Coronavirus (COVID-19)

Wasn't a Pfizer single shot supposed to give 90% efficiacy?
That's what I thought. Bit of a worrying development. Unfortunately the article doesn't say how ill people are becoming or whether they need hospitalized. If they've only got a bit of a cough then the vaccine is doing it's job. If not then it puts a bit of a question mark over the uk's decision to delay the second vaccination

15 minutes ago, virginton said:

Sturgeon shifting the goalposts yet again in Parliament today by claiming that the target vaccination rate is 100k per week in January and so the SG are surpassing it. 

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/live/uk-scotland-54987251

That's the actual target, you don't get to drop it when you've realised that you made an arse of it and claim success for hitting 40% of the mark instead. 

You do have to somewhat admire the ability of NS to keep a straight face in trying to place the blame for any delays in getting people vaccinated on WM for supply issues, whilst at the same time proudly saying we are on track to vaccinate around the same number of people by January 31st as the number of vaccines we had in stock on the 3rd of January.

And you have to wonder about the people who see no issue with this purely because they like what she stands for.

I've got no idea what the restrictions or compliance is like in Israel so no idea what to make of that data tbh.

Good to see the media keep up the "vaccines aren't enough" assault, though. Devi will no doubt gleefully be referencing this soon.

23 minutes ago, renton said:

Wasn't a Pfizer single shot supposed to give 90% efficiacy?

Easy for Pfizer to make these claims when they didn't bother testing all trial participants and only tested only those showing symptoms. 

Just been for mine in the Louisa Jordan - got a last minute phonecall from the people who run the meal delivery service I volunteer for. Apparently it's classed as frontline social care because we interact with the vulnerable people directly, which I suppose sort of makes sense. Feel a wee bit conflicted that my 80+ year old grandparents haven't had it yet as far as I know, but it wasn't a me or them situation and I suppose it means I can now only kill people with my mediocre cooking, not an invasive respiratory disease.

It is absolutely fucking massive in there, and there was a constant stream of folk in and out. All seemed very efficient and very well marshalled in terms of distancing. If the other mass vaccination sites are anything like that big and well-staffed then they'll absolutely fly through them in the coming weeks.

I got the Pfizer and got told it would probably be the Pfizer for the second dose in 11 weeks but that advice was constantly changing. They also gave me three separate leaflets that said the second dose would be in around four weeks, these had presumably been printed up weeks ago.

23 minutes ago, Tynierose said:

I think it's also important to remember that it doesnt work instantaneously and there does seem to be a lot of folk who think that as soon as they are jabbed they can dump all aspects of distancing etc

Aye two weeks aff the bevvy I believe once you get the vaccine?

I've got no idea what the restrictions or compliance is like in Israel so no idea what to make of that data tbh.
Good to see the media keep up the "vaccines aren't enough" assault, though. Devi will no doubt gleefully be referencing this soon.
Maybe Pfizer and the govt knew this was likely some time ago hence for the last week or two we have been liberally dosed with the "vaccine is not a silver bullet" lube.

Perhaps that would be better or more accurately worded as "vaccines are not the silver bullet we hoped they were going to be".

Certainly one possible reason for the shift in position from the fist pumping of the approval announcements although surely for this to be the case both vaccines would need to lead to the same outcome not just Pfizer.

23 minutes ago, virginton said:

'Much mutating virus'.

1184377993_tenor(22).gif.a2ddddd85e07eb0e02a2fbb62fc5722c.gif

The criteria for ditching restrictions can absolutely be spelled out in advance. Then when an area meets that criteria then they are dropped. Only gormless clowns think that Jason Leitch picking out changes from a tombola every few weeks is the Only Possible Way Of Doing Things.

The only moron around here is the geriatric fud who broke lockdown restrictions to have a debating match with the missus about which bottle of wine to have with his tea. Get back in your box.

What are your criteria for ditching restrictions? You used to talk about steadily reducing hospitalisations but you seem to be after a fixed number of something now, no idea of what? Jabs? The virus does mutate, it's just a fact, we can't predict how that might effect hospital capacity. And all Granny did was drive his wife to the supermarket so she could do the shopping. 

9 minutes ago, Billy Jean King said:

Maybe Pfizer and the govt knew this was likely some time ago hence for the last week or two we have been liberally dosed with the "vaccine is not a silver bullet" lube.

