Follow Follow Rangers. Season 2024/25

I love watching Celtic in europe but as for the actual euro competitions now. I lost all interest in them, I dont watch them anymore if Celtic arent in them apart from the odd time a particular team seems to be doing something different from the norm. I used to love watching the old uefa, Cup Winners , European Cup but the lack of competition, same old teams etc.  I know the first thought in many posters minds is thats a bit rich being a Celtic fan in a domestic league either Celtic or rangers win but I also dont really like the fact its always same winners in spfl.

I think a new european competition should be started by all the european countries outside the big 5 or 6 who dominate the current uefa setup. It should be a fair competition not under Uefa. It probably should be 2 competitions. The money a club gets for qualifying and from the european competition should be slpit 50/50 with the club and the league its from. For example if Celtic were to get 40 million they keep 20 and the league clubs split the other 20. That way the money gets spread out and competition domestically should get better.

All the leagues should align as much as possible how they distribute their money domestically/internally, maybe an idea is even selling the doemstic TV rights of all these european countries as one and sharing the money between the leagues on some sort of viewing figures level or even just equally. Some way that would share even the domestic money more fairly and in some aligned european way.

Im sure theres loads holes in this idea but some way to make a competitive not just european but domestic leagues again in europe is possible in my opinion, might not be the above but someone somewhere has the way.  Accepting the ideas/scraps from uefa is just shite really. We should just do it ourselves

Edited by BigDoddyKane

7 hours ago, Grangemouth Bairn said:

Fair point. As a Celtic fan do you see the Champs League as purely an opportunity to boost your accounts and to get the rare opportunity to see some top teams at Celtic Park or do you think you can go for in the competition?

I think it’s a stretch to suggest we can go far in the competition we would need a very fortunate draw for that to happen and a very good transfer window.

I would however like to see us do better than previous attempts and avoid 7-0 7-1 drubbings and at least be more competitive.

But let’s not pretend the money isn’t the big thing here obviously it is

Just now, Jinky67 said:

I think it’s a stretch to suggest we can go far in the competition we would need a very fortunate draw for that to happen and a very good transfer window.

I would however like to see us do better than previous attempts and avoid 7-0 7-1 drubbings and at least be more competitive.

No drubbings, a few results and drop down Into the Europa is the old Firm's (sorry celtic) best bet.

4 minutes ago, AB1872 said:

You might get the disco lights going at last. £2 million well spent 😂

Mental that the next two million your club earns will only be 2/3 of the way to plugging the gap your wee sensitive "fans" made when their dummies went hypersonic.

1 hour ago, Jinky67 said:

Real drubbings are not that common in the group stages as the real powerhouses tend to do enough against the ‘diddy’ clubs to get through.

As Bennet says above. Try and finish 3rd and drop into Europa League is the best bet for either Old Firm club. That way guarantees the money and gives us a sporting chance against similar size clubs 

3 minutes ago, Bairnardo said:

Mental that the next two million your club earns will only be 2/3 of the way to plugging the gap your wee sensitive "fans" made when their dummies went hypersonic.

We ll earn more than that next Thursday 

2 hours ago, Jinky67 said:

Aye, none of us like football being more about money than winning but you are spot on.

The reality is that of the 79 teams that enter the competition only really 4 or 5 teams (and am being kind to Man City in saying 4) are entering with a realistic chance of winning it which means around 75 teams or 95% of the teams are there for the money.

5 hours ago, Jacksgranda said:

They should call it The Old Firm co-efficient, imho

It's helping third place/Hibernian when we win the cup go right into the Conf' league next season at worst so them doing well is overall better for our better clubs. 

8 minutes ago, Drew Brees said:

You do know it’s not one or the other? You could’ve had both. 

I thought this had been explained.

Rangers will be arranging alternatives to the Oz fiasco. I’m sure we ll earn from that. 

The board , eventually, listened to the support and the support will now , hopefully, back whatever alternative is put forward which is another gain financially.

Now there will be no fan boycott of RTV, Merchandise and MyGers

Rangers will be losing very little, if anything, from not playing in Anges homecoming 

Just now, AB1872 said:

Rangers will be arranging alternatives to the Oz fiasco. I’m sure we ll earn from that. 

The board , eventually, listened to the support and the support will now , hopefully, back whatever alternative is put forward which is another gain financially.

Rangers will be losing very little, if anything, from not playing in Anges homecoming 

You still can’t compare it to Thursday game though, Oz only becomes irrelevant once you’ve arranged something else.

11 minutes ago, AB1872 said:

I’d imagine Rangers will now earn less from anything they do arrange than they normally would. If you were in the market for a club to take part in some friendly tournament or other, you’d see how they f*cked about the organisers of that one and steer clear unless they dropped their asking price a bit.

6 hours ago, BigDoddyKane said:

I love watching Celtic in europe but as for the actual euro competitions now. I lost all interest in them, I dont watch them anymore if Celtic arent in them apart from the odd time a particular team seems to be doing something different from the norm. I used to love watching the old uefa, Cup Winners , European Cup but the lack of competition, same old teams etc.  I know the first thought in many posters minds is thats a bit rich being a Celtic fan in a domestic league either Celtic or rangers win but I also dont really like the fact its always same winners in spfl.

I think a new european competition should be started by all the european countries outside the big 5 or 6 who dominate the current uefa setup. It should be a fair competition not under Uefa. It probably should be 2 competitions. The money a club gets for qualifying and from the european competition should be slpit 50/50 with the club and the league its from. For example if Celtic were to get 40 million they keep 20 and the league clubs split the other 20. That way the money gets spread out and competition domestically should get better.

All the leagues should align as much as possible how they distribute their money domestically/internally, maybe an idea is even selling the doemstic TV rights of all these european countries as one and sharing the money between the leagues on some sort of viewing figures level or even just equally. Some way that would share even the domestic money more fairly and in some aligned european way.

Im sure theres loads holes in this idea but some way to make a competitive not just european but domestic leagues again in europe is possible in my opinion, might not be the above but someone somewhere has the way.  Accepting the ideas/scraps from uefa is just shite really. We should just do it ourselves

"I don't like watching something we don't have a chance of winning".

11 hours ago, AB1872 said:

Real drubbings are not that common in the group stages as the real powerhouses tend to do enough against the ‘diddy’ clubs to get through.

As Bennet says above. Try and finish 3rd and drop into Europa League is the best bet for either Old Firm Glasgow Derby club. That way guarantees the money and gives us a sporting chance against similar size clubs 

9 hours ago, Ross. said:

I’d imagine Rangers will now earn less from anything they do arrange than they normally would. If you were in the market for a club to take part in some friendly tournament or other, you’d see how they f*cked about the organisers of that one and steer clear unless they dropped their asking price a bit.

It’s also the winter break, teams don’t normally have glamour matches/mini tournaments during that period.