What are your dreams/aspirations?

Does anyone have that nagging thing that they want to go and have a go at going after something bigger?

In a past life I was convinced I was on the verge of (in conjunction with a few other guys) landing a massive blow for the trade union in the sector I worked in. Would have made a huge difference to a lot of people and probably would have led me down the path of full time union work, since the official told me I was the best steward he ever worked with. Alas, the silver bullet we were needing didnt quite transpire, and I moved out of the industry.

I still have a nagging feeling that I want to change trade unionism in this country. I harbour this feeling that I could somehow be the one to drag it into this century and give it strength again, and I dont think I will ever be able to let it go. One day I would like to be the man who changes it all.

The other nagging dream I have is that one day I will run some sort of food business, maybe not a restaurant but something where I cook for a living. As far as this one goes, I probably have enough savings to go for it, but am not arrogant enough to assume I would succeed where a succession of people in every town and city in the land fail. I know nothing of running business. I dont have an idea for a USP, and my savings are my kids bung when they are older ultimately. If it failed, its them that would suffer. Doesnt stop me often feeling like a bit of a shitebag though for not going for it.

What dream nags at the good posters of P&B? Do you think you will ever take the plunge?

What's stopping you?

I always wanted to write decent maths text books that cover the curriculum but are written in a much more approachable style for todays students, not those from 20 years ago (or even more!)

13 minutes ago, Raidernation said:

I always wanted to write decent maths text books that cover the curriculum but are written in a much more approachable style for todays students, not those from 20 years ago (or even more!)

The key to this is worked examples. Showing units (if applicable) is also imperative. I had a cracking maths textbook that basically got me through my civil engineering degree because of this...... can't remember what its title was though.

12 minutes ago, Raidernation said:

Text books are old hat and, having had three weans go through GCSE maths in the past 4 years, Youtube is where it's at.  I've spent a good few hours on YT looking at various ways of helping my three through their papers and some of the online tutorials have some decent hits (250K per video and above).

Not sure what the uptake may be in Scotchland for what we auld yins used to call 'Highers' but there is a sensible case to be made for branding yourself as The Maths Loon and making YT videos and, if possible, an app which encompasses topics apposite to topics suitable for, to begin with, Scottish exams and then look to other countries.

16 hours ago, Bairnardo said:

Does anyone have that nagging thing that they want to go and have a go at going after something bigger?

In a past life I was convinced I was on the verge of (in conjunction with a few other guys) landing a massive blow for the trade union in the sector I worked in. Would have made a huge difference to a lot of people and probably would have led me down the path of full time union work, since the official told me I was the best steward he ever worked with. Alas, the silver bullet we were needing didnt quite transpire, and I moved out of the industry.

I still have a nagging feeling that I want to change trade unionism in this country. I harbour this feeling that I could somehow be the one to drag it into this century and give it strength again, and I dont think I will ever be able to let it go. One day I would like to be the man who changes it all.

The other nagging dream I have is that one day I will run some sort of food business, maybe not a restaurant but something where I cook for a living. As far as this one goes, I probably have enough savings to go for it, but am not arrogant enough to assume I would succeed where a succession of people in every town and city in the land fail. I know nothing of running business. I dont have an idea for a USP, and my savings are my kids bung when they are older ultimately. If it failed, its them that would suffer. Doesnt stop me often feeling like a bit of a shitebag though for not going for it.

What dream nags at the good posters of P&B? Do you think you will ever take the plunge?

What's stopping you?

Controversial figure but I think Jordan Peterson makes many salient points in this video with regard to aspiration.

I want to have a job I enjoy. I've never had that. Every single one has been one I've tolerated and has been only about the money.

I also want to have at least one kid one day. The clock is very loudly ticking on that one though and I'm terrified that it won't happen. Have to do so much to even be in the position (no euph) where it would even begin to be a possibility. I often fear I've missed out on it, and often feel that by the time I've sorted myself where I even have a chance of getting a girlfriend that it will be far, far too late.

I've had dreams of being a footballer coach. I was a good player waaaaaay back in the day but shat it big time due to anxiety. I really miss it and think I can really contribute something.

Mental illness has robbed me of my life and I don't know if I'll ever be able to salvage it.

