George Floyd/Black Lives Matter Protests

17 minutes ago, Aufc said:

Obviously i didnt have sight over his other actions. I was really just looking at that one incident in isolation. He is clearly thick as shit though.

Usual play by the far right tho' innit? Say or do something that, taken on its own out of context, is not in any way racist but is clearly a dog whistling piece of nonsense and when this is pointed out throw yer arms up in despair and cry about snowflakes.

Rebecca Long-Bailey has been sacked from the Shadow Cabinet for tweeting an interview with the actress Maxine Peake in which she said that the Minneapolois Police Department learned the techniques used to restrain George Floyd from the Israeli secret services.  There is no evidence for this and the claim has been described as an antisemitic conspiracy theory. 

9 minutes ago, ICTChris said:

Rebecca Long-Bailey has been sacked from the Shadow Cabinet for tweeting an interview with the actress Maxine Peake in which she said that the Minneapolois Police Department learned the techniques used to restrain George Floyd from the Israeli secret services.  There is no evidence for this and the claim has been described as an antisemitic conspiracy theory. 

Most ridiculous allegation of antisemitism I've heard, and there's been a few. This is the article she tweeted.

https://www.independent.co.uk/arts-entertainment/films/features/maxine-peake-interview-labour-corbyn-keir-starmer-black-lives-matter-a9583206.html

Here's the Minnesota police getting trained in counter terrorist techniques by the Israelis.

https://www.mprnews.org/story/2012/06/25/minn-police-learn-from-israeli-counter-terrorism-conference

And here's one of the Israeli techniques.

Now it's possible Maxine Peake made a mistake in one line of her article that RL-B retweeted, and the Minnesota police weren't actually trained

in that specific technique on that day, but a bizarre and craven excuse to sack her. 

36 minutes ago, ICTChris said:

Hopefully the start of a move towards the centre from labour, be interesting to see if the far left revolts over this.

50 minutes ago, ICTChris said:

Anyone wanting to blame "the Joos" is a good way to find out if someone is anti-semitic.

Another good sign is if they are wearing a Labour rosette.

The Israeli police have better things to do with their time than train the US police on the best way to suffocate African-Americans. Shooting unarmed autistic men who look vaguely Palestinian, for one.

Just heard an interview with a black American writer and podcaster, Coleman Hughes. He had quite an interesting take on the figures of disproportionate amount of black deaths at the hands of the police and said that blaming it on institutional racism is simplistic and over-exaggerated. He claimed that although a higher percentage of black people die at the hands of the police, this is due to them being far more likely to be involved in crime, therefore more likely to be involved in confrontations with the police. He stated that although only 12% of the population is African American, they are responsible for around 50% of the crime. 

No idea who the guy is or what his credentials are but that's his view on it. He's also not a massive fan of Black Lives Matter for some reason. 

Guest JTS98
21 minutes ago, Dee Man said:

Just heard an interview with a black American writer and podcaster, Coleman Hughes. He had quite an interesting take on the figures of disproportionate amount of black deaths at the hands of the police and said that blaming it on institutional racism is simplistic and over-exaggerated. He claimed that although a higher percentage of black people die at the hands of the police, this is due to them being far more likely to be involved in crime, therefore more likely to be involved in confrontations with the police. He stated that although only 12% of the population is African American, they are responsible for around 50% of the crime. 

No idea who the guy is or what his credentials are but that's his view on it. He's also not a massive fan of Black Lives Matter for some reason. 

I made this point a couple of nights ago. It's all freely available information and public record.

You can (based on my experience) now expect to be called a racist apologist.

I made this point a couple of nights ago. It's all freely available information and public record.
No, you're just a crushingly desperate bore, who having been thoroughly rinsed on the football threads over your risible Hearts pish are now desperately mewling for attention here.

Guest JTS98
1 minute ago, Day of the Lords said:
19 minutes ago, JTS98 said:

No, you're just a crushingly desperate bore, who having been thoroughly rinsed on the football threads over your risible Hearts pish are now desperately mewling for attention here.

Mewing for attention by bringing facts into the discussion? Aye, ok.

16 minutes ago, JTS98 said:

Or, more likely,  you can expect to be cherry picking stats without looking at them in detail.

