Motherwell FC - A Thread For All Seasons

32 minutes ago, Neil86 said:

Any reason why the striker we apparently paid 6 figures for doesn't start? 

It was good to finally touch a football again. I felt good for about five minutes and then I started to feel my lungs! 

^^^An interview from after the County game. No point shoehorning him in before he's fit, 

For tomorrow - the fact we've just got a bunch of defensive players to play in every position except centre forward is probably fine. If nothing else it could frustrate the "home" support and give us some months of greetin' about Parking the Bus when we scrape a 0-0.

9 minutes ago, Swello said:

For tomorrow - the fact we've just got a bunch of defensive players to play in every position except centre forward is probably fine. If nothing else it could frustrate the "home" support and give us some months of greetin' about Parking the Bus when we scrape a 0-0.

Deal. Where do I sign? 

Fully on board with either of our keepers saving Sevco’s customary penalty. 

1 hour ago, Gallus Numpty said:

I'm on WhatsApp, so I tried. Channel not available in Ireland, apparently.

Aye I’m in Turkey currently and can’t access it 

6 minutes ago, Gaag97 said:

I got it working eventually, by downloading the beta version of the app and a random combination of copying and pasting URLs from the email.

Athens was by a distance the worst sunburn I've had in my entire life. Had to get one of my flatmates to apply after sun when I got back to London cause I couldn't bend my arms without near sobbing.

I also saw a boys brain more or less when he decked it down the steps, almost fell out a taxi window on the way to the game and nearly got in a fight with a laddie who was being racist to their centre forward.

All in all, a decent trip, I'd say. 

1 hour ago, Gallus Numpty said:

I'm on WhatsApp, so I tried. Channel not available in Ireland, apparently.

24 minutes ago, Gaag97 said:

Can't get it working just now either, get a #blocked message when I try. I currently reside in ML6, if its a location based issue I'd hate to think that flags me as a f**king Airdrie fan by default??!! Lol

25 minutes ago, crazylegsjoe_mfc said:

Surely we've learned some lessons about playing people before they are match fit.

I'd say the same goes for McGinn here anaw.

5 hours ago, Swello said:

I'm all for getting Balmer on the park and just spending the game launching those big daft throw-ins at Butland's head and have Liam Gordon and Casey just assault everyone and anyone. 

WV5_Rangers_v_Mwell.jpg
7005715.jpg
?type=responsive-gallery-fullscreen
skysports-rangers-fabio-cardoso-nose-v-m
1_BowmanMotherwell.jpg

Edited by capt_oats

4 hours ago, 'WellDel said:

Can't get it working just now either, get a #blocked message when I try. I currently reside in ML6, if its a location based issue I'd hate to think that flags me as a f**king Airdrie fan by default??!! Lol

As a fellow ML6 dweller I've managed to get in. Nothing much of interest on there right enough 

4 hours ago, thisGRAEME said:

Athens was by a distance the worst sunburn I've had in my entire life. Had to get one of my flatmates to apply after sun when I got back to London cause I couldn't bend my arms without near sobbing.

I also saw a boys brain more or less when he decked it down the steps, almost fell out a taxi window on the way to the game and nearly got in a fight with a laddie who was being racist to their centre forward.

All in all, a decent trip, I'd say. 

The lad that fell down the stairs had his wee lassie with him???

There was a very drunk arsehole in front of us who thought it would be fun to chuck an empty bottle of water at the armed cops near us, w@nker.

The night before the game in the wee dram was outstanding!

we had heard all sorts of stories about the ultras and fights. we were supposed to meet up at some square to be escorted to the game but my pal and I thought it’ll be quicker to get the tube. Got off at the velodrome (which was in some state) and walked the 200-300 yards to the ground. Half way there about 100 fans on mopeds came heading towards us. They just nodded hello and carried on… I went and changed my pants!!!

the guy selling frozen water bottles outside the ground was a life saver. I bought 4 and all had melted by half time!

6 hours ago, camer0n_mcd said:

^^^An interview from after the County game. No point shoehorning him in before he's fit, 

Aye I didn’t realise their season finished in like April, some stint off.

2 minutes ago, Neil86 said:

Aye I didn’t realise their season finished in like April, some stint off.

Blamer's season at Wimbledon ended the same weekend but he returned to Crystal Palace and played 90' against Liverpool in PL2. Stama did play after that but 25mins or so against Palestine for Australia.

No idea if Balmer, Seddon, etc. have had minor injuries or unfit/not up to speed, nothing has been shared. Maybe it was felt they had to better Wilson, Casey and Blaney in training to remove them from the starting squad. Sparrow was reported returning to play against East Stirling after being out in the pre Ross Country email's we're now getting.

8 minutes ago, Vietnam91 said:

Blamer's season at Wimbledon ended the same weekend but he returned to Crystal Palace and played 90' against Liverpool in PL2. Stama did play after that but 25mins or so against Palestine for Australia.

No idea if Balmer, Seddon, etc. have had minor injuries or unfit/not up to speed, nothing has been shared. Maybe it was felt they had to better Wilson, Casey and Blaney in training to remove them from the starting squad. Sparrow was reported returning to play against East Stirling after being out in the pre Ross Country email's we're now getting.

I knew the English lower leagues finished early, for the play offs. That maybe explains their absence. Even with those odd couple of appearances, you’d still be well off it.

Balmer one is still odd, 90 minutes against Edinburgh and not a minute since.  Did kettlewell not mention Seddon required treatment on an injury, was known when he signed though, which will have delayed him. 

See tbf, we all want to see the new defenders, same with all new signings, but we have only conceded two in six, so kettlewell, so far, is justified.

Edited by Neil86

7 minutes ago, Neil86 said:

See tbf, we all want to see the new defenders, same with all new signings, but we have only conceded two in six, so kettlewell, so far, is justified.

Only one of those could be considered a near peer team. Ross County at home if we want to be safe again is in the 2 points dropped territory, even with all our injuries we should have tucked them away.

31 minutes ago, Vietnam91 said:

Only one of those could be considered a near peer team. Ross County at home if we want to be safe again is in the 2 points dropped territory, even with all our injuries we should have tucked them away.

Aye, I totally get that point. But the defenders (defensively) are still doing the job asked of them. The two points dropped lands at the feet (or head in Moses case) of the two sitters we missed on Saturday.

I still think the full backs could offer so much more going forward, in fact an awful lot more which would maybe lend to these 0-0 bore fests lighting up, a bit. 

I think the Issue with Stamatelpolous is that the A league doesn't look like it starts until Oct so I'd be surprised if there was any formal preseason done.