Perhaps that would be better or more accurately worded as "vaccines are not the silver bullet we hoped they were going to be".

Certainly one possible reason for the shift in position from the fist pumping of the approval announcements although surely for this to be the case both vaccines would need to lead to the same outcome not just Pfizer.

Nah not buying that. With no detail about severity of symptoms, and without seeing if there is still a continued reduction in hospitalisations despite an increase in 'cases' etc it is nothing more than the typical fear porn the media have been pushing out since it all started.

Fully expect Leitch and/or Sturgeon to mention this tomorrow, though, despite having made no reference to date of the encouraging data from there that has been coming out for the past week or so.

Edited by Todd_is_God

53 minutes ago, Inanimate Carbon Rod said:

I think if the vaccines are proven to be effective in reducing transmission then you’ll see people from the UK allowed to travel anywhere (with the likely exception of Oz/Nz) with reciprocal arrangements, I am quietly confident i’ll be in italy in July and Florida in September. 

I hope so, maybe not America, depends where you are going Disney is mass a vaccine station and hey might be in the grips if a civil war by then. But I admire you're optimistic view.

46 minutes ago, virginton said:

Sturgeon shifting the goalposts yet again in Parliament today by claiming that the target vaccination rate is 100k per week in January and so the SG are surpassing it. 

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/live/uk-scotland-54987251

That's the actual target, you don't get to drop it when you've realised that you made an arse of it and claim success for hitting 40% of the mark instead. 

Tbh they did revise it after they knew the exact supply but I think that was something like 900k, I can't remember if they miss that then questions have to be asked, I expect "distribution" will be blamed and gobbled up by the press.

Guest Bob Mahelp

It's only a matter of time before the vaccine becomes a major constitutional issue, isn't it ?

You can see it building up, stoked by the fact that Scotland and England are taking different approaches to the way they intend to vaccine the population. 

The UK government have total control of vaccine distribution. Anyone who thinks that they're not going to try and make political capital out of this is mad. 

11 minutes ago, craigkillie said:

Just been for mine in the Louisa Jordan - got a last minute phonecall from the people who run the meal delivery service I volunteer for. Apparently it's classed as frontline social care because we interact with the vulnerable people directly, which I suppose sort of makes sense. Feel a wee bit conflicted that my 80+ year old grandparents haven't had it yet as far as I know, but it wasn't a me or them situation and I suppose it means I can now only kill people with my mediocre cooking, not an invasive respiratory disease.

It is absolutely fucking massive in there, and there was a constant stream of folk in and out. All seemed very efficient and very well marshalled in terms of distancing. If the other mass vaccination sites are anything like that big and well-staffed then they'll absolutely fly through them in the coming weeks.

I got the Pfizer and got told it would probably be the Pfizer for the second dose in 11 weeks but that advice was constantly changing. They also gave me three separate leaflets that said the second dose would be in around four weeks, these had presumably been printed up weeks ago.

The one that's about finished in Aberdeen looks equally huge and is just for the vaccines.

1 minute ago, 101 said:

I hope so, maybe not America, depends where you are going Disney is mass a vaccine station and hey might be in the grips if a civil war by then. But I admire you're optimistic view.

Disney in Florida isn't.

The California Park is.

42 minutes ago, Inanimate Carbon Rod said:

Staggering that the UK has the highest death rate in the world from this

I thought the likes of Belgium and Slovenia were still well ahead of us?

Anyway, why on earth is the schools policy applied at national level? Schools should be open as usual in Orkney. It's not like every school in Scotland closes when Fife gets snowed under.

5 minutes ago, DiegoDiego said:

I thought the likes of Belgium and Slovenia were still well ahead of us?

Anyway, why on earth is the schools policy applied at national level? Schools should be open as usual in Orkney. It's not like every school in Scotland closes when Fife gets snowed under.

Said on the news yesterday we currently had the highest death rate in the world.

6 minutes ago, Inanimate Carbon Rod said:

Yeh, its quite stark the difference, Disney Cali has essentially been shut since March and Walt Disney World has basically been operating almost as normal (with limited crowds etc) since July. 

I’ve friends who live in Florida, think they’ve been three times since it reopened. Taking advantage lack of queues!