World War Three Watch

Ralstonite

Just now, BawWatchin said:

*Sweep Sweep*
Pentagon saying there are zero US casualties.

Aye, I felt a bit of a fud as I'd just referred to the Pentagon's reports about there being no casualties and then that Tweet appeared. 

There were these:

LIVE Breaking News @NewsBreaking
FollowFollow @NewsBreaking
More

BREAKING: U.S. forces did not try to intercept the missile, but the missiles were tracked by radar, allowing personnel at the base to take cover before they hit, defense officials say - LAT

5:58 pm - 7 Jan 2020

It was actually zero confirmed casualties:

LIVE Breaking News @NewsBreaking
FollowFollow @NewsBreaking
More

NOW: Iranian military claims that wounded at least 30 U.S. soldiers in Iraq. U.S. government says they have zero confirmed casualties of U.S. forces at this time.

5:29 pm - 7 Jan 2020

I have seen various reports translated from Iranian state news saying Iranian jets in the same area as US jets, 30 US soldiers killed, Iran has started a ground offensive against the US, an American jet has been shot down. None of it corroborated in the slightest as yet.

Possible that Iran fired on an empty bit of the airfield and then made it into a huge thing for its people, while trying to deescalate as much as it could without looking weak domestically.

Complete conjecture mind. None of us have a fucking clue do we. Entertaining though...

1 hour ago, Margaret Thatcher said:

World War III has been a potential lurking around for 75 years. Donald Trump's the guy to do it. Fucking Donald Trump. Off the Apprentice....

Edit:

Edit 2: Having said that...

Aberdeen and Celtic are there too.

C'mon Iran, Give Aberdeen time to leave and then hit the two c*nts with one nuke.  

Definition of socialism:
noun  
  1. a political and economic theory of social organization which advocates that the means of production, distribution, and exchange should be owned or regulated by the community as a whole.    
Yeah, doesn't mean everybody gets paid the same, brother. There's room for everybody in a democratic socialist state.

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Democratic_socialism

Yeah. Hopefully this is the end of what has become a bit of a skirmish rather than the threat of all out war. 

Iran have retaliated with little more than the equivalent of someone firing a gun in the air and shouting a bit loud. If that's their retaliation, it's time to let it lie. 

Unfortunately, though, Trump and his advisors are fucking idiots so there's always that chance that they'll retaliate again. 

Scenes when WW3 begins because Iran have tried a wee fake retaliation and accidentally taken out a Ukrainian plane. 

Fairly sure the Cold War agreement expires next year aswell.

5 hours ago, SweeperDee said:

Trump has to consider the two looming shadows that back Iran though. 

It was interesting that some of places in the Middle East shouting "Death to America" don't care that much for Iran either. 

Personally I don't think anyone in China or Russia cares a shit about Iran but sees it strategically useful to support Iran from time to time if only to dent America's sphere of influence and improve their own.  I suspect both countries despair at the religious rhetoric of Iran and would not like it to spread in their direction.

Edited by Fullerene

49 minutes ago, ICTJohnboy said:

When I went to bed last night, I was convinced I'd wake up to the realisation that WW3 had begun.

Now it's beginning to look more like an outbreak of handbags. So long as fuel prices don't go screaming up, I'll be quite happy.

If they do start going up then buy stocks in the oil industry. You'll make far more than what you lose when you put the stuff into your car.

Edited by BawWatchin

1 hour ago, ICTJohnboy said:

When I went to bed last night, I was convinced I'd wake up to the realisation that WW3 had begun.

Now it's beginning to look more like an outbreak of handbags. So long as fuel prices don't go screaming up, I'll be quite happy.

Image result for francis urquhart gif"

13 minutes ago, John Lambies Doos said:

Right, no casualties at US bases. Leave it now Trump. Both parties have made their point.

Sadly, I doubt his ego will let him do that. Nor will the people pulling his strings. After his recent tweets, not responding to this attack would make him look like an even bigger pussy.

14 minutes ago, Snafu said:

I wouldn't be surprised if the info on attacks on those airbases were deliberately 'leaked' in plenty of time to make sure everyone was 'OK' with it.

Aye, I was thinking something similar. Khamenei is said to be a ruthless psychopath and very wary of General Soleimani's status amongst the people. Could it be that a deal was done in which the US were allowed to kill him, but that he would have to be able to launch a retaliatory attack?

Edited by Ralstonite
See next two posts...