Coronavirus (COVID-19)

12 hours ago, Inanimate Carbon Rod said:

Everyone agreed though that governments moving forward can never ever be allowed to cut the NHS funding ever again? This has shown that we need massive investment in healthcare, more doctors, more nurses, more research. Healthy population = less crime, less poverty, less days at work missed? Why dont the dickhead tories get it? Absolutely f**k the tories. Anyone who votes tory is a p***k, anyone, zero redeeming factors, vote tory = p***k. 

When were the previous times that the NHS had its funding cut?

Why did the dickhead SNP increase NHS funding less than the dickhead Tories?

Edited by strichener

17 minutes ago, Sherrif John Bunnell said:

Any guesses as to which 5 million people in Israel aren't being vaccinated?

https://www.vice.com/en/article/jgqbv8/israel-is-vaccinating-everyone-besides-these-5-million-people

I saw reports that quite a large chunk of Palestinians wouldn't take vaccines directly from Israel. Also good luck trying to get things back to normal when you have 5 million people nearly a 3rd unvaccinated living in unsanitary conditions with regular visits from Israeli troops. It will be good to see just how much protection the vaccine gives you as troops going in and out of the camps will be exposed to the virus.

2 hours ago, Todd_is_God said:

Speak for yourself.

Was in Turkey in late September and, apart from being a bit quieter in the hotel than it would usually be, it was essentially normal.

14 days of miles better than anything I've done here for 10 months.

Multiple posters here were frantically trying to locate you the entire time

1 hour ago, tamthebam said:

Maybe I should invest in a flat in Saltcoats if there's going to be international travel bans.

Saltcoats. It's the new Tenerife.

No offence intended to anyone, but Saltcoats is a shithole IMVVHO

Edited by Scotty Tunbridge

18 hours ago, Billy Jean King said:
18 hours ago, hk blues said:
You don't agree then that until we are all safe, nobody is safe? 

You have lost me a bit. We will be as safe as we can be once everyone over 18 has been vaccinated is what I'm saying. After that it requires us paying heed to how the virus behaves. Can't really see any other way to deal with it once we reach that stage.

I was more meaning the idea that until the bulk of the world is vaccinated we are still all at risk to some extent.  In other words, we may be an Island but no man is an island.

18 hours ago, Left Back said:

Think he’s talking about the wider world.  We can be as safe as we like but we’d possibly be locked up on our own wee island until the world is vaccinated and would be at risk of importing vaccine resistant strains.

Exactly. 

3 hours ago, HibsFan said:

I think it’s really important, going back to the discussion of a couple pages ago that I can’t be bothered quoting, that when the hopeful progression down the tiers comes this spring and/or summer, we don’t settle for tier 2 or 3 as if they’re a great compromise that we should be grateful for.

If you were to wake up, forget this last year had happened and find out those restrictions, you’d be utterly horrified by them and how everyone’s happily gone along with it. Now, we all (give or take) agree that they were a necessary sacrifice to be made in a pandemic without a vaccine context, but now we have a vaccine that will - hopefully by the end of spring - have seen all of our vulnerable and elderly citizens protected, there should be absolutely no accepting of tier 1, 2 or 3 as any kind of new normal.

Phrases like “post-COVID life” are giving me the absolute fucking fear at the minute, I won’t lie. It’s made me, a lifelong socialist, resort to the hope that rampant capitalism’s going to go “f**k your health concerns we’re back with a bang”, reopen every airline, business and entertainment venue, and kick these zero Covid weirdos into the long grass, where they rightly belong.

The tiers are a means to an end, and that end is normal life (February 2020 style) returning to us ASAP. They are not the new normal and none of us should accept them as so beyond this summer at the very latest.

Agreed wholeheartedly.

Wasn't the tier system for use without a viable vaccine? Yet you don't get the feeling it'll be dropped anytime this year.

