BBC bias

On 20/07/2023 at 23:07, Suspect Device said:

BBC really taking the pish tonight on the 10 o'clock news in the feature on the bye elections. 

Unless there's been an earthquake and we've lost half the north west.

20230720_225102.thumb.jpg.e9c8510aaf3cbc31b88130920bfe7356.jpg

The weight of all the gammon fatties in their camper vans has finally broken the West Highlands.

On 20/07/2023 at 23:07, Suspect Device said:

BBC really taking the pish tonight on the 10 o'clock news in the feature on the bye elections. 

Unless there's been an earthquake and we've lost half the north west.

20230720_225102.thumb.jpg.e9c8510aaf3cbc31b88130920bfe7356.jpg

To paraphrase the Proclaimers, 

"Lochaber no more, Wester Ross no more, West Sutherland no more, Bridge to Skye no more .."

Has anyone downloaded the latest version of the BBC News app?

What an absolute mess. The Home page feels like they just placed stuff in any random order.

The "My News" section has a huge amount of space taken up by "Latest" which is almost all stuff at the top of the Home page so you need to scroll past that before you get to the stuff you actually wanted.

It feels like everything now needs extra clicks and a lot of scrolling to find.

What do we think of the BBC reporting falsely that the fires in south Europe are a result of “global warming” when in actual fact it was arsonists? They seem to keep quiet about that. Also lied about the temperature, took it from the ground where it is always warmer. Turns out temperatures in southern Europe really aren’t extraordinary at all. 

1 hour ago, Balde Bairn said:

What do we think of the BBC reporting falsely that the fires in south Europe are a result of “global warming” when in actual fact it was arsonists? They seem to keep quiet about that. Also lied about the temperature, took it from the ground where it is always warmer. Turns out temperatures in southern Europe really aren’t extraordinary at all. 

It's not about what starts the fires(the vast majority are caused by negligence by humans) it's the conditions caused by the dry hot weather (climate change)and de-population of rural areas which is leading to the higher spread of the wildfires. 

This is an article from last year describing the problem.  https://www.indiatoday.in/world/story/wildfires-europe-what-is-behind-them-explained-1978961-2022-07-23

Edited by dirty dingus

The BBC have robustly refuted the point about the temperature reporting, at length.

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/science-environment-66314338

Do you have any support for your contention that it's a lie so that i can make up my own mind on this? 

I don't think i can recall any articles with the bbc stating that the fires are "a result" of global warming. They're usually really careful about not ascribing direct causality because it gets lots of green ink letters from ignorant nutcases about the science not being settled. 

They have reported on the fires as part of reporting on a heatwave during  which they've discussed global warming. I'd like to hear why this is a bad thing, so i can make up my own mind. 

3 hours ago, Balde Bairn said:

Another PnB climate change denier, just what the site needs 🤪

2 hours ago, dirty dingus said:

It's not about what starts the fires(the vast majority are caused by negligence by humans) it's the conditions caused by the dry hot weather (climate change)and de-population of rural areas which is leading to the higher spread of the wildfires. 

This is an article from last year describing the problem.  https://www.indiatoday.in/world/story/wildfires-europe-what-is-behind-them-explained-1978961-2022-07-23

Dry and hot weather, that’s really unusual in southern Europe in July. 

43 minutes ago, Balde Bairn said:

Dry and hot weather, that’s really unusual in southern Europe in July. 

Did you read the article? It's talking about the drought and  record breaking temperatures(caused by climate change) happening in spring leading to the conditions  being perfect for the spread of wildfires in the summer 

9 hours ago, dirty dingus said:

Did you read the article? It's talking about the drought and  record breaking temperatures(caused by climate change) happening in spring leading to the conditions  being perfect for the spread of wildfires in the summer 

Dry warm weather means wildfires spread out of control easily. Nothing new there. Australia has had these problems for years. Not unlikely to happen in Greece since it is hot and dry. People need to be more cautious with what they do with fire in these places or not deliberately start a fire. That’s the main lesson to take from it. Learn that lesson before spreading all this apocalyptic nonsense. 

Here's a wee group of conspiracy crackpots called NASA dishing out all sorts of scientific evidence on climate change. Don't worry though TrumpPatriotboy88@nopronounsexceptgammon 🙏🙏🇺🇸🇬🇧🇮🇱🙏🙏:gunssays differently.       https://climate.nasa.gov/

Edited by dirty dingus

On 27/07/2023 at 09:51, NorthernLights said:

Has anyone downloaded the latest version of the BBC News app?

What an absolute mess. The Home page feels like they just placed stuff in any random order.

The "My News" section has a huge amount of space taken up by "Latest" which is almost all stuff at the top of the Home page so you need to scroll past that before you get to the stuff you actually wanted.

It feels like everything now needs extra clicks and a lot of scrolling to find.

I remember thinking the same thing years ago about the Sport section, roughly around the time that Scottish clubs outwith the top tier stopped getting their own news pages. For some time, it looks like they've been trying to go down the route of funnelling people towards the articles that have been getting the most views, and there's an element of clickbait language entering their titles. This isn't something a publicly-owned media organisation should need to do; presumably there's pressure from the top to get ready for having to survive in an environment where that's no longer the case.

22 hours ago, Billy Jean King said:

Another PnB climate change denier, just what the site needs 🤪

I think you'll find it's one of the old ones back for more attention yet again.

10 hours ago, dirty dingus said:

Here's a wee group of conspiracy crackpots called NASA dishing out all sorts of scientific evidence on climate change. Don't worry though TrumpPatriotboy88@nopronounsexceptgammon 🙏🙏🇺🇸🇬🇧🇮🇱🙏🙏:gunssays differently.       https://climate.nasa.gov/

Conspiracy theorists have long hated NASA, along with scientists and 'experts' in general. Essentially anyone who genuinely does their own research and doesn't waffle fantasy shite on social media all day.

12 hours ago, dirty dingus said:

So how are we all going to die from this? What exactly is climate change going to cause that will lead to Armageddon?