip to be a British nationalist "modern" Tory). The Tories are not opposition in Scotland - they are Westminster in Scotland, and more than that, the party of government in Westminster in Scotland.

17 minutes ago, mjw said:

Best leaving that nonsense to the daily mail.

She doesn't fence, though - she's alright. It's the fencing that makes you an out of touch elite - sexuality just makes you cool, even if your party is a relic. C.f. David Coburn also trying to use sexuality to imply that he was a modern progressive after being outed as a racist over his remarks about Humza Yousaf ("I'm gay," quoth he, "I can't be a bigot and I can't try and make anyone else's life difficult.")