BBC bias

Can't find anything on the BBC site about the re-opening of the Leven railway line yesterday.

Is it my terrible search skills or is the BBC suppressing something that might make the SNP look good?

They should hardly bother given that the SNP's record on public transport is pretty dismal given that it's crucial to tackling global warming.

9 minutes ago, KirkieRR said:

Can't find anything on the BBC site about the re-opening of the Leven railway line yesterday.

Is it my terrible search skills or is the BBC suppressing something that might make the SNP look good?

They should hardly bother given that the SNP's record on public transport is pretty dismal given that it's crucial to tackling global warming.

I heard about this last night and had a rummage. I can't find anything about the new line since August 2019. https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-edinburgh-east-fife-49279810

They have a Leven page, no mention of it at all: https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/topics/cdd52pp76ywt?page=1

There's an article about those two ferries at least fortnightly though. 

2 minutes ago, GordonS said:

I heard about this last night and had a rummage. I can't find anything about the new line since August 2019. https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-edinburgh-east-fife-49279810

They have a Leven page, no mention of it at all: https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/topics/cdd52pp76ywt?page=1

There's an article about those two ferries at least fortnightly though. 

Aye, if it isn't my search skills then the BBC is acting a bit rummily.

23 minutes ago, KirkieRR said:

BBC Scotland is just an arm of unionism.

Not to mention this - rather important - development is ludicrous

21 minutes ago, KirkieRR said:

From Wikipedia... "By January 2024, infrastructure works were largely completed, with testing and driver training underway. An announcement in March 2024, stated that the whole project opened on 2 June of that year. The route was formally opened on 29 May 2024 by First Minister John Swinney, ahead of the start of regular service."

6 minutes ago, Salt n Vinegar said:

From Wikipedia... "By January 2024, infrastructure works were largely completed, with testing and driver training underway. An announcement in March 2024, stated that the whole project opened on 2 June of that year. The route was formally opened on 29 May 2024 by First Minister John Swinney, ahead of the start of regular service."

Well, yes, I know all that. Why doesn't the BBC?

I'm not sure if it's a partisan bias - they covered the new stations at Kintore, Inverness Airport and Reston well enough. A subconscious class bias maybe?

3 minutes ago, GordonS said:

I'm not sure if it's a partisan bias - they covered the new stations at Kintore, Inverness Airport and Reston well enough. A subconscious class bias maybe?

That's a good point - but they were stations opening on existing lines, while this is a bigger story, a reopened line, like the Borders Railway whch they also covered.

It's the timing that makes me suspicious.

19 minutes ago, KirkieRR said:

That's a good point - but they were stations opening on existing lines, while this is a bigger story, a reopened line, like the Borders Railway whch they also covered.

It's the timing that makes me suspicious.

Make no difference I expect, but I've emailed their Newswatch (newswatch@bbc.co.uk) show to ask why this newsworthy story in relation to Fife and east central Scotland is receiving no coverage on the BBC Scotland news programmes nor webpages.

3 hours ago, Caro-Kann said:

Make no difference I expect, but I've emailed their Newswatch (newswatch@bbc.co.uk) show to ask why this newsworthy story in relation to Fife and east central Scotland is receiving no coverage on the BBC Scotland news programmes nor webpages.

Attaboy*.

* Please adjust if sex/gender-inappropriate.

48 minutes ago, MazzyStar said:

It’s because nobody cares about fife. 

For my sins I used to work in Fife.

A particular highlight was hearing a Councillor utter the immortal words "whit wur here fur tae dae t'day is fur tae...."

Happy days.

BBC R4 this morning had David Wallace Lockhart doing the "Scottish bit" on the GE.

He had nothing major to say, but managed to crowbar in "Devolved issues are dominating the campaign, with the SNP having to fend off attacks from the other main parties".

Now, we know this is true - because Labour and Tories dont actually have any GE policies with which they can rationally campaign in Scotland - and we have seen Stephen Flynn handing Westminster politicians arses to them during sensible debates on actual GE issues.

But Wallace Lockhart simply doesnt challenge the Labour and Tory lines or give any weight to the non-devolved issues which actually should be under discussion.

The BBC is a shambles when it comes to Scotland.

On 10/06/2024 at 06:52, Leith Green said:

BBC R4 this morning had David Wallace Lockhart doing the "Scottish bit" on the GE.

He had nothing major to say, but managed to crowbar in "Devolved issues are dominating the campaign, with the SNP having to fend off attacks from the other main parties".

Now, we know this is true - because Labour and Tories dont actually have any GE policies with which they can rationally campaign in Scotland - and we have seen Stephen Flynn handing Westminster politicians arses to them during sensible debates on actual GE issues.

But Wallace Lockhart simply doesnt challenge the Labour and Tory lines or give any weight to the non-devolved issues which actually should be under discussion.

The BBC is a shambles when it comes to Scotland.

It's almost as if the section dealing with a whole country gets the same funding and attention as North Norfolk Digital 

12 hours ago, tamthebam said:

It's almost as if the section dealing with a whole country gets the same funding and attention as North Norfolk Digital 

I don't know if this was bias or not, but in a summary on Radio Scotland of the debate, I didn't think I heard any reference to Sarwar acknowledging the right of the Scottish people to decide their constitutional future but being silent on how that could be assessed.

32 minutes ago, Salt n Vinegar said:

I don't know if this was bias or not, but in a summary on Radio Scotland of the debate, I didn't think I heard any reference to Sarwar acknowledging the right of the Scottish people to decide their constitutional future but being silent on how that could be assessed.

That's the same as this pish about "aspirational" people.

"We won't tax you when you're a millionaire"

"Great.. err, how do I become a millionaire? I didn't go to Eton or Oxbridge..."

"Oh, bad luck. And there's no wealth redistribution either. So, peasant, it's either scratch cards or drug dealing for you to fulfil your aspirations.."