Coronavirus (COVID-19)

1 minute ago, Snafu said:

You're getting bothered about this when there are desperate people out there who can't even make some homemade soup to feed their families or even understand what the buttons and knobs on their cooker are for.

First world problems for this pish. :rolleyes:

In that case, they should sell their cooker. Then they'll be able to order meals on wheels for their family for a week.

Who keeps an appliance in their house that they have no idea how to get any usage out of?

1 hour ago, BingMcCrosby said:

Well if it was to happen that us and every other country was to stop trading with them. We would have way less international travel to and from to every country from China. And so limiting the spread of any potential virus.

The threat of a lack of international trade would hopefully force them to reform their food hygiene standards. With more inspections and closures of restaurants, markets, stalls that do not comply. 

There have been detailed predictions of a flu pandemic at anytime in the near-future by medical and science experts around the world for a while.  It was stated that this could begin in any part of the world, including here. It could be transferred from animal to animal/ animal to human etc.

Would you be feel the same way if the rest of the world ceased trading with us if a pandemic originated here? So we could learn our lesson like.

We've all got a bit of responsibility not to spread reactionary shite, the way things snowball with social media these days. It's a bit trump-like, so you should have a wee think before havering such pish.

4 hours ago, oaksoft said:

This doesn't surprise me.

My business has seen sales drop 60% in just a week and we've had to immediately start shifting our focus onto new things.

Fortunate to have enough reserves to see this through but that won't be the case for most.

Anyone with employees and large offices/warehouses is going to struggle to keep going IMO.

And the worst thing is that this virus hasn't even really started its work in the UK yet.

^^^Sports soaks 3 furra poun'

Edited by Sergeant Wilson

It would easier to be critical if the Scottish Government wasn’t echoing the sentiment.

Ive lost all faith in the Scottish government over this. Their lack of planning, clarity etc has been shocking. Why isnt the NHS prepared? Why aren’t the police prepared? What contingencies are there? Just look like a shower of amateurs over this.

Not "may" it would limit any transmission massively.

I think they would have plenty to lose, their whole economy. And so would be open and willing to reform. With inspections and sanctions enforced by their government and outside agencys.

In your situation they have already lost their economy. Shutting them off would only mean they reciprocate and probably see them weaponise it in order to do economic damage elsewhere.

1 hour ago, Sergeant Wilson said:

Do you mean drive them in to poverty? That might they increase their in take of pangolin suppers, thus contracting covid 20...21...22.

More likely driving them into a position similar to Germany after WW1 and we all know how THAT panned out.

eta  FFS gonny slow doon, the threads racing away faster than I can read it.

Edited by cyderspaceman

2 minutes ago, Ross. said:

In your situation they have already lost their economy. Shutting them off would only mean they reciprocate and probably see them weaponise it in order to do economic damage elsewhere.

It's a bit ironic they a had The Cultural Revolution then spent billions in nuclear weapons and they brought the world to its knees with a pangolin.

Well if it was to happen that us and every other country was to stop trading with them. We would have way less international travel to and from to every country from China. And so limiting the spread of any potential virus.

The threat of a lack of international trade would hopefully force them to reform their food hygiene standards. With more inspections and closures of restaurants, markets, stalls that do not comply. 

You are Donald Trump and I claim my 10 pounds.

3 hours ago, Granny Danger said:

Love the optimism.  I hope you are not too disappointed when that doesn’t happen.

One can dream comrade.

It would be silly to rule anything out in such a fluid situation.

9 minutes ago, Sergeant Wilson said:

It's a bit ironic they a had The Cultural Revolution then spent billions in nuclear weapons and they brought the world to its knees with a pangolin.

Pangolin? So Glen Michael is the evil genius behind all this is he?

8 minutes ago, PauloPerth said:

There have been detailed predictions of a flu pandemic at anytime in the near-future by medical and science experts around the world for a while.  It was stated that this could begin in any part of the world, including here. It could be transferred from animal to animal/ animal to human etc.

Would you be feel the same way if the rest of the world ceased trading with us if a pandemic originated here? So we could learn our lesson like.

We've all got a bit of responsibility not to spread reactionary shite, the way things snowball with social media these days. It's a bit trump-like, so you should have a wee think before havering such pish.

Short memories. Remember mad cow's disease and Creutzfeldt-Jakob? And the 2007 outbreak of foot and mouth from the Government's research unit at Pirbright, also cross species? All of this has to be a global effort now and in the future, fat moronic toddlers shouting Kung Flu ffs.

18 minutes ago, Inanimate Carbon Rod said:

Ive lost all faith in the Scottish government over this. Their lack of planning, clarity etc has been shocking. Why isnt the NHS prepared? Why aren’t the police prepared? What contingencies are there? Just look like a shower of amateurs over this.

At the risk of sound sycophantic I think their hearts are in the right place.  I genuinely think Sturgeon is motivated by what is best for the people of Scotland as a whole, whereas Johnson is still looking at what is best for interest groups.

Sadly most of the major powers to deal with this are still vested in the UK government rather that the devolved ones.