3 hours ago, HibsFan said:

I think it’s really important, going back to the discussion of a couple pages ago that I can’t be bothered quoting, that when the hopeful progression down the tiers comes this spring and/or summer, we don’t settle for tier 2 or 3 as if they’re a great compromise that we should be grateful for.

If you were to wake up, forget this last year had happened and find out those restrictions, you’d be utterly horrified by them and how everyone’s happily gone along with it. Now, we all (give or take) agree that they were a necessary sacrifice to be made in a pandemic without a vaccine context, but now we have a vaccine that will - hopefully by the end of spring - have seen all of our vulnerable and elderly citizens protected, there should be absolutely no accepting of tier 1, 2 or 3 as any kind of new normal.

Phrases like “post-COVID life” are giving me the absolute fucking fear at the minute, I won’t lie. It’s made me, a lifelong socialist, resort to the hope that rampant capitalism’s going to go “f**k your health concerns we’re back with a bang”, reopen every airline, business and entertainment venue, and kick these zero Covid weirdos into the long grass, where they rightly belong.

The tiers are a means to an end, and that end is normal life (February 2020 style) returning to us ASAP. They are not the new normal and none of us should accept them as so beyond this summer at the very latest.

That’s all well and good but this could and should have been the opportunity to address climate change concerns which will necessitate a change to the way we live.  I’m not advocating using that as an excuse for those overly conservative on Covid-19 health concerns just that I can’t see a better chance to do something about it.

1 hour ago, Alert Mongoose said:

That’s all well and good but this could and should have been the opportunity to address climate change concerns which will necessitate a change to the way we live.  I’m not advocating using that as an excuse for those overly conservative on Covid-19 health concerns just that I can’t see a better chance to do something about it.

Absolutely this. We've totally fucked it now, there was a glimmer of hope but it wasn't taken up. The absolute necessity of reducing our carbon dump into our atmosphere (that protects us from dying quite simply) has been completely ignored on the global scale. All anyone seems to care about is what Trump has tweeted next and if the pubs are open. If that's the attitude then we deserve to die off ASAP.

I think they are giving a worse case senario with all this pish about it being full on restrictions and no travel. There is no way folk are going to stay locked in their houses when the weather gets good. Weans wil be having huge illegal raves up the hills or at the beach, public parks and beauty spots will be heaving. I think once they start getting the jagging numbers right up they will introduce a reciprocal document for traveling corridors after a clear pcr test. Too much money in tourism and travel to watch it go tits up.

edit -  SAGA getting the ball rolling  with vaccine friendly cruises

https://www.theguardian.com/business/2021/jan/20/saga-cruise-passengers-coronavirus-vaccine-uk-tour-operator-travel

Edited by dirty dingus

Are we being particularly conservative with this type of chat here, or are other countries also warning people that the vaccine doesn't necessarily mean restrictions are over as quickly as they'd like? I've not seen much (if any) reporting of this from elsewhere. 

I have seen health experts and epidemiologists express concern about it, but then that's their job - they're always going to be ultra cautious imo - the question is if those who make these decisions think the same way too. 

29 minutes ago, Stellaboz said:

Absolutely this. We've totally fucked it now, there was a glimmer of hope but it wasn't taken up. The absolute necessity of reducing our carbon dump into our atmosphere (that protects us from dying quite simply) has been completely ignored on the global scale. All anyone seems to care about is what Trump has tweeted next and if the pubs are open. If that's the attitude then we deserve to die off ASAP.

Frequent business travel (which I've always thought a bit of an oddity. People who do it moan like hell about it, but are never short in telling about their latest trip or 'checking in' on social media at an airport) is dead in the water. So they're should be a few less planes in the air.  

10 minutes ago, Billy Jean King said:
6 hours ago, Scotty Tunbridge said:
No offence intended to anyone, but Saltcoats is a shithole IMVVHO

And its sandwiched between Ardrossan and Stevenston !!!

Ah the “Three toons” currently the site of the British Army’s post nuclear war training facility 😂 I used to work in that area and it’s full of mutants.😁