The Ultimate Super Ayr Thread

9 minutes ago, Ayrutd1910 said:

Exactly, some people will find something to moan about.

Some people... get the claws away and yer baws oot and disagree with someone's opinion if you don't agree/like. Save that shite patter fur the binga 

Edited by F.T.O.F.1910

Tbh last night was exactly the type of game you want from LC group stages. The flaws/work ons were obvious but we still won against decent opposition. Despite just being promoted Falkirk are nailed on top half this season imo. Midfield is the obvious area where we must improve. We struggled to build through the 3rds all night and there was a bit too much long ball. Don't mind going long to Dowds/Oakley but we have to mix it up more to be effective. The skeleton of a good team is there but still a big work in progress. Every hatchet man in the league will be taking note of Rus. So good, must keep fit

Just now, dam00114 said:

Tbh last night was exactly the type of game you want from LC group stages. The flaws/work ons were obvious but we still won against decent opposition. Despite just being promoted Falkirk are nailed on top half this season imo. Midfield is the obvious area where we must improve. We struggled to build through the 3rds all night and there was a bit too much long ball. Don't mind going long to Dowds/Oakley but we have to mix it up more to be effective. The skeleton of a good team is there but still a big work in progress. Every hatchet man in the league will be taking note of Rus. So good, must keep fit

Think we need someone to challenge Oakley and Dowds.  At the moment, Bryden isn't a championship quality striker, he really does need game time down the leagues.  When one of Dowds/Oakley is subbed, the drop in quality at the top end of the pitch is very noticeable.

Just now, callum-ayr said:

Think we need someone to challenge Oakley and Dowds.  At the moment, Bryden isn't a championship quality striker, he really does need game time down the leagues.  When one of Dowds/Oakley is subbed, the drop in quality at the top end of the pitch is very noticeable.

Aye id be quite happy to see us making more use out of McRoberts who to me is a much more promising prospect.  If we cant afford another option up there he at least gives us something different with his running.   

Will never understand people who think it's their job to scold people for daring to point problems out. Wonder when someone will first pull the "not real fans" card back out.

1 hour ago, Andy_AUFC said:

Lucky if Rus makes it to the first league game if we keep having to play hammer throwers like Falkirk for the next few weeks.  

Yeah I will bite…….we outplayed you all night playing football built-up from back & through the lines whilst you reverted to long (hoof)ball from early doors which our second string back 4 coped with all night apart from the goal. As said by many of your own support we were extremely unlucky to not get at least a draw & given players still to return from injury it augers well for season ahead & predict we finish above you lot in league quite comfortably. On a separate note expected Broonie’s team to be more tactically astute & at least attempting to play sone silky passing footie but clearly his risk averse hoofball to Dowds & Oakley negates that idea.

13 minutes ago, callum-ayr said:

100% agree with this. Think we could do with a pacier forward to compliment Dowds and Oakley. That being said any remaining budget should be prioritised towards reinforcing the base of the team (CB, CM). If anything left over after that, worth addressing for sure 

Aye Bryden has to go out on loan. He's nowhere near what's needed. Hopefully he can develop, but he offers so little to us.

Would like to see more of McRoberts. I think he would also fit into our system a bit more, seems a bit more like Dowds / Oakley than Bryden is.

Edited by AUcal

5 minutes ago, Thumper said:

Will never understand people who think it's their job to scold people for daring to point problems out. Wonder when someone will first pull the "not real fans" card back out.

"We can feel it coming..... Woohh" 🤣

2 minutes ago, Kircer bairn said:

Yeah I will bite…….we outplayed you all night playing football built-up from back & through the lines whilst you reverted to long (hoof)ball from early doors which our second string back 4 coped with all night apart from the goal. As said by many of your own support we were extremely unlucky to not get at least a draw & given players still to return from injury it augers well for season ahead & predict we finish above you lot in league quite comfortably. On a separate note expected Broonie’s team to be more tactically astute & at least attempting to play sone silky passing footie but clearly his risk averse hoofball to Dowds & Oakley negates that idea.

I’d say grinding out a 1-0 win against your team of tiki taka superstars who will walk the league is a sign of being very tactically astute.

If you can’t beat supposedly ‘hoofball’ teams then I’d be preparing for another visit to the seaside.

3 minutes ago, Kircer bairn said:

Salty Tears GIF - Salty Tears Of - Discover & Share GIFs

4 minutes ago, Kircer bairn said:

A view into the mind of an 8 year old child here.  

Calling it “footie” should result in an instant ban and an addition to the sex offenders register. 

I don’t think Falkirk played well. They didn’t carve our defence open and create brilliant chances. Hitting the bar from a free kick or pot shot from outside the box doesn’t make you worthy of winning a game. The standouts in that game last night all came from the Ayr side whilst you had Brad Spencer spraying passes into the terracing and thinking he was some sort of player. 

14 minutes ago, Kircer bairn said:

That's all very good, but it didn't address what the original post mentioned - that some of the tackles, on Rus in particular, were pretty hefty and targeted. More acceptable in the diddy leagues, but not as much up here with the big boys.

Also, you can play the ball around as much as you like but if you're game plan can be sussed out by half time and completely nullified then it might not get you as far as you expect. That said, fully expect Falkirk to be challenging top 4, some decent players in that team.

Edited by AUcal

12 minutes ago, Kircer bairn said:

You outplayed f**k all.... ye lost. After one year and three days unbeaten... nae wunner yer ragin 🤣🤣

Long ball has its place, and when you have two massive strikers playing against a second-string back four it makes perfect sense.

Also, it's only Falkirk, who belong in the league below. The manager is presumably saving the actual football for proper teams.

Lots of positives in the game I thought, particularly Rus and Watret.  We really need more strength and experience in the middle of the park though.  Would be great if Andy Murdoch is the answer, but he must be miles away from match fitness if we’re preferring McKenzie as a central midfielder.  

1 minute ago, Thumper said:

Long ball has its place, and when you have two massive strikers playing against a second-string back four it makes perfect sense.

Also, it's only Falkirk, who belong in the league below. The manager is presumably saving the actual football for proper teams.

McGlynn must have been watching old videos of Ayr last season, pushing up on the defenders to make them go long, we have two big lumps up front that are good with their feet, so we can go long or play in on the deck to them. 
The fact that McGlynn kept doing it is why his teams never reach the top half of the Championship.