Edited by DA Baracus

Me and Mrs MSU, especially when a few beers have been had, love talking about buying a London bus and converting the lower deck into a fish and chip shop. We got to the point we sourced a bus. It was in California and they wanted $100k for it but the conversion work had already been done. I loved thinking about flying out and driving the bus the 2,000 miles back to Michigan. What a road trip that would be. I'm in a weird position at work where I don't earn as much as I'd like (who does?) but I earn probably too much to throw it all away on a dream, what with health insurance and two kids still to go through college and the old 401(k). It's nice thinking about it, though.

I just try and find enjoyment in the simple things. Doing some exercise or reading a book in the bath or spending time with Mrs Par and Par Jr, or walking the dog.  We have to be careful not to wish our lives away and miss out on the enjoyment that’s there to be had every day by chasing some utopia. 

If I could turn back the clock I’d have ignored my old man and chased my dream of becoming the next Chris Eubank. 

I just try and find enjoyment in the simple things. Doing some exercise or reading a book in the bath or spending time with Mrs Par and Par Jr, or walking the dog.  We have to be careful not to wish our lives away and miss out on the enjoyment that’s there to be had every day by chasing some utopia. 
If I could turn back the clock I’d have ignored my old man and chased my dream of becoming the next Chris Eubank. 
I agree with this, and actually this lockdown has made me appreciate my kids a bit more and improved my patience levels.

That said, the idea that I am still doing nightshifts in my fifties at the same shite I am doing now fills me with dread.

Like you Bairnardo, I too dream of one day having a job where I cook for a living. Will probably never do it however, I have a pretty good job writing code and manipulating data which I get a lot of satisfaction from, so unless that went tits up or my attitude changed, I don’t think I’d ever want to leave the first job I’ve ever had that I loved.

6 hours ago, MSU said:

Me and Mrs MSU, especially when a few beers have been had, love talking about buying a London bus and converting the lower deck into a fish and chip shop. We got to the point we sourced a bus. It was in California and they wanted $100k for it but the conversion work had already been done. I loved thinking about flying out and driving the bus the 2,000 miles back to Michigan. What a road trip that would be. I'm in a weird position at work where I don't earn as much as I'd like (who does?) but I earn probably too much to throw it all away on a dream, what with health insurance and two kids still to go through college and the old 401(k). It's nice thinking about it, though.

Brilliant idea!

Don't give up on it.

Ive got a few, if I won the lottery id like to move to Nashville and buy a recording studio and a share in one of the sports teams. Maybe go on tour as a backing singer for a big name. Its a beautiful city with everything I want from a place to stay. Id move there if the mrs would do her exams to practice over there but shes opposed to their healthcare system/lack of.

Over here if in keeping with the food dreams id love to open up either a top quality taco place or a burger place modelled on one we went to in LA called Burgers never say die.

My absolute off the wall dream would be to somehow own or run the New York Yankees.

6 hours ago, DA Baracus said:

I want to have a job I enjoy. I've never had that. Every single one has been one I've tolerated and has been only about the money.

I also want to have at least one kid one day. The clock is very loudly ticking on that one though and I'm terrified that it won't happen. Have to do so much to even be in the position (no euph) where it would even begin to be a possibility. I often fear I've missed out on it, and often feel that by the time I've sorted myself where I even have a chance of getting a girlfriend that it will be far, far too late.

I've had dreams of being a footballer coach. I was a good player waaaaaay back in the day but shat it big time due to anxiety. I really miss it and think I can really contribute something.

Mental illness has robbed me of my life and I don't know if I'll ever be able to salvage it.

Sorry to hear about all this.

I wonder if solving the first issue will solve the rest.  After all there are plenty of women who also want a kid and their clock is ticking too.

I don't know what work you do.  Does it undermine your self confidence?  Do the people you work with undermine your confidence?  Do you only ever apply for jobs that are guaranteed to disappoint?

I know someone in that situation.  Worked in a call centre and hated every minute of it.  Then he got a break.  Went to a job with a one year contract working with good people and he got paid more too.  He felt like an imposter and expected he would be found out but then he realised he was perfectly capable of doing the job.

Shortly after that he was married and started a family.

Not sure any of this relevant but happy to help.