Clash of the titans Raith v Arbroath

On 10/5/2018 at 09:37, Lichtie78 said:

Can’t even remember the last time I heard someone use ‘neds’ to describe people :lol:

What sort of neddish behaviour was going on?

Neds....by god they were utter cads and bounders i will have you know sir......they didnt even dress for dinner.......

• Replies 561
36 minutes ago, Gordon EF said:
2 hours ago, Ro Sham Bo said:
Only if we'd been part-time.
His managerial record doesn't suggest he's cut out for full-time football.

Neither are Raith to be fair. Perfect match.

Easy to see East Fife are on their best run of form since 1955.

He’s an attention seeking dinosaur.

[emoji23]

Not as bad as the boy on fan talk who said that Campbell was the reason Scottish football is in such a crappy state, because he plays 'stifling' football in League 1.

Also a few more comments saying we will struggle with injuries and suspensions in the second half of the season. Not saying we won't but why won't that happen to Rovers for example?

Our form from January onwards last season was much better than our form at the start of the season.

Rovers probably will come through and win the league and we might not end up being anywhere near it but the way some Rovers fans are going on it's a given just because you are FT and McGlynn will make everything rosy and good again. Nobody knows what will happen, McGlynn could end up having a mare.

To be fair it would have to be the mare of all mares to lose a league where Arbroath and East Fife are the only credible challengers.

Even if it takes McGlynn until January to sort us out we'll still win this by a minimum of 10 points in the end

To be fair it would have to be the mare of all mares to lose a league where Arbroath and East Fife are the only credible challengers.
Even if it takes McGlynn until January to sort us out we'll still win this by a minimum of 10 points in the end

9 games gone, could be other teams coming from nowhere. And keep up the arrogance if you want but I personally think it's misplaced

Hardly a bold prediction tipping us to win the league. Arguably the best squad, the best manager, attendances that will dwarf any other side in the league and the only full time side. 

We need to make those things count, and there is absolutely no guarantee that we will, but it's hardly an outlandish or cocky prediction. If the utter shit Smith served up got that close then I'd like to think that with semi competent management we will get there. 

Hardly a bold prediction tipping us to win the league. Arguably the best squad, the best manager, attendances that will dwarf any other side in the league and the only full time side. 

We need to make those things count, and there is absolutely no guarantee that we will, but it's hardly an outlandish or cocky prediction. If the utter shit Smith served up got that close then I'd like to think that with semi competent management we will get there. 

Who said it was a bold prediction?

From a neutral point of view Smith wasn't even that bad, wasn't great but last seasons failure was lingering over him and it would've made everything seem worse.

Saying a minimum of 10 points no matter how much of a mare McGlynn has or if it takes him another 2/3 month to sort you out is pretty cocky to be fair.

42 minutes ago, CALDERON said:

6AF16BA9-42A1-4021-A609-295AB157EAA5.jpeg

Who said it was a bold prediction?

From a neutral point of view Smith wasn't even that bad, wasn't great but last seasons failure was lingering over him and it would've made everything seem worse.

Saying a minimum of 10 points no matter how much of a mare McGlynn has or if it takes him another 2/3 month to sort you out is pretty cocky to be fair.

You've almost answered your own point with this. Last season we finished 15 points ahead of Alloa comfortably in second place (and almost finishing first to boot). We took only two points from two away days at Coatbridge and Forfar, and lost in games to Ayr away both times. All the while, with the exception of the first five or six games we played turgid, one dimensional football. And yet we still haven't lost a league game at this level at home since our relegation.

We've got a better manager who has more connections within the game, and he's got a track record with us of being efficient and hard working. We've got the obvious advantage of being full time which means more time for training and preparation for games.

There's a lot of football to be played and nothing is guaranteed. But every single factor which Calderon has covered has an influence. We've got an imbalanced squad in some respects, but our fans have every reason to be confident McGlynn can get the same points advantage as Smith did, but get the job done.

Fwiw, I think the next quarter of fixtures will be an interesting indicator for the league. Airdrie and Dumbarton sacking their managers will freshen things up. I can't see us dropping as many points through draws as we did in the first quarter. Hopefully a bit more stability and positivity at Rovers will see us push on.

7 hours ago, 1320Lichtie said:

emoji23.png

Storming on the pitch during a game to argue with the referee, (at Ayr last season) slagging off refs for being young. Seeming to think that as he’s old means he’s right.

Aye we need more of that.

The only reason reporters hang round him, his due to his error prone gaffs. A pair of tartan slippers and a comfy armchair, in a nice warm Fife carehome, should be his next gig.

Storming on the pitch during a game to argue with the referee, (at Ayr last season) slagging off refs for being young. Seeming to think that as he’s old means he’s right.

Aye we need more of that.

The only reason reporters hang round him, his due to his error prone gaffs. A pair of tartan slippers and a comfy armchair, in a nice warm Fife carehome, should be his next gig.

Once he's done that, he's managed for how long? Said the ref was inexperienced, which is true. And aye I'd rather more managers spoke their mind instead of cliched shite. It's happened quite a lot this season, Clarke/Levein/Lennon in the Prem for example.

We do need more of that.

As for the care home bit, him and his brother are still very successful in running their own business so probably uncalled for. [emoji1303]

13 hours ago, Ro Sham Bo said:

Brilliant...

16 hours ago, Ro Sham Bo said:

Crikey, I pray that pish above comes back to bite you on the arse. It just about sums up the delusion and arrogance of Wraith fans on here, Only a few weeks ago you were moaning about the board, the manager and basically just how shite you were and how club is a fucking joke. Fast forward 3 weeks and you''ve suddenly turned into Clyde fannies. Ya couldn't make it up:lol:.

Fingers crossed another season of misery is bestowed upon you and you're still here next year talkin the same old pish. Great entertainment.

17 hours ago, Ro Sham Bo said:

Code for ......"You are  hoping you avoid the play offs again " !  :whistle