For instance we know that black people are more likely to commit crimes (and, also, be victims but that part's often left out) and, therefore, are more likely to have interactions with police officers and, therefore, more likely to be killed. However this ignores the fact that the number of black people incarcerated or killed/injured by the police is STILL disproportionate to the crime figures.

It also ignores the figures when adjusted for the fiscal disparity between black people and others in the US. When the figures are shown by financial level of criminals the disparity drops.

It also ignores the evidence that black people are more likely to be caught than white people who commit the same crimes and more likely to face tougher sentencing than white people which limits their financial abilities (and becomes a generational burden) and creates an ever increasing spiral of poverty along race based lines.

And even if we did ignore all that other very important stuff it still leads to the question: "why are black people more likely to commit crime?" if your answer is anything other than societal racism writ large across and entire nation (if not world) then, yes, you are really just a racist apologist because surely if the answer is not down to social factors that affect black people more (societal racism) the only other answer would be something inbuilt to black people themselves? And that IS racist and people who point out the statistics you have, without the other statistics that provide context, are enabling racist stereotypes to continue.

Racist apologist doesn't seem that big a stretch under those circumstances.

Guest JTS98
1 minute ago, AsimButtHitsASix said:

Or, more likely,  you can expect to be cherry picking stats without looking at them in detail.

For instance we know that black people are more likely to commit crimes (and, also, be victims but that part's often left out) and, therefore, are more likely to have interactions with police officers and, therefore, more likely to be killed. However this ignores the fact that the number of black people incarcerated or killed/injured by the police is STILL disproportionate to the crime figures.

It also ignores the figures when adjusted for the fiscal disparity between black people and others in the US. When the figures are shown by financial level of criminals the disparity drops.

It also ignores the evidence that black people are more likely to be caught than white people who commit the same crimes and more likely to face tougher sentencing than white people which limits their financial abilities (and becomes a generational burden) and creates an ever increasing spiral of poverty along race based lines.

And even if we did ignore all that other very important stuff it still leads to the question: "why are black people more likely to commit crime?" if your answer is anything other than societal racism writ large across and entire nation (if not world) then, yes, you are really just a racist apologist because surely if the answer is not down to social factors that affect black people more (societal racism) the only other answer would be something inbuilt to black people themselves? And that IS racist and people who point out the statistics you have, without the other statistics that provide context, are enabling racist stereotypes to continue.

Racist apologist doesn't seem that big a stretch under those circumstances.

It doesn't ignore any of those things, since when I brought it up I mentioned the social injustice that is tied to all of these figures. But, you carry on.

If it's fair to say you're 2.5 x more likely to be shot while black, it's not unreasonable to suggest you're 2.5x more likely to be stopped, searched, arrested and prosecuted. They're being disproportionately policed and jailed for crimes, not disproportionately committing crimes.

Guest JTS98
2 minutes ago, AsimButtHitsASix said:

So what was your point caller?

That another poster was mentioning exactly the same thing that I'd mentioned before and had taken quite a bit of stick for bringing up.

The facts of the matter are the facts of the matter. Whether they're presented by a black writer or a white diddy on a football forum.

But you carry on playing the man and not the ball. It reflects well on you.

2 minutes ago, JTS98 said:

That another poster was mentioning exactly the same thing that I'd mentioned before and had taken quite a bit of stick for bringing up.

The facts of the matter are the facts of the matter. Whether they're presented by a black writer or a white diddy on a football forum.

But you carry on playing the man and not the ball. It reflects well on you.

I never played the man at all. Please point to where I did. I referred to a hypothetical scenario, I detailed that scenario, and you said it doesn't apply to you.

So stop crying, pull up your big boy pants, and answer the question.

What was the point you were trying to make when you brought up these statistics?

Edited by AsimButtHitsASix

Guest JTS98
4 minutes ago, Johnstoun said:

If it's fair to say you're 2.5 x more likely to be shot while black, it's not unreasonable to suggest you're 2.5x more likely to be stopped, searched, arrested and prosecuted. They're being disproportionately policed and jailed for crimes, not disproportionately committing crimes.

But they are disproportionally committing crimes. This is a stone cold fact.

I think the most depressing thing about this whole episode has been the hardening of the position of the far right agitators and their not so clever sympathisers. The outcome most of us want is for people to be more open minded and consider the situation from the position of those of a different ethnicity to ourselves. 

I'm not entirely sure that we are heading